pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: Why does Gigabit throughput require such high end hardware?  (Read 20876 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

BlueKobold

  • Guest
Re: Why does Gigabit throughput require such high end hardware?
« Reply #45 on: April 05, 2015, 11:18:26 am »
... and you've completely ignored the PHY, which is where the real power consumption occurs.

10GBase-T components today require anywhere from 2 to 5 watts per port at each end of the cable –depending on the distance of the cable –while SFP+ requires approximately 0.7 watt, regardless of distance.
For sure thats right but compared to the entire cost of the cards and SFP+ transceivers to the
throughput, it will then perhaps better to support more Mellanox ConnectX®-3 Pro VPI adapters.
Then you will be able to get 10 GbE/40 GbE or 40GbE/56/GbE and this for a smaller budget.
Rangeley C2758 & ConnectX-3 VPI would be great to see some supprt for those cards in the future.


gonzopancho

  • Guest
Re: Why does Gigabit throughput require such high end hardware?
« Reply #46 on: April 09, 2015, 06:46:36 pm »
I don't see Melanox ConnectX-3 being significantly less expensive than Chelsio T5-based product.

For example:

Melanox ConnectX-3 dual-port 10G adapter $235:
http://www.colfaxdirect.com/store/pc/viewPrd.asp?idproduct=1303&idcategory=6

Chelsio T520-SO-CR dual-port 10G adapter: $234:
http://www.colfaxdirect.com/store/pc/viewPrd.asp?idproduct=2084&idcategory=6

Mellanox ConnectX-3 Dual-Port 40G Adapter $470:
http://www.colfaxdirect.com/store/pc/viewPrd.asp?idproduct=1327&idcategory=6

Chelsio T580-SO-CR 40 Gigabit adapter: $399
http://www.colfaxdirect.com/store/pc/viewPrd.asp?idproduct=2083&idcategory=6


And, of course:

Rangeley C2758 via Netgate $999:
http://store.netgate.com/Firewall/C2758.aspx

Chelsio T520-SO-CR via Netgate $245:
http://store.netgate.com/Chelsio/T520-SO-CR.aspx



BlueKobold

  • Guest
Re: Why does Gigabit throughput require such high end hardware?
« Reply #47 on: April 10, 2015, 05:03:31 am »
I don't see Melanox ConnectX-3 being significantly less expensive than Chelsio T5-based product.

For example:

Melanox ConnectX-3 dual-port 10G adapter $235:
http://www.colfaxdirect.com/store/pc/viewPrd.asp?idproduct=1303&idcategory=6

Chelsio T520-SO-CR dual-port 10G adapter: $234:
http://www.colfaxdirect.com/store/pc/viewPrd.asp?idproduct=2084&idcategory=6

Mellanox ConnectX-3 Dual-Port 40G Adapter $470:
http://www.colfaxdirect.com/store/pc/viewPrd.asp?idproduct=1327&idcategory=6

Chelsio T580-SO-CR 40 Gigabit adapter: $399
http://www.colfaxdirect.com/store/pc/viewPrd.asp?idproduct=2083&idcategory=6
Ahhh for sure I was not recognizing that Chelsio is also offering 40 GBit/s equipment!
So far and in short thats it, for sure you are right with the comparing, but before the European
pfSense Shop is opening I was thing to refer before about the new Intel Atom C2000 Boards
something, and I was finding up this thread here very exiting: A Rangeley Board Review and so I was triggered to research over the Mellanox cards and where finding this equipment right here: 12 Port Mellanox Switch &
Mellanox Dual Port 56 GBit/s card and this was bringing me to the point that it could perhaps being interesting to get support for.

