The pfSense Store

Author Topic: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2  (Read 14264 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline iced98lx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Home User
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #45 on: March 04, 2015, 08:59:56 am »
Does this run TS in a jail? I know running TS on my firewall will obviously provide one more possible place to compromise the system but if it's in a jail and not running as root I'd be willing to give it a shot.

No jail. They are easy to set up though.

Cool, would be neat to see this package-tized & jailed for easy installation and management but great work getting it all going will be installing and the effort is appreciated.

Offline opjohnny

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #46 on: March 16, 2015, 04:45:58 pm »
I'm going to attempt an update to pfSense today.  Kev, what steps would you recommend I follow in order to retain my settings/unique key through the update?

Also, are there any easy ways to make running this server on my pfSense box any more secure?  Simple stuff like firewall rules or at least some basic things that don't leave the rest of my network open to attacks through the TS server.  Right now I only have the one LAN that goes through an Asus RT-N56u that serves my main rig, 2x smart Bluray players, 1x Chromecast, 1x Android tablet, 1x Android phone.  The proper solution here is to not host TS on the pfSense box, but it's my only option for the foreseeable future.  It's going to be a while before I get my new rack installed and all my server hardware back online.

ETA:  Also, what would be required if I decide to change hardware for pfSense?  Eventually I plan to get one of those small devices from aliexpress to mount to my network panel and I would very much like to keep my TS server and not have to reconfigure everything from scratch.  I know I can export/import my pfSense settings, just curious about the TS server.  Would I have to do something like download a specific folder, install TS on new pfSense box, upload that specific folder?
pfSense Boxes-

Celeron C1037U MiniPC(HDD, current)
VIA C7 miniITX(HDD, retired)
Firebox x750e(CF, retired)
Dell PowerEdge 2950 w/ ESXi v5.5(Retired)
Dell PowerEdge 860 w/ ESXi v5.5(Retired)
Firebox x700(CF, for a coworker)

Offline kevev

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #47 on: March 17, 2015, 10:12:22 am »
Post #2 has everything you are looking for. You can tar up the install which will backup the sqlite database.

I'm going to attempt an update to pfSense today.  Kev, what steps would you recommend I follow in order to retain my settings/unique key through the update?

Also, are there any easy ways to make running this server on my pfSense box any more secure?  Simple stuff like firewall rules or at least some basic things that don't leave the rest of my network open to attacks through the TS server.  Right now I only have the one LAN that goes through an Asus RT-N56u that serves my main rig, 2x smart Bluray players, 1x Chromecast, 1x Android tablet, 1x Android phone.  The proper solution here is to not host TS on the pfSense box, but it's my only option for the foreseeable future.  It's going to be a while before I get my new rack installed and all my server hardware back online.

ETA:  Also, what would be required if I decide to change hardware for pfSense?  Eventually I plan to get one of those small devices from aliexpress to mount to my network panel and I would very much like to keep my TS server and not have to reconfigure everything from scratch.  I know I can export/import my pfSense settings, just curious about the TS server.  Would I have to do something like download a specific folder, install TS on new pfSense box, upload that specific folder?

Offline opjohnny

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #48 on: March 17, 2015, 10:41:41 am »
Post #2 has everything you are looking for. You can tar up the install which will backup the sqlite database.

Thanks Kev!  Backed up the TS directory, ran the update, TS came back online with pfSense with no issues.  8)
pfSense Boxes-

Celeron C1037U MiniPC(HDD, current)
VIA C7 miniITX(HDD, retired)
Firebox x750e(CF, retired)
Dell PowerEdge 2950 w/ ESXi v5.5(Retired)
Dell PowerEdge 860 w/ ESXi v5.5(Retired)
Firebox x700(CF, for a coworker)

Offline opjohnny

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #49 on: April 03, 2015, 02:20:38 pm »
Backed up my TS directory and updated to pfSense 2.2.1.  Absolutely no issues.  8)
pfSense Boxes-

Celeron C1037U MiniPC(HDD, current)
VIA C7 miniITX(HDD, retired)
Firebox x750e(CF, retired)
Dell PowerEdge 2950 w/ ESXi v5.5(Retired)
Dell PowerEdge 860 w/ ESXi v5.5(Retired)
Firebox x700(CF, for a coworker)

Offline opjohnny

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Backed up TS, upgrade to pfSense 2.2.2 went without a hitch, then realized TS 3.0.11.3 was available so continued instructions in post 2 for an actual TS upgrade, but ran in to an issue at the step where I extract the tar.gz file in /root/ to /user/local/lib.

