The pfSense Store

Author Topic: Firewall stops talking to wireless after short time  (Read 7216 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Jonb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 410
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Peer Point Internet
Firewall stops talking to wireless after short time
« on: February 24, 2008, 12:42:17 pm »
I have a Vista 32bit laptop connecting to a PCI card in a PC running PFsense. After a certain amount of time I loose connection to the internet but not to the the rest off the network. It seems as though PFSense has forgotten about the route to the internet. It does seem as though it can be triggared by heavy traffic. If you try and ping the firewall it no long is contactable.

I cannot control the PfSesne box at all from the wireless machine at all and the only thing I can do is remote control a PC on cable the control the PFSense box and reapply the wireless settings. (I do this by clicking save of the interface page)

I do not make any change to the PFsense during thins time before it cuts off.

I am out of idears and I was wondering if anyone else has one.  Thanks
« Last Edit: March 14, 2008, 08:26:19 am by Jonb »
For IP connectivity, Cloud Backup and UK co-lo hosting check us out.
http://www.peerpointinternet.co.uk

Offline sullrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5110
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: Strange but true
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2008, 03:31:28 pm »
Try running ifconfig ath0 down ; ifconfig ath0 up from a shell/console option 8 when this happens.

Offline GoldServe

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 256
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Strange but true
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2008, 05:06:19 pm »
Sounds like a similar problem i have with my wireless. From the wireless machine, do a ping -t <lan ip> continuous and when the connection cuts off, it should take around 10 seconds before it can ping back the interface.

It does not seem to be a routing issue.

Also, from another lan machine, ssh into the box and when connection cuts off, type athstats at shell and tell me if the tx failed because of underrun goes up in numbers.

Offline Jonb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 410
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Peer Point Internet
Re: Strange but true
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2008, 03:00:45 am »
It is a Ralink card so shall I put in ral in place of ath?
For IP connectivity, Cloud Backup and UK co-lo hosting check us out.
http://www.peerpointinternet.co.uk

Offline Jonb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 410
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Peer Point Internet
Re: Strange but true
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2008, 12:43:49 pm »
I tried
ifconfig ral0 down
then
ifconfig ral0 up

and that didn't sort the problem. The athstats and ralstats didn't work. After the interface went down then up I still have no access to the internet.
For IP connectivity, Cloud Backup and UK co-lo hosting check us out.
http://www.peerpointinternet.co.uk

Offline Jonb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 410
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Peer Point Internet
Re: Strange but true
« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2008, 08:45:35 am »
Wireless config:

Quote
<opt1>
         <descr>Wireless</descr>
         <if>ral0</if>
         <wireless>
            <standard>11g</standard>
            <mode>hostap</mode>
            <protmode>cts</protmode>
            <ssid>Main22</ssid>
            <channel>3</channel>
            <authmode/>
            <txpower>99</txpower>
            <distance/>
            <wpa>
               <macaddr_acl/>
               <auth_algs>1</auth_algs>
               <wpa_mode>2</wpa_mode>
               <wpa_key_mgmt>WPA-PSK</wpa_key_mgmt>
               <wpa_pairwise>CCMP</wpa_pairwise>
               <wpa_group_rekey>60</wpa_group_rekey>
               <wpa_gmk_rekey>3600</wpa_gmk_rekey>
               <passphrase>key</passphrase>
               <ext_wpa_sw/>
               <enable/>
            </wpa>
            <wep/>
         </wireless>
         <bridge>lan</bridge>
         <ipaddr/>
         <subnet>32</subnet>
         <gateway/>
         <spoofmac/>
         <mtu/>
         <enable/>
      </opt1>
For IP connectivity, Cloud Backup and UK co-lo hosting check us out.
http://www.peerpointinternet.co.uk

Offline Jonb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 410
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Peer Point Internet
Re: Strange but true
« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2008, 05:39:56 am »
After playing a bit more if I update anything that causes the filters to refresh that fixes the problem. When I loose internet I canot ping the pfsense box at all.

I am still very confused on what is doing this.

note:

I have snort instatalled and squid (although wireless is not used).
For IP connectivity, Cloud Backup and UK co-lo hosting check us out.
http://www.peerpointinternet.co.uk

Offline Jonb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 410
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Peer Point Internet
Re: Strange but true
« Reply #7 on: March 11, 2008, 03:33:57 pm »
Is there no fix for this??
For IP connectivity, Cloud Backup and UK co-lo hosting check us out.
http://www.peerpointinternet.co.uk

Offline Steve

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Firewall stops talking to wireless after short time
« Reply #8 on: April 26, 2008, 02:12:42 pm »
I have also run into the same problem.    I have a Windows XP laptop with a wireless D-Link card that I used to connect to a wireless access point in my network.  At times I can see the pfsense (v1.2) firewall and at other times I cannot.  My laptop can see the rest of my LAN regardless.  I thought that my wireless AP was the cause (it is actually a wireless D-Link router configured as an access point) so I just activated the wireless card in pfsense thinking that the problem would go away but it did not.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Steve

Offline GoldServe

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 256
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Firewall stops talking to wireless after short time
« Reply #9 on: April 27, 2008, 10:25:56 am »
Seems like heavy traffic is the cause of this. Is that what you peeps are seeing as well?

I'm hoping Freebsd 7 with newer atheros drivers will cure everything! Bring it on!

Offline Steve

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Firewall stops talking to wireless after short time
« Reply #10 on: April 27, 2008, 04:28:16 pm »
Not heavy traffic for me.  In fact, sometimes the laptop is the only computer trying to get to the internet.  The problem manifests itself when the laptop hops onto the LAN via a wireless access point or through the OPT1 interface.

Offline GoldServe

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 256
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Firewall stops talking to wireless after short time
« Reply #11 on: April 28, 2008, 01:55:45 am »
I guess if you are doing transfers to and from wan, that's considered high traffic for the access point...

Offline Steve

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Firewall stops talking to wireless after short time
« Reply #12 on: April 28, 2008, 11:06:04 am »
Whether it is through the access point or through OPT1, the results are the same.  My wireless laptop can access any part of the LAN, it just will not see the pfSense gateway whereas wired computers can see the gateway.  I suspect it is how the packets are created from my wireless laptop that is somehow causing FreeBSD to not like them and acknowledge them. 

I recently added pfSense as my gateway from a Linux gateway that I had cobbled together via scripts and I did not have these troubles in this scenario so I doubt that heavy traffic is the cause.

Offline far182

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Firewall stops talking to wireless after short time
« Reply #13 on: May 31, 2008, 10:00:50 pm »
I also had this problem on a brand new ALIX.3 setup with Atheros card.  I set the LAN and WIFI to be bridged.  Everything would work find but after about 10-20 minutes I could no longer connect on the Internet from the Wifi.  I could access anything local and could even access the PFSense admin page.  Reboot resolved it everytime.

I just re-installed and didn't enable the WIFI.  I am running pings over it for a few hours and if that goes well then I will turn the WIFI back on and see how that goes.

Offline AceBalboa

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Firewall stops talking to wireless after short time
« Reply #14 on: June 15, 2008, 10:18:15 pm »
Hey

I have a similar problem with my Atheros WIFI card (configured as an Access Point).  When I first enable it, everything works fine.  After a few hours of inactivity, the access point disappears.  When ever it disappears, I can make it re-appear by going to "Interfaces: OPT1" and hitting the save button (at the bottom). 

It's nice that I can get the access point back up with very little effort, but having to visit a desktop every time I want to use a laptop is getting a little annoying ... has anyone found a resolution to this problem?

RC