The pfSense Store

Author Topic: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2  (Read 14258 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline kevev

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts) v1.1
« Reply #15 on: January 15, 2015, 04:26:28 pm »
I fixed the issue in the old scripts.

Be sure to uninstall the old version with the 1.0 script using the Removel option before uploading and installing from the new 1.1 scripts!

Let me know if the new version works or has issues.  :)

Offline tong

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts) v1.1
« Reply #16 on: January 15, 2015, 05:10:22 pm »
I fixed the issue in the old scripts.

Be sure to uninstall the old version with the 1.0 script using the Removel option before uploading and installing from the new 1.1 scripts!

Let me know if the new version works or has issues.  :)

Thanks kevev, but I'm still at stuck at the same issue, no log folder.  Only thing i can think of is that I'm using the 64bit version of pfsense.

Did it on a brand new fresh install just in case too. Still no dice.

Offline kevev

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts) v1.1
« Reply #17 on: January 15, 2015, 05:15:19 pm »
That's not good. Try it on a 32bit system or wait till I post the 64bit install scripts.

I fixed the issue in the old scripts.

Be sure to uninstall the old version with the 1.0 script using the Removel option before uploading and installing from the new 1.1 scripts!

Let me know if the new version works or has issues.  :)

Thanks kevev, but I'm still at stuck at the same issue, no log folder.  Only thing i can think of is that I'm using the 64bit version of pfsense.

Did it on a brand new fresh install just in case too. Still no dice.

Offline tong

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts) v1.1
« Reply #18 on: January 15, 2015, 05:22:52 pm »
That's not good. Try it on a 32bit system or wait till I post the 64bit install scripts.


I'll wait, it will give me time to play with this box and learn stuff that i need to know on how to use it.

Offline opjohnny

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts) v1.1
« Reply #19 on: January 15, 2015, 05:39:52 pm »
Just got home from work.  I'll run the 1.0 script uninstall/1.1 script install and report back with my findings.
pfSense Boxes-

Celeron C1037U MiniPC(HDD, current)
VIA C7 miniITX(HDD, retired)
Firebox x750e(CF, retired)
Dell PowerEdge 2950 w/ ESXi v5.5(Retired)
Dell PowerEdge 860 w/ ESXi v5.5(Retired)
Firebox x700(CF, for a coworker)

Offline opjohnny

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts) v1.1
« Reply #20 on: January 15, 2015, 05:52:59 pm »
I ran the uninstall but still see the following in /root/....

Code: [Select]
pfsense-teamspeak-install.sh

run_teamspeak3-server.sh

teamspeak3-server

teamspeak3-server_freebsd-x86-3.0.11.2.tar.gz

ts3server.sh

Am I supposed to delete those before doing the new script install?

Also, do I re-follow all steps in the first post for the new script install?
pfSense Boxes-

Celeron C1037U MiniPC(HDD, current)
VIA C7 miniITX(HDD, retired)
Firebox x750e(CF, retired)
Dell PowerEdge 2950 w/ ESXi v5.5(Retired)
Dell PowerEdge 860 w/ ESXi v5.5(Retired)
Firebox x700(CF, for a coworker)

Offline opjohnny

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts) v1.1
« Reply #21 on: January 15, 2015, 06:10:44 pm »
Deleted all those TS related files from /root/ except the official archive.  Uploaded script files to /root/.  Ran installer script via puTTy.  Output...

Code: [Select]
Checking for required files...
All required files have been found in /root
Archive Extracting...
Extraction completed successfully!

Moving pfsense to /usr/local/lib/ ...
Move completed successfully!

Creating "teamspeak" user...
Created user successfully!

Setting permissions on /usr/local/lib/teamspeak3-server_freebsd-x86
Permissions successful!

Moving script "teamspeak3-server.sh" to /usr/local/etc/rc.d/
Moving completed successful!

Setting permissions on /usr/local/etc/rc.d/teamspeak3-server.sh
Permissions successful!

Moving script "rc.conf.local" to /etc/
Moving completed successful!

Setting permissions on /etc/rc.conf.local
Permissions successful!

No reboot reminder, not sure if that was intentional.

Rebooted, changed port forwards to resolve to my pfsense IP instead of my rig's IP.

Checked logs, noticed log sizes I didn't see before.  First log had a bunch of info, no issues that I could see.  Second log had...a token!  Logged in to my server via the LAN IP of my pfSense box and authenticated as admin.  Hooray!