Code: [Select]
tar -xzvf teamspeak3-server_freebsd-x86-*.tar.gz -C /usr/local/lib

tar: teamspeak3-server_freebsd-x86-3.0.11.3.tar.gz: Not found in archive
tar: -C: Not found in archive
tar: /usr/local/lib: Not found in archive
tar: Error exit delayed from previous errors.

Then after I started the TS server back up it was taking a long time, rebooted, same issue.  Saw the TS processes running in the webGUI.  Did a forcestop, tried start a few times, eventually the server came back up.  When I connected to it I was given a popup notice about the server identity changing and asking me if I accept the new identity and want to remain connected.  Not exactly sure what happened here.

ETA:  I stopped the server, unzipped the tar.gz on my desktop, then unzipped the .tar on my desktop, then copied that folder over to /usr/local/lib/ via FileZilla, issued the chown command, then rebooted pfSense since I always have trouble manually starting the server for some reason.  The server came online a few minutes after rebooting the box.  Viewing Server Connection Info in my TS client shows version 3.0.11.3.

For anyone having a similar issue with the tar command just download FileZilla(the .zip option, not .exe since the latter includes bloatware) and connect to your router IP using port 22.  Make sure SSH is enabled in Advanced Settings of pfSense and under that no port is chosen, otherwise if you set a port use that port to connect with FileZilla.  Then just drag and drop the TS folder to /usr/local/lib/ and choose the overwrite option for all files in queue.
« Last Edit: May 10, 2015, 01:15:30 pm by opjohnny »
pfSense Boxes-

Celeron C1037U MiniPC(HDD, current)
VIA C7 miniITX(HDD, retired)
Firebox x750e(CF, retired)
Dell PowerEdge 2950 w/ ESXi v5.5(Retired)
Dell PowerEdge 860 w/ ESXi v5.5(Retired)
Firebox x700(CF, for a coworker)

Offline opjohnny

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #51 on: April 14, 2016, 06:27:22 am »
Haven't upgraded in a while but due to pfSense 2.3 being released I'd figure I'd give an update on how things are working in case others are still hosting TS on their pfSense box or will do so.

The upgrade to TS Server 3.0.12.3 went without a hitch.  I just followed the upgrade instructions except for the extraction part.  For that I still unzipped the folder and copied its contents to the folder un \usr\local\lib\ in FileZilla, making sure to overwrite all.  You also need to add an ".sh" to the end of "server" in the start command in the instructions otherwise it will fail as an unknown command.

After the upgrade to pfSense 2.3 the TS server came right back up on its own as expected, so this method still works great.

Thanks again, Kevev.  8)
pfSense Boxes-

Celeron C1037U MiniPC(HDD, current)
VIA C7 miniITX(HDD, retired)
Firebox x750e(CF, retired)
Dell PowerEdge 2950 w/ ESXi v5.5(Retired)
Dell PowerEdge 860 w/ ESXi v5.5(Retired)
Firebox x700(CF, for a coworker)

Offline tong

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #52 on: April 27, 2016, 05:17:10 pm »
Carefull guys Teamspeak has changed their naming schemes, so you have to be careful and make those changes:

for example this latest update 3.0.12.4 as of today:

 teamspeak3-server_freebsd_amd64.3.0.12.4.tar.bz2

**problems were: freebsd_amd64 instead of freebsd-amd64 (including the internal folder)
**changed it from a tar.gz to a tar.bz2

So either edit the install script to reflect those changes or, as I did, I changed the name of the file from _ to -, and changed the name of the internal folder from _ to - also, then changed it from tar.bz2 to tar.gz

