pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: Search broken?  (Read 4602 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline pnieuwkamp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Search broken?
« on: January 10, 2008, 08:15:53 am »
I'm trying to search the forums (slbd, slbd 100, slbd 100% (and yes, I have RC2), wan, nat, anything), but all I get is a Squid-message "zero sized reply" at http://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?action=search2

Trying this on another connection (other computer, building, city, provider) I get an empty page (no Squid there)?

As I get the 'same' result on 2 completely different tries I'm reasonably confident it is not a problem on my end :) Any idea when it'll be fixed?

Offline mhab12

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 648
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Search broken?
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2008, 10:33:41 am »
Looks to be working now, I had issues yesterday too.

Offline sullrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5110
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: Search broken?
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2008, 01:46:43 pm »
You have to search from the room of the forum, not inside a forum area as it will restrict the search to just that area.  This has bit me a few times as well.

Offline GruensFroeschli

  • Green Frog
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5065
  • Karma: +4/-0
  • No i will not fix your computer!
    • View Profile
    • FFXI related
Re: Search broken?
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2008, 02:49:20 pm »
I think what pnieuwkamp is refering to is something else.
Sometimes the forum-search seems to "hang".

No matter from where or what you search you get an empty page returned (no text at all).
Will make a screenshot when it happens the next time to me.
We do what we must, because we can.
(Except when you PM me to help you directly - DONT: keep your issues in the forum)

Offline mcrane

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 495
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Search broken?
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2008, 09:08:47 pm »
When I do a search I'm getting a prompt to download a file. If I do download the file it is blank. I wrote a full web server once in PHP. I'm pretty sure this effect is caused when the server responds with a partial header. In developing my web server I found a nice Firefox add on called 'Live HTTP Headers'.

Using 'Live HTTP Headers' add on I captured the following when trying to do a search for 'openvpn' I started from this url: http://forum.pfsense.com/

---------------------------------------------------------

http://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?action=search2

POST /index.php?action=search2 HTTP/1.1
Host: forum.pfsense.org
User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.11) Gecko/20071127 Firefox/2.0.0.11
Accept: text/xml,application/xml,application/xhtml+xml,text/html;q=0.9,text/plain;q=0.8,image/png,*/*;q=0.5
Accept-Language: en-us,en;q=0.5
Accept-Encoding: gzip,deflate
Accept-Charset: ISO-8859-1,utf-8;q=0.7,*;q=0.7
Keep-Alive: 300
Connection: keep-alive
Referer: http://forum.pfsense.com/
Cookie: __utmz=232063710.1199725322.23.6.utmccn=(referral)|utmcsr=forum.pfsense.org|utmcct=/index.php/topic,2718.60/topicseen.html|utmcmd=referral; __utma=232063710.472523203.1170219774.1198344525.1199725322.23; SMFCookie10=a%3A4%3A%7Bi%3A0%3Bs%3A4%3A%222470%22%3Bi%3A1%3Bs%3A40%3A%22d4720f5f793be3591f3ee89f16454f0a415e853e%22%3Bi%3A2%3Bi%3A1380484241%3Bi%3A3%3Bi%3A0%3B%7D; PHPSESSID=ff0d1db28f62a5f2489163262353cf23
Content-Type: application/x-www-form-urlencoded
Content-Length: 39
search=openvpn&submit=Search&advanced=0
HTTP/1.x 200 OK
----------------------------------------------------------

Offline pnieuwkamp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Search broken?
« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2008, 10:03:55 am »
No matter from where or what you search you get an empty page returned (no text at all).
Will make a screenshot when it happens the next time to me.
Yes, that's what I mean.

Using a (transparant) proxy on pfSense I get the error in the attachment. Without the proxy I get a completely empty page. Not just zero results as if there is nothing in the database matching my keyword, but nothing at all, no HTML or anything.

Offline mcrane

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 495
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Search broken?
« Reply #6 on: January 12, 2008, 12:52:35 pm »
Search is working now thanks!

Best Regards,
Mark

Offline sullrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5110
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: Search broken?
« Reply #7 on: January 12, 2008, 05:31:51 pm »
Gotta love how it fixes itself after restarting apache + mysql.  Shrugs.