The pfSense Store

Author Topic: The link state of an interface (bridge member) goes up/down continuously  (Read 19310 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11959
  • Karma: +469/-15
    • View Profile
Re: The link state of an interface (bridge member) goes up/down continuously
« Reply #15 on: September 22, 2013, 12:50:16 pm »
Yes, I'm seeing the same behaviour. If I boot the box with the bridge connected NICs already up everything seems fine. I'll leave it up for a while and monitor things.

Steve

Offline /CS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: The link state of an interface (bridge member) goes up/down continuously
« Reply #16 on: September 25, 2013, 01:25:02 pm »
So far when the box boots with all the NICs up it works fine. The problem is that I don't have all the NICs up and running 24x7...which means I need to reboot pfsense every time a NIC goes up.  :(

Offline chpalmer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1786
  • Karma: +93/-3
    • View Profile
    • Home of Cablenut
Re: The link state of an interface (bridge member) goes up/down continuously
« Reply #17 on: September 25, 2013, 07:57:02 pm »
Let's provide some feedback to help developers find a solution:

Bridge0 (LAN) has 2 members: OPT1 and OPT2


2.1 release on a Watchguard X550e with Marvell interfaces.

Ive got a similar setup as you. Ive renamed the interfaces V1 and V2 and the bridge Voipbridge.

I can duplicate your findings exactly.

One thing thats interesting to note is that Siproxd still sees the OPT interfaces as OPT (n)   and not the renamed names.  I had no problems with this setup under 2.0.3.
P.S. statements made by me are not necessarily condoned by the management of this fine organization.  http://badmodems.com

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21488
  • Karma: +1456/-26
    • View Profile
Re: The link state of an interface (bridge member) goes up/down continuously
« Reply #18 on: September 27, 2013, 02:20:01 pm »
Try this fix:
https://github.com/pfsense/pfsense/commit/f3a4601c85c4de78caa4f12fefd64067fd83dbe8

It seems to only affect certain NICs that bounce their link on some configuration operations.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline /CS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: The link state of an interface (bridge member) goes up/down continuously
« Reply #19 on: September 27, 2013, 03:05:12 pm »
Try this fix:
https://github.com/pfsense/pfsense/commit/f3a4601c85c4de78caa4f12fefd64067fd83dbe8

It seems to only affect certain NICs that bounce their link on some configuration operations.

Many thanks jimp! It works fine for me.  ;D

Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11959
  • Karma: +469/-15
    • View Profile
Re: The link state of an interface (bridge member) goes up/down continuously
« Reply #20 on: September 27, 2013, 05:28:41 pm »
Nice.  :)
I'll have to give this a try when I get home.
Thanks Jim.

Steve

Offline chpalmer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1786
  • Karma: +93/-3
    • View Profile
    • Home of Cablenut
Re: The link state of an interface (bridge member) goes up/down continuously
« Reply #21 on: September 28, 2013, 02:26:05 am »
Many thanks jimp! It works fine for me.  ;D


Ditto!   8)
P.S. statements made by me are not necessarily condoned by the management of this fine organization.  http://badmodems.com

Offline Mavy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: The link state of an interface (bridge member) goes up/down continuously
« Reply #22 on: September 28, 2013, 04:29:38 am »
Fixed it for me aswell  :)

Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11959
  • Karma: +469/-15
    • View Profile
Re: The link state of an interface (bridge member) goes up/down continuously
« Reply #23 on: October 05, 2013, 06:11:04 am »
Thought I'd report back that this worked for me too.
I have another bridge of fxp(4) NICs that didn't have that problem so as you say it's not all NICs that are affected.

First chance I've had to try the System Patches package. Nice.  :)

Steve

Offline ESPNSTI

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: The link state of an interface (bridge member) goes up/down continuously
« Reply #24 on: October 17, 2013, 07:51:12 pm »
Try this fix:
https://github.com/pfsense/pfsense/commit/f3a4601c85c4de78caa4f12fefd64067fd83dbe8

It seems to only affect certain NICs that bounce their link on some configuration operations.