Offline bc2946088

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #53 on: November 27, 2016, 12:57:37 pm »
Carefull guys Teamspeak has changed their naming schemes, so you have to be careful and make those changes:

for example this latest update 3.0.12.4 as of today:

 teamspeak3-server_freebsd_amd64.3.0.12.4.tar.bz2

**problems were: freebsd_amd64 instead of freebsd-amd64 (including the internal folder)
**changed it from a tar.gz to a tar.bz2

So either edit the install script to reflect those changes or, as I did, I changed the name of the file from _ to -, and changed the name of the internal folder from _ to - also, then changed it from tar.bz2 to tar.gz


I just wanted to add, the scripts haven't been updated for this change yet.

I found it easiest to modify the install file and rename the folder within the script after the teamspeak3 server file is decompressed.  The script will continue and you'll have less changes to make to the install script.

               
Code: [Select]
tar -xf /root/teamspeak3-server_freebsd_amd64*.tar.gz
                mv teamspeak3-server_freebsd_amd64 teamspeak3-server_freebsd-amd64

Offline 2dfx

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #54 on: January 05, 2017, 04:45:03 pm »
Anyone else having file i/o issues with TS3 after installing?  Can't modify icons or upload files to the server.

All folders within the ts3 server folder in /usr/local/lib have been chown'd recursively to the teamspeak user yet the issue still exists.

Offline opjohnny

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #55 on: January 16, 2017, 07:33:39 am »
Just updated Teamspeak to 3.0.13.6, no issues at all.  Still doing it the copy/paste way where I connect via filezilla and drag the contents of the new \teamspeak3-server_freebsd-amd64\ folder in to the usr\local\lib\teamspeak3-server_freebsd-amd64\ folder overwriting everything, with putty open in the background for the backup and ownership commands.  This way also doesn't require you to rename anything.
pfSense Boxes-

Celeron C1037U MiniPC(HDD, current)
VIA C7 miniITX(HDD, retired)
Firebox x750e(CF, retired)
Dell PowerEdge 2950 w/ ESXi v5.5(Retired)
Dell PowerEdge 860 w/ ESXi v5.5(Retired)
Firebox x700(CF, for a coworker)

Offline tong

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #56 on: March 08, 2017, 05:08:01 pm »
Looks like the newer version don't give root enough permissions for /usr/local/lib

I've tried everything i could on a new install to get it to work with no success. True i have very limited skill and knowledge on freebsd.

Any chance someone could explain how to get it to work on a new install (version 2.3.3 )?

Or maybe we can get an updated script?

Offline opjohnny

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #57 on: March 08, 2017, 06:09:28 pm »
I'm up to date on pfsense and no issues with TS, especially after multiple reboots the last few days while trying to open NAT for my xbox.  Haven't attempted any TS updates in a few weeks.
pfSense Boxes-

Celeron C1037U MiniPC(HDD, current)
VIA C7 miniITX(HDD, retired)
Firebox x750e(CF, retired)
Dell PowerEdge 2950 w/ ESXi v5.5(Retired)
Dell PowerEdge 860 w/ ESXi v5.5(Retired)
Firebox x700(CF, for a coworker)

Offline tong

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #58 on: March 08, 2017, 07:01:50 pm »
I ended up finding an image of 2.2 i had that allowed me to install TS then updated to 2.3.3, trying to figure out why in the new package root does not have permissions with /usr/local/lib to be able to copy the files over and do the rest.

Offline opjohnny

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #59 on: March 09, 2017, 06:27:15 am »
So TS server will only work if it's already installed prior to 2.3.3, and after 2.3.3 you can't install or upgrade the TS server due to the permissions issue?
pfSense Boxes-

Celeron C1037U MiniPC(HDD, current)
VIA C7 miniITX(HDD, retired)
Firebox x750e(CF, retired)
Dell PowerEdge 2950 w/ ESXi v5.5(Retired)
Dell PowerEdge 860 w/ ESXi v5.5(Retired)
Firebox x700(CF, for a coworker)