Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: Image file is corrupt  (Read 7019 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dennypage

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 697
  • Karma: +133/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Image file is corrupt
« Reply #15 on: March 31, 2014, 01:31:32 pm »
When a release is being finalized we always remove the public snapshots once we start labeling them -RELEASE.

The fact that they are missing is a good thing, it means 2.1.1-RELEASE is in its final testing. :-)

Is there an updater url that we should switch to for prerelease?

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21387
  • Karma: +1432/-26
    • View Profile
Re: Image file is corrupt
« Reply #16 on: March 31, 2014, 01:42:25 pm »
No, at this point I would not expect any more snapshots. If you return your update URL to the stock URL (uncheck the box for an alternate) then it should pull the -RELEASE when it comes.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline adam65535

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 326
  • Karma: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Image file is corrupt
« Reply #17 on: April 01, 2014, 03:12:31 pm »
Thanks for the last post to know that snapshots are done for 2.1.1.  I now know why I couldn't update my primary to be the same version as the backup (both on PRERELEASE but I was testing different versions by a month for driver reasons).

The firmware autoupdate settings page is a bit confusing I think to those that don't know how it works...

The checkbox says... "Use an unofficial server for firmware upgrades".

If you un-check that box and then select a default from the dropdown selection, The box gets checked again and populated with the default url.  The dropdown box still says on the selection you chose.  The dropdown selection goes blank after you save.

Since the box is checked then another system admin just looking at that screen would not know if the selection is an official url or not.  The text would seem to mean that you are using an unofficial version because the box is checked.  The text further below that says that the signature is not checked if an unofficial updater url is configured.

"NOTE: When a custom URL is configured, the system will not verify the image has an official digital signature"

I realize that is just how it works but just thought I would bring it up.
« Last Edit: April 01, 2014, 03:16:46 pm by adam65535 »

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21387
  • Karma: +1432/-26
    • View Profile
Re: Image file is corrupt
« Reply #18 on: April 01, 2014, 03:20:03 pm »
If you uncheck "Use an unofficial server for firmware upgrades" the manifest drop-down does not matter. It uses the internally coded one.

The drop-down is a list of alternate update servers in case your system is not pointing to the correct one and you need to force it there. Some older pfSense releases shipped with the internal default update URL pointing to snapshots when it should have been the release servers, so the official ones are in the manifest to be chosen if people need them, but they aren't necessary.

If you uncheck "Use an unofficial server for firmware upgrades" and uncheck "Unsigned images" then it will pull from the official servers automatically and expect a valid signature. That's how most people should be running except when testing snapshots. At that point it doesn't matter what's in the URL input box on the page as it is ignored.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline adam65535

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 326
  • Karma: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Image file is corrupt
« Reply #19 on: April 01, 2014, 03:26:39 pm »
Thanks.  I thought it was required to select something from the dropdown.  Changing my systems now :).