pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: Variables in Custom Dynamic DNS urls  (Read 1332 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Trel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 368
  • Karma: +11/-1
    • View Profile
Variables in Custom Dynamic DNS urls
« on: July 24, 2014, 10:19:31 am »
Is %IP% the only variable or are any of the other fields available as variables for the update URL?

chemlud

  • Guest
Re: Variables in Custom Dynamic DNS urls
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2014, 10:38:06 am »
I'm sitting here and wonder: what else could you want to tell to your dyndns provider?  :o

Offline Trel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 368
  • Karma: +11/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Variables in Custom Dynamic DNS urls
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2014, 10:50:48 am »
I'm sitting here and wonder: what else could you want to tell to your dyndns provider?  :o

Hostname, domain, user, password.....

chemlud

  • Guest
Re: Variables in Custom Dynamic DNS urls
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2014, 11:50:05 am »
Go to DYNDNS at GUI and change to "Custom"


Enter username and password in the GUI and enter for "Update URL":


www.spdns.de/nic/update?hostname=<hostname>.spdns.de&myip=%IP%


(...this is for my DYNDNS service... :-D)


Offline Trel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 368
  • Karma: +11/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Variables in Custom Dynamic DNS urls
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2014, 12:39:36 pm »
Go to DYNDNS at GUI and change to "Custom"


Enter username and password in the GUI and enter for "Update URL":


www.spdns.de/nic/update?hostname=<hostname>.spdns.de&myip=%IP%


(...this is for my DYNDNS service... :-D)

That's what I'm asking about....
Could those be variables, for example


example.com/update?hostname=%HOST%&domain=%DOMAIN%&ip=%IP%&password=%PASSWORD%

so I don't have to hardcode the entire URL and can actually use the fields.

Offline GP

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Variables in Custom Dynamic DNS urls
« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2015, 04:29:47 pm »
I would like to activate this topic again.

Is it possible to use the values entered in "Username" or "Password" as variables in the update URL string?
« Last Edit: May 19, 2015, 04:56:28 pm by GP »

Offline Veldkornet

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Variables in Custom Dynamic DNS urls
« Reply #6 on: September 12, 2017, 04:55:57 am »
Just wondering if anyone got any answers to this? Iíve been trying to do the same.

Offline SteffanCline

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Variables in Custom Dynamic DNS urls
« Reply #7 on: December 31, 2017, 07:10:57 pm »
Same thing. The Custom page collects a username and password but does not send it as auth or provide a variable that I can see anywhere. Seems %IP% is the only one. So, why collect a u/p on this page?

Offline Gertjan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2280
  • Karma: +173/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Variables in Custom Dynamic DNS urls
« Reply #8 on: January 01, 2018, 03:59:45 am »
Same thing. The Custom page collects a username and password but does not send it as auth or provide a variable that I can see anywhere. Seems %IP% is the only one. So, why collect a u/p on this page?
Just remove - or better - change u/p on that page and see of it still works  :D
So, you know now that they are needed, and this transmitted.
To know how and why, checkout the technical from the DyNDNS you are using. If still questions, check out the source used by pfSense.