pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2  (Read 14260 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tong

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #60 on: March 09, 2017, 02:58:55 pm »
So TS server will only work if it's already installed prior to 2.3.3, and after 2.3.3 you can't install or upgrade the TS server due to the permissions issue?

That seems to be my experience, unless I choose something I shouldn't have during an install. I will test this out later on another box I have just in case.
Seems that root user no longer has enough permissions to /usr/local/lib to copy the folders over (never mind the rest of the stuff it has to do).

Offline tong

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #61 on: March 09, 2017, 07:51:25 pm »
It works. You need to edit the "pfsense-teamspeak-install_amd64.sh" and "teamspeak3-server.sh" script and change all instances of 

/usr/local/lib/teamspeak3-server_freebsd-amd64

to

/usr/local/lib/teamspeak3-server_freebsd_amd64

That single "-" is what's causing the install issue. It extracts the archive to a folder named "teamspeak3-server_freebsd_amd64" but tries to move a folder named "teamspeak3-server_freebsd-amd64" to that location and obviously that doesn't exist.

Funny thing is it's not the scripts fault cause it's not telling it what to extract it to. Teamspeak changed the folder structure that it extracts. So looks like someone decided not to follow precedent and errors like this happen.
« Last Edit: March 09, 2017, 08:15:45 pm by tong »

Offline opjohnny

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #62 on: March 11, 2017, 06:24:12 am »
That is a known issue.  It was a page or two back when someone caught the change.
pfSense Boxes-

Celeron C1037U MiniPC(HDD, current)
VIA C7 miniITX(HDD, retired)
Firebox x750e(CF, retired)
Dell PowerEdge 2950 w/ ESXi v5.5(Retired)
Dell PowerEdge 860 w/ ESXi v5.5(Retired)
Firebox x700(CF, for a coworker)

Offline iced98lx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Home User
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #63 on: October 25, 2017, 10:00:19 am »
OPJohnny - have you abandoned the idea of making a package for this vs manually handling it with scripts?

Offline opjohnny

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #64 on: October 27, 2017, 08:34:52 pm »
Outside of my skillset, honestly.  I'm a Microsoft sysadmin that just dabbles in this stuff.
pfSense Boxes-

Celeron C1037U MiniPC(HDD, current)
VIA C7 miniITX(HDD, retired)
Firebox x750e(CF, retired)
Dell PowerEdge 2950 w/ ESXi v5.5(Retired)
Dell PowerEdge 860 w/ ESXi v5.5(Retired)
Firebox x700(CF, for a coworker)

Offline iced98lx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Home User
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #65 on: October 28, 2017, 08:44:04 am »
Fair enough, I understand completely.

Offline iced98lx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Home User
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #66 on: November 06, 2017, 10:41:13 am »
Just wanted to say that after I manually extracted and renamed the 64 bit file the script worked great!

Offline opjohnny

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Howto: TeamSpeak 3 server in pfSense 2.x(Now with scripts x86/x64) v1.2
« Reply #67 on: November 19, 2017, 09:00:51 am »
Another problem-free upgrade to 3.0.13.8.

Still using the method where I connect via filezilla and copy the contents of \teamspeak3-server_freebsd_amd64\ to \user\local\lib\teamspeak3-server_freebsd_amd64\.  Doesn't require any file renames.  Never had luck with uploading the tar.gz file and performing an extract via shell.

The command to start the TS server still doesn't work for me either.  I just copy the forcestop command, change it to forcestart, and that does the trick.
pfSense Boxes-

Celeron C1037U MiniPC(HDD, current)
VIA C7 miniITX(HDD, retired)
Firebox x750e(CF, retired)
Dell PowerEdge 2950 w/ ESXi v5.5(Retired)
Dell PowerEdge 860 w/ ESXi v5.5(Retired)
Firebox x700(CF, for a coworker)