Quote
And, of course:

Rangeley C2758 via Netgate $999:
http://store.netgate.com/Firewall/C2758.aspx

Chelsio T520-SO-CR via Netgate $245:
http://store.netgate.com/Chelsio/T520-SO-CR.aspx

For sure the "Rangeley" platform will be the right thing as I see it now also.
A little bit sad for the IPSec will not profit from AES-NI but ok I can life with that
for sure if the QuickAssist is speeding up then other things. Perhaps this is owed also
to the circumstances that I was having a looking eyes an a Supermicro platform at first!
Because there are boards with one PCIe slot for the Comtech AHA compression card I want
to use inside and adding much more RAM is also a point that was given, but wit three miniPCIe
slots for mSATA, Modem and WLAN and more GB lan ports it will be also very interesting for me
otherwise. For sure not so easy to come closer to a right decision these days.

So let me see what is going on if the pfSense shop in Europe is opened.

But for the detailed informations you draw spread over so many threads I will say thank you
at this time first, glad to here about those things more and more.



gonzopancho

  • Guest
Re: Why does Gigabit throughput require such high end hardware?
« Reply #48 on: April 10, 2015, 05:42:39 am »
I don't see Melanox ConnectX-3 being significantly less expensive than Chelsio T5-based product.

For example:

Melanox ConnectX-3 dual-port 10G adapter $235:
http://www.colfaxdirect.com/store/pc/viewPrd.asp?idproduct=1303&idcategory=6

Chelsio T520-SO-CR dual-port 10G adapter: $234:
http://www.colfaxdirect.com/store/pc/viewPrd.asp?idproduct=2084&idcategory=6

Mellanox ConnectX-3 Dual-Port 40G Adapter $470:
http://www.colfaxdirect.com/store/pc/viewPrd.asp?idproduct=1327&idcategory=6

Chelsio T580-SO-CR 40 Gigabit adapter: $399
http://www.colfaxdirect.com/store/pc/viewPrd.asp?idproduct=2083&idcategory=6
Ahhh for sure I was not recognizing that Chelsio is also offering 40 GBit/s equipment!
So far and in short thats it, for sure you are right with the comparing, but before the European
pfSense Shop is opening I was thing to refer before about the new Intel Atom C2000 Boards
something, and I was finding up this thread here very exiting: A Rangeley Board Review and so I was triggered to research over the Mellanox cards and where finding this equipment right here: 12 Port Mellanox Switch &
Mellanox Dual Port 56 GBit/s card and this was bringing me to the point that it could perhaps being interesting to get support for.

Quote
And, of course:

Rangeley C2758 via Netgate $999:
http://store.netgate.com/Firewall/C2758.aspx

Chelsio T520-SO-CR via Netgate $245:
http://store.netgate.com/Chelsio/T520-SO-CR.aspx

For sure the "Rangeley" platform will be the right thing as I see it now also.
A little bit sad for the IPSec will not profit from AES-NI but ok I can life with that
for sure if the QuickAssist is speeding up then other things. Perhaps this is owed also
to the circumstances that I was having a looking eyes an a Supermicro platform at first!
Because there are boards with one PCIe slot for the Comtech AHA compression card I want
to use inside and adding much more RAM is also a point that was given, but wit three miniPCIe
slots for mSATA, Modem and WLAN and more GB lan ports it will be also very interesting for me
otherwise. For sure not so easy to come closer to a right decision these days.

So let me see what is going on if the pfSense shop in Europe is opened.

But for the detailed informations you draw spread over so many threads I will say thank you
at this time first, glad to here about those things more and more.

IPsec does profit from AES-NI, it's AES-CBC + HMAC-SHA1 that suffers.  We're not done, either.  For now, using AES-GCM with AES-NI will provide the largest gains.  Again, we're not done here, but the current project is QAT.

I don't have as much interest in Mellanox as I do in Chelsio and the newer Intel 10G/40G parts.



BlueKobold

  • Guest
Re: Why does Gigabit throughput require such high end hardware?
« Reply #49 on: April 10, 2015, 05:47:19 am »
Quote
I don't have as much interest in Mellanox as I do in Chelsio and the newer Intel 10G/40G parts.
For sure, after I was lead by your last comment that Chelsio is also having 40 Gbit/s adapters
it is really obsolete.

