pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: Hyper-V, Traffic Shaper not available (confirmed) with possible workaround  (Read 1878 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Kofl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Hi,

we just installed pfSense-LiveCD-2.2-BETA-amd64-20141017-1127.iso on Hyper-V 20012 R2.

All native network cards were recognized correctly and are working. But the Traffic Shaping wizard does not recognize the NICs.
If I start the traffic_shaper_wizard_multi_all.xml wizard, I only get the message:

You have less interfaces than number of connections!

Does anyone else experience that issue?

Thanks,
Thomas
« Last Edit: October 29, 2014, 11:42:57 am by Kofl »

Offline falumas

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Hyper-V, Traffic Shaper not available
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2014, 05:15:10 am »
I get the same message on my installation.

I have two network cards one WAN and on LAN.

Offline Kofl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Hyper-V, Traffic Shaper not available
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2014, 06:24:55 am »
Thanks for confirmation, same for me: 1 WAN and 1 LAN interface
WAN interface (wan, hn0)
LAN interface (lan, hn1)

Hopefully the devs are fixing it.

Offline mattbunce

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Hyper-V, Traffic Shaper not available (confirmed)
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2014, 10:31:45 am »
This is because pfSense doesn't think Hyper-V's network interfaces (hn) able capable of using ALTQ (from what I've read, they are capable).
  • Use Diagnostics > Edit File to edit /etc/inc/interfaces.inc
  • Find the fucntion "is_altq_capable($int)" and add "hn" to the list of capable interfaces
  • Save the file and head back to Trafic Shaper and it should work
I'm not saying that this is completely working, I don't know enough to be sure ALTQ is doing all it should on these interfaces, but I have set-up some basic Trafic Shaping using PRIQ and it seems to be working correctly - In that viewing the queues in pfTop you can see that under heavy traffic, some packets are queued as I'd expect them to be.

M

Offline falumas

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Maybe the pfSense old Hyper-V network driver version 3.2 aren't capable of ALTQ.

So an upgrade to version 5 might solve many problems.

In the old unofficial Hyper-V modified version of pfSense 2.0.1 the problem could be solved with some file editing, but I think that version had a newer version of the network driver. I don't have the old unofficial version any longer so I can't check.

Anyhow it could be worth a try to do the trick in the link below and see if it works. I am not using the traffic shaper.

https://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?topic=56565.msg322637#msg322637

I see now that I kind of was a little bit late on this ball.

Offline cmb

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11228
  • Karma: +894/-7
    • View Profile
    • Chris Buechler
Re: Hyper-V, Traffic Shaper not available (confirmed) with possible workaround
« Reply #5 on: November 11, 2014, 07:14:20 pm »
I added hn to the list of ALTQ supported interfaces. Seems to work fine in Hyper-V 2012 for at least a basic test.

Offline Kofl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Hyper-V, Traffic Shaper not available (confirmed) with possible workaround
« Reply #6 on: December 10, 2014, 11:53:51 am »
Just did an installation with the 2.2 RC releaes. Now its working fine out of the box :D

https://blog.pfsense.org/?p=1506