Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: HE Dynamic Tunnelbroker DNS is not auto updating the endpoint  (Read 3715 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Vetal

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +2/-1
    • View Profile
I have the problem with updating my IP on DSL connection.

This problem I have for a quite long time.

So when I router auto reconnects on DSL line, HE DNS is not detecting it and won't update HE with the new IP. My IPv6 HE tunnel gateway is down and I have to go manually to HE Tunnelbroker Dyn DNS settings and press "Save and Force update" button so everything updates after.

I have no problem with other dynamic DNS daemons (FreeDNS, DynDNS) which updating IP without any problem, including one for the DSL line

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21404
  • Karma: +1434/-26
    • View Profile
Re: HE Dynamic Tunnelbroker DNS is not auto updating the endpoint
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2013, 11:39:20 am »
Is there anything in the logs about it when it tries to update?

I have tunnels on two WANs (one DSL, one Cable) and it updates both OK for me.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline Vetal

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +2/-1
    • View Profile
Re: HE Dynamic Tunnelbroker DNS is not auto updating the endpoint
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2013, 12:51:29 pm »
Only useful part I've noticed is:

 php: rc.dyndns.update: phpDynDNS: updating cache file /conf/dyndns_wanhe-net-tunnelbroker'161044'1.cache: 69.172.85.196

Where IP is a new one, which is not updated at the end.

I have a last 200 records log here:

http://vetal.ca/Download/pfsense.log

Relevant event(s) are after Jul 22, 11:30, probably after
Jul 22 11:48:18    php: rc.newwanip: pfSense package system has detected an ip change 69.172.94.47 -> 69.172.85.196 ... Restarting packages.

IPv6 Gateway: HeNetV6GWv6
IPv4  gateway for it is WAN_DSL_PPPOE

IPv6 tunnel ID is 161044

Every time it happens, I see the message on dashboard:
"pfSense has detected a crash report or programming bug. Click here for more information."

I have a dump here:
http://vetal.ca/Download/pfsense_crash_dump.txt

Offline gderf

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: HE Dynamic Tunnelbroker DNS is not auto updating the endpoint
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2013, 05:58:13 pm »
Is your WAN IP address still pingable?

Offline Vetal

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +2/-1
    • View Profile
Re: HE Dynamic Tunnelbroker DNS is not auto updating the endpoint
« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2013, 10:40:53 pm »
Is your WAN IP address still pingable?

You mean, if I have an ICMP enabled on it as per
http://doc.pfsense.org/index.php/Using_IPv6_on_2.1_with_a_Tunnel_Broker#Enable_ICMP
?

Yes, I have (and had) it enabled and new acquired IP (v4) on DSL WAN should be pingable. It is pingable now from inside and outside of my network

Offline Vetal

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +2/-1
    • View Profile
Problem resolved
« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2013, 08:48:40 am »
Actual problem was a Realtek 8111E (on Asus C60M1-I motherboard) causing numerous problems, including pfSense restarts. One of the WANs, the problematic one, was on this interface. Besides Intel dual gigabit LAN in PCIe slot.

Temporarily installed a USB LAN for Nintendo Wii, disabled Realtek in BIOS and all problems are gone now. Will add a Cisco smart switch with VLANs as a permanent solution instead of USB LAN once it arrives.