pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: Fix the squid package {completed}  (Read 48315 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline scott1234

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Fix the squid package - now $500
« Reply #30 on: April 22, 2008, 09:18:07 pm »
any update on this?

Cheers.

Offline mhab12

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 694
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Fix the squid package - now $500
« Reply #31 on: April 23, 2008, 09:37:00 am »
I'm holding my breath that it may not be an issue with FreeBSD 7/pfSense 1.3b.  For now it looks like it's wait and see as nobody is actively working on a solution.

Offline mhab12

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 694
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Fix the squid package - now $500
« Reply #32 on: May 01, 2008, 09:47:51 am »
NEED TEST
Looks like the throughput issue may have resolved itself in the FreeBSD 6.3 build of pfSense 1.2_RELEASE.  I have had success with the new build, please let us know if you see improvements as well.
http://cvs.pfsense.org/~sullrich/testing_images/6/FreeBSD_RELENG_6_3/pfSense_RELENG_1_2/

Offline ProZe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Fix the squid package - now $500
« Reply #33 on: May 28, 2008, 03:17:11 am »
NEED TEST
Looks like the throughput issue may have resolved itself in the FreeBSD 6.3 build of pfSense 1.2_RELEASE.  I have had success with the new build, please let us know if you see improvements as well.
http://cvs.pfsense.org/~sullrich/testing_images/6/FreeBSD_RELENG_6_3/pfSense_RELENG_1_2/

Hi there,

I just installed the version linked above with only squid package installed and can't confirm any changes related to this problem.
The machine is a Celeron 700 MHz, 512MB RAM and 20GB HDD.
Without Squid I can reach the full 8 Mbit/s of my connection. With active Squid the troughput drops down to approx. 5,5Mbit/s.
I'll continue testing this version.
« Last Edit: May 28, 2008, 04:48:44 pm by ProZe »

Offline mhab12

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 694
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Fix the squid package - now $500 - NEED TEST
« Reply #34 on: May 28, 2008, 09:45:48 am »
Interesting...we only have 3MBit of bandwidth and don't see ANY difference between squid or direct.

Offline ermal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3832
  • Karma: +85/-5
    • View Profile
Re: Fix the squid package - now $500 - NEED TEST
« Reply #35 on: May 28, 2008, 11:13:31 am »
Well i do not think that your machine parameters can handle that speed with squid without some more tweaking to either squid or pfSense itself.

One interesting tweak would be to mount the filesystem with the noatime option by setting it on /etc/fstab.
Another somewhat risky would be to add the async to those option for the filesystem but this the later option is somewhat risky.

Ermal

Offline ProZe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Fix the squid package - now $500 - NEED TEST
« Reply #36 on: May 28, 2008, 05:04:20 pm »
Okay I've tested another configuration.
Machine was a dual Xeon 3 GHz with 2 Gigs of dual channel RAM and a 500 Gig HDD.
Unfortunately the problem persists: w/o squid -> full speed, w/ squid -> only nearly 70% is reachable.

The CPU usage was constantly 1% which was predictable. :)
btw. CPU usage @ the Celeron was about 15-20% so this couldn't be the problem.


Offline mhab12

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 694
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Fix the squid package - now $500 - NEED TEST
« Reply #37 on: May 29, 2008, 09:39:27 am »
Care to contribute to the bounty?

Offline ProZe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Fix the squid package - now $500 - NEED TEST
« Reply #38 on: May 29, 2008, 10:06:19 am »
I would but I'm in apprenticeship so I do not earn enough money to contribute. :/

Offline scott1234

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Fix the squid package - now $500 - NEED TEST
« Reply #39 on: June 20, 2008, 05:30:57 am »
My download is 13000KB/s with squid it goes down to around 22xxKB/s.

Spec is:  Dual P3 600MHz, 512MB, Asus P2B-DS, 40GB HDD 7200rpm 16MB Cache.

I've yet to test the "update" above never really have time to take the firewall down.

Offline heiko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 663
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Get a load of that!
    • View Profile
Re: Fix the squid package - now $500 - NEED TEST
« Reply #40 on: June 20, 2008, 02:55:04 pm »
For me, im waiting for 1.21 and then i will speak about the bounty and the squid problem with mhab12, so we will see..

Offline chudy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 123
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Fix the squid package - now $500 - NEED TEST
« Reply #41 on: July 20, 2008, 05:13:11 am »
Same here. A single connection like video stream downloads full speed without squid. using squid as proxy it slows down from 54kBps to 4kBps. using squid as transparent proxy it became worse 2kBps. I only get 54kbps when connecting multiple video stream download.

Now I try to test to sort things out. Using PCBSD installed squid head (bec i like the store_rewrite feature).
using the squid as proxy video stream is like a digital signal 4sec full  2sec 2kBps. Tuning the squid gives me 5 4mins full  2sec 2kBps.

Then try to copy squid compiled from pcbsd (after all they are the same freeBSD environment) run it at pfsense shell. connections still the same(even the squid tweked for performance).

On the other side im using in Windows XP (compiled using MinGW) squid as proxy.  I got the speed full(at least the fullest speed i can get behind the router + windows XP squid as proxy).

Offline ermal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3832
  • Karma: +85/-5
    • View Profile
Re: Fix the squid package - now $500 - NEED TEST
« Reply #42 on: July 20, 2008, 05:33:45 am »
I have studied this and it needs some work at how the squid transparent works.
There is even some tweaks at squid for not transparent proxy.

I have not time for this right now but will come back later at it if nobody beats me at it.

Offline mhab12

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 694
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Fix the squid package - now $500 - NEED TEST
« Reply #43 on: July 21, 2008, 10:05:48 am »
Looking forward to it, Ermal.

Offline chudy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 123
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Fix the squid package - now $500 - NEED TEST
« Reply #44 on: July 27, 2008, 09:53:40 pm »
To Fix Squid

add this to the /boot/loader.conf

kern.ipc.nmbclusters=32768
kern.maxfiles=65536
kern.maxfilesperproc=32768
net.inet.ip.portrange.last=65535

or just delete it and replace with

autoboot_delay="1"
#kern.ipc.nmbclusters="0"
hint.apic.0.disabled=1
kern.hz=100
#for squid
kern.ipc.nmbclusters="32768"
kern.maxfiles="65536"
kern.maxfilesperproc="32768"
net.inet.ip.portrange.last="65535"

you might ask why squid is so slow? its because default configuration of pfsense is router not as a server
thats why kern.ipc.nmbclusters="0" <- is set to zero. if you just simply remove this squid will be just fine.

but to tune the squid i add this
kern.ipc.nmbclusters=32768
kern.maxfiles=65536
kern.maxfilesperproc=32768
net.inet.ip.portrange.last=65535

i just figure out why squid is slow. but i don't like the binary package of squid. i'll be using the squid HEAD bec of the store_rewrite feature for caching youtubes videos and other video files and mp3.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2008, 02:36:50 am by chudy »