The pfSense Store

Author Topic: PFsense 2.3.1 on Intel 1900  (Read 7024 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline santigua

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PFsense 2.3.1 on Intel 1900
« Reply #45 on: July 02, 2016, 06:24:20 am »
There is a very similar machine:

Jetway JBC375F533W
Jetway Site: http://www.jetwaycomputer.com/JBC375F533.html
Shop: http://www.cartft.com/catalog/il/2000

The "W" is for the wireless/wifi version, there is also one without the "W" and hence no wifi.

In general a nice device, 4x GBit LAN, pretty compact, enough power for any SOHO I would say, and two slots inside for expansion.

Offline lhock98

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PFsense 2.3.1 on Intel 1900
« Reply #46 on: July 03, 2016, 12:15:19 am »
the 2 link you mentioned the cpu onboard is the same with mine, only that the ethernet controller is different should be better that mine.

There is a very similar machine:

Jetway JBC375F533W
Jetway Site: http://www.jetwaycomputer.com/JBC375F533.html
Shop: http://www.cartft.com/catalog/il/2000

The "W" is for the wireless/wifi version, there is also one without the "W" and hence no wifi.

In general a nice device, 4x GBit LAN, pretty compact, enough power for any SOHO I would say, and two slots inside for expansion.

Offline TD22057

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PFsense 2.3.1 on Intel 1900
« Reply #47 on: July 03, 2016, 06:38:40 pm »
For anyone else looking at these, here is another option.  Same processor (J1900), same 4 port Intel NIC (82583V), slightly different layout and case.  I've seen good reviews from people running that model w/ pfSense on amazon and redit.  I ordered one of these last week but haven't received it yet.  J1900, 4 port Intel NIC, 8 GB RAM, 64 GB SSD for $225 delivered (I bought the RAM and SSD on Amazon).

Offline lhock98

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PFsense 2.3.1 on Intel 1900
« Reply #48 on: July 04, 2016, 07:39:45 am »
if you can read chinese i might a good place to get from here https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z10.3-c-s.w4002-14608441056.39.QL1CPU&id=37328846799..

Offline TD22057

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PFsense 2.3.1 on Intel 1900
« Reply #49 on: July 07, 2016, 11:19:16 am »
For anyone else looking at these, here is another option.  Same processor (J1900), same 4 port Intel NIC (82583V), slightly different layout and case.  I've seen good reviews from people running that model w/ pfSense on amazon and redit.  I ordered one of these last week but haven't received it yet.  J1900, 4 port Intel NIC, 8 GB RAM, 64 GB SSD for $225 delivered (I bought the RAM and SSD on Amazon).

I can report that this version works fine.  Installed 2.3.1, detected everything correctly, runs nicely.  The CPU's are hot, 50 C (which is way below intel's spec of 107c but it's warmer than I would like).  Enabled High-D w/ adaptive mode but that doesn't change the temp at all (though power usage should be lower).  There is a thread here about possible ways to get the freq even lower which may also help.  I haven't put a power meter on it yet to see what the electricity usage is.  I may put a 120mm case fan to blow air across it to help reduce the temp.

Offline lhock98

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PFsense 2.3.1 on Intel 1900
« Reply #50 on: July 07, 2016, 06:59:37 pm »
mine pfsense box just done the adding 2pcs 8015 cooling, before mod the internal run at 58-60c after added fan system managed to bring down to 48-50c.

Offline Waqar.UK

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
  • Karma: +2/-1
    • View Profile
Re: PFsense 2.3.1 on Intel 1900
« Reply #51 on: July 08, 2016, 05:00:01 am »
Hi bro,

i just received my new 4 ports router from chinese seller, had been up and running pfsense 2.3.1 for the pass 4-5 days system was very well no hang no lag. total of 4 ports yet i configured 1WAN and 3 LAN all ports running well. here are the spec. power using external dc12v step down tranformer as can see from the picture

1)intel celeron j1900 @2.0ghz
2)2gb ddr3 so-dimm (able to support up to 8gb)
3)8gb msata ssd
4) 4*intel 82583v Gigabit Ethernet Controller
5)onboard 2 msata slot and 3 sata


Can you please post where you got it from/ link to it?

I am also interested from where the op got said hardware.