Kevev - You are extremely awesome for taking the time to do this.  You really saved my ass here, and now I can finally turn my main rig off / stop temporarily hosting my gaming community's ts3.  8)
pfSense Boxes-

Celeron C1037U MiniPC(HDD, current)
VIA C7 miniITX(HDD, retired)
Firebox x750e(CF, retired)
Dell PowerEdge 2950 w/ ESXi v5.5(Retired)
Dell PowerEdge 860 w/ ESXi v5.5(Retired)
Firebox x700(CF, for a coworker)

Offline kevev

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts) v1.1
« Reply #22 on: January 15, 2015, 10:16:44 pm »
Awesome dude. Glad someone got it working. I will update the script to remind users to reboot.

Deleted all those TS related files from /root/ except the official archive.  Uploaded script files to /root/.  Ran installer script via puTTy.  Output...

Code: [Select]
Checking for required files...
All required files have been found in /root
Archive Extracting...
Extraction completed successfully!

Moving pfsense to /usr/local/lib/ ...
Move completed successfully!

Creating "teamspeak" user...
Created user successfully!

Setting permissions on /usr/local/lib/teamspeak3-server_freebsd-x86
Permissions successful!

Moving script "teamspeak3-server.sh" to /usr/local/etc/rc.d/
Moving completed successful!

Setting permissions on /usr/local/etc/rc.d/teamspeak3-server.sh
Permissions successful!

Moving script "rc.conf.local" to /etc/
Moving completed successful!

Setting permissions on /etc/rc.conf.local
Permissions successful!

No reboot reminder, not sure if that was intentional.

Rebooted, changed port forwards to resolve to my pfsense IP instead of my rig's IP.

Checked logs, noticed log sizes I didn't see before.  First log had a bunch of info, no issues that I could see.  Second log had...a token!  Logged in to my server via the LAN IP of my pfSense box and authenticated as admin.  Hooray!

Kevev - You are extremely awesome for taking the time to do this.  You really saved my ass here, and now I can finally turn my main rig off / stop temporarily hosting my gaming community's ts3.  8)

Offline kevev

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.1
« Reply #23 on: January 15, 2015, 11:00:11 pm »
I added a 64bit version.

I also updated the x86 version to correct some spelling mistakes and added a reboot reminder.  ;)

Let me know if there are issues.

Offline tong

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.1
« Reply #24 on: January 16, 2015, 06:46:51 am »
I added a 64bit version.

I also updated the x86 version to correct some spelling mistakes and added a reboot reminder.  ;)

Let me know if there are issues.

Can't wait to get home and try the 64bit out... Anything else you want me to try out while this box is still a virgin and not in "production" use?

Offline kevev

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.1
« Reply #25 on: January 16, 2015, 07:59:54 am »
I have a cups printing tutorial you can try out. :)

I may write scripts for that one too if there is interest.



Can't wait to get home and try the 64bit out... Anything else you want me to try out while this box is still a virgin and not in "production" use?

Offline tong

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.1
« Reply #26 on: January 16, 2015, 10:06:31 am »
I have a cups printing tutorial you can try out. :)

I may write scripts for that one too if there is interest.


I can test out to see if it installs and that portion of it, I won't be able to test out is use unfortunately...

How about one for mumble (teamspeak alternative)? Might be a popular option for those that want more users but on the same type of VoIP thing?

Offline tong

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.1
« Reply #27 on: January 16, 2015, 03:27:26 pm »
I added a 64bit version.

I also updated the x86 version to correct some spelling mistakes and added a reboot reminder.  ;)

Let me know if there are issues.

Complete success. Everything went smooth on 64bit as instructed.

Kevev, can you change this:

4.)  Run the install script for your architecture

         `pfsense-teamspeak-install_x86.sh`

      or

         `pfsense-teamspeak-install_amd64.sh`

to this:

4.)  Run the install script for your architecture

         `./pfsense-teamspeak-install_x86.sh`

      or

         `./pfsense-teamspeak-install_amd64.sh`

I was beating myself over the head trying to remember the ./ for the install.  Like I said I'm a complete newb at this; but by following your directions, it's installed, and running, sweet.

Thank you very much, I hope this helps someone else too.

Offline kevev

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.1
« Reply #28 on: January 17, 2015, 06:03:44 pm »
./pfsense-teamspeak-install_x86.sh

./pfsense-teamspeak-install_amd64.sh

Done.

Offline opjohnny

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #29 on: January 17, 2015, 06:07:18 pm »
Kevev - Since you had to fix the scripts, do the update instructions change at all?  Want to make sure I have those saved once the next update rolls out.
pfSense Boxes-

Celeron C1037U MiniPC(HDD, current)
VIA C7 miniITX(HDD, retired)
Firebox x750e(CF, retired)
Dell PowerEdge 2950 w/ ESXi v5.5(Retired)
Dell PowerEdge 860 w/ ESXi v5.5(Retired)
Firebox x700(CF, for a coworker)