Offline sujyo1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 90
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Why does Gigabit throughput require such high end hardware?
« Reply #50 on: April 11, 2015, 01:24:41 am »
In MO... We have 10/1 MB ($40/m) now and cable co start to offer 100/20 MB ($110/m)...and here you guys talking GB!!$$$$

Offline Supermule

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2540
  • Karma: +77/-102
    • View Profile
Re: Why does Gigabit throughput require such high end hardware?
« Reply #51 on: April 11, 2015, 01:29:55 am »
Current offerings here in Denmark is 1Gbit/1Gbit for around 349DKK which is the equivalent of 49USD with current exchange rates....
Kind regards Brian


BlueKobold

  • Guest
Re: Why does Gigabit throughput require such high end hardware?
« Reply #52 on: April 11, 2015, 02:18:09 am »
In MO... We have 10/1 MB ($40/m) now and cable co start to offer 100/20 MB ($110/m)...and here you guys talking GB!!$$$$
You are talking about the WAN speed! And we where talking about the LAN speed!
This is quite different from each other, and the ConnectX 2 Series from Mellanox is supported
so it was only in my mind to find out if the new series will be perhaps also be supported, not
more and not less. And if we are talking about 40 GBit/s adapters this is more for the LAN
connection and not the WAN connection.

Quote
.and here you guys talking GB!!$$$$
pfSense is not only used in home networks and in corporate networks you have to deal
also with other throughput for the entire company to deliver a moderate speed to all
the clients, servers and SANs and there fore it would even be great, to be able not
to create a so called bottleneck inside your LAN.

Offline edwardwong

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Why does Gigabit throughput require such high end hardware?
« Reply #53 on: April 11, 2015, 03:30:44 am »
Current offerings here in Denmark is 1Gbit/1Gbit for around 349DKK which is the equivalent of 49USD with current exchange rates....

In HK 1G up/down is less than 30 USD/month, and there is vendor planning to work out a 10G residential plan.

Offline Supermule

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2540
  • Karma: +77/-102
    • View Profile
Re: Why does Gigabit throughput require such high end hardware?
« Reply #54 on: April 11, 2015, 03:53:53 am »
Thats freaking crazy! :D

Sponsored by Chinese INtelligence??? ;)
Kind regards Brian


Offline kejianshi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4548
  • Karma: +184/-26
  • Debugging...
    • View Profile
Re: Why does Gigabit throughput require such high end hardware?
« Reply #55 on: April 11, 2015, 04:51:21 am »
Why do governments act like children on the internet?

Offline robi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 947
  • Karma: +72/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Why does Gigabit throughput require such high end hardware?
« Reply #56 on: April 11, 2015, 05:24:14 am »
In Hungary we have 1G/300M for about 15USD/month including 110 DVB TV channels and landline phone.

Offline kejianshi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4548
  • Karma: +184/-26
  • Debugging...
    • View Profile
Re: Why does Gigabit throughput require such high end hardware?
« Reply #57 on: April 11, 2015, 05:32:28 am »
In Manila we have 5/1 coax connection for about $30 per month and TV is another $15 extra...   And the picture is shit...  (-:

Offline edwardwong

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Why does Gigabit throughput require such high end hardware?
« Reply #58 on: April 11, 2015, 06:49:49 am »
Thats freaking crazy! :D

Sponsored by Chinese INtelligence??? ;)

I already consider this expensive, there exist cheaper 1G/1G options (and previous 2 yrs I was paying USD 15 for 500M/500M)

And of course we want to separate with mainland China (GFW is blocking lots of stuff)......

Offline Supermule

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2540
  • Karma: +77/-102
    • View Profile
Re: Why does Gigabit throughput require such high end hardware?
« Reply #59 on: April 11, 2015, 07:49:47 am »
I know. Do you use VPN to overcome that?

Thats freaking crazy! :D

Sponsored by Chinese INtelligence??? ;)

I already consider this expensive, there exist cheaper 1G/1G options (and previous 2 yrs I was paying USD 15 for 500M/500M)

And of course we want to separate with mainland China (GFW is blocking lots of stuff)......
Kind regards Brian