This worked on some interfaces for me, but not others.
Looking at the system logs and the patch code, I could see that it was still going through the same path, and the IP address was empty:
Code: [Select]
Oct 17 16:59:32 php: rc.newwanip: rc.newwanip: Informational is starting em1.
Oct 17 16:59:32 php: rc.newwanip: rc.newwanip: on (IP address: ) (interface: opt1) (real interface: em1).
Oct 17 16:59:32 php: rc.newwanip: rc.newwanip: Failed to update opt1 IP, restarting...

I then looked at /cf/conf/config.xml and found that there were empty <ipaddr/> xml tags on the interfaces that still had problems.
The IP address was set at some point on those in the process of creating the bridge.
I removed the empty tags from the config.xml file, rebooted, and the problem went away:
Code: [Select]
Oct 17 19:09:16 php: rc.newwanip: rc.newwanip: Informational is starting em1.
Oct 17 19:09:16 php: rc.newwanip: Interface does not have an IP address, nothing to do.

I'm not familiar with php at all, but I assume the isset function perhaps doesn't account for empty tags and returns true:
Code: [Select]
  if (($curwanip == "") && !(isset($config['interfaces'][$interface]['ipaddr']))) {
    log_error("Interface does not have an IP address, nothing to do.");
    return;
  }


FYI, I'm running the same configuration as the OP:
pfSense 2.1 on a Soekris net6501-50 (Intel 82574L Gigabit Ethernet ports)
I have WAN assigned to em0, OPT1-7 assigned to em1-7 with IPv4 and IPv6 set to none, and LAN is assigned to Bridge0, consisting of OPT1-7.

Anyway, thanks for the patch, that made things work a lot better. ;D

Also, the way that system patches process works is rather impressive.

Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11959
  • Karma: +469/-15
    • View Profile
Re: The link state of an interface (bridge member) goes up/down continuously
« Reply #25 on: October 18, 2013, 04:53:40 am »
Interesting, thanks for the heads up.  :)

No spurious tags left in my config file. I don't think I ever had them set as anything but bridged on that box though.

Steve

Offline ceama

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: The link state of an interface (bridge member) goes up/down continuously
« Reply #26 on: November 07, 2013, 12:57:39 pm »
Thanks Steve.
I'll try it.  Some others tried the system patches feature.  I guess that's the way to do it.  There I go re-inventing the wheel again.

Offline ceama

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: The link state of an interface (bridge member) goes up/down continuously
« Reply #27 on: November 07, 2013, 05:20:38 pm »
The official fix works for the msk driver.  I like the system patch tool.  It lets you use your own patches or official github links.

Offline mattlach

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
  • Karma: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: The link state of an interface (bridge member) goes up/down continuously
« Reply #28 on: November 07, 2013, 06:37:21 pm »
Try this fix:
https://github.com/pfsense/pfsense/commit/f3a4601c85c4de78caa4f12fefd64067fd83dbe8

It seems to only affect certain NICs that bounce their link on some configuration operations.

Many thanks jimp! It works fine for me.  ;D

Please pardon my ignorance, but how do I apply this fix?

Do I just replace my existing /etc/rc.newwanip with this file?
« Last Edit: November 07, 2013, 06:42:38 pm by mattlach »

Offline mattlach

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
  • Karma: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: The link state of an interface (bridge member) goes up/down continuously
« Reply #29 on: November 07, 2013, 07:08:25 pm »
Please pardon my ignorance, but how do I apply this fix?

Do I just replace my existing /etc/rc.newwanip with this file?

So, I just tried doing this, rebooted the pfSense box, but my devices keep going up and down.

My configuration is an AMD E350 board with two Intel Pro/1000 dual NIC's and the on board Realtek 8111C junk.

Any thoughts?