pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: IPv6 not automatically restored after modem reboot  (Read 2166 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline virgiliomi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 558
  • Karma: +74/-4
    • View Profile
IPv6 not automatically restored after modem reboot
« on: January 17, 2015, 08:54:53 am »
Ok... so very early Friday morning (just after 2:00a GMT-5), my cable modem automatically reset itself, likely due to maintenance by my provider. About 30 minutes later, IPv4 service is restored to normal. IPv6, on the other hand, seems to sit in an "unknown" state. I had to manually release/renew the WAN interface in order to restore IPv6 connectivity.

Not expecting a fix for 2.2 (though it would be nice), just wondering if it could get put on the list for a future update at this point.

The modem is an Arris/Motorola SB6183, service provider is Comcast.

I'm not running the most recent snapshot (1/4/15), so if something like this has been fixed in the past 12 days, then just let me know and I'll update. Otherwise I wasn't planning on updating until final release at this point.

Log clip of the affected period is below... 192.168.100.11 is the address my modem gave pfSense while it was trying to reconnect to the cable network. As a result of this, IPv4 appears to show no downtime because it was given a local address and gateway by the modem.

Code: [Select]
Jan 16 02:07:42 check_reload_status: updating dyndns WAN_DHCP6
Jan 16 02:07:42 check_reload_status: Restarting ipsec tunnels
Jan 16 02:07:42 check_reload_status: Restarting OpenVPN tunnels/interfaces
Jan 16 02:07:42 check_reload_status: Reloading filter
Jan 16 02:07:42 check_reload_status: updating dyndns WAN_DHCP
Jan 16 02:07:42 check_reload_status: Restarting ipsec tunnels
Jan 16 02:07:42 check_reload_status: Restarting OpenVPN tunnels/interfaces
Jan 16 02:07:42 check_reload_status: Reloading filter
Jan 16 02:07:43 php-fpm[42983]: /rc.dyndns.update: phpDynDNS (home.domain.com): No change in my IP address and/or 25 days has not passed. Not updating dynamic DNS entry.
Jan 16 02:07:44 php-fpm[42983]: /rc.dyndns.update: phpDynDNS (home.domain.com): No change in my IP address and/or 25 days has not passed. Not updating dynamic DNS entry.
Jan 16 02:07:58 kernel: re0: link state changed to DOWN
Jan 16 02:07:58 check_reload_status: Linkup starting re0
Jan 16 02:07:59 php-fpm[1856]: /rc.linkup: DEVD Ethernet detached event for wan
Jan 16 02:08:00 kernel: arpresolve: can't allocate llinfo for 24.xxx.xxx.1 on re0
Jan 16 02:08:04 php-fpm[1856]: /rc.linkup: Shutting down Router Advertisment daemon cleanly
Jan 16 02:08:04 kernel: arpresolve: can't allocate llinfo for 24.xxx.xxx.1 on re0
Jan 16 02:08:08 kernel: arpresolve: can't allocate llinfo for 24.xxx.xxx.1 on re0
Jan 16 02:08:12 kernel: arpresolve: can't allocate llinfo for 24.xxx.xxx.1 on re0
Jan 16 02:08:16 kernel: arpresolve: can't allocate llinfo for 24.xxx.xxx.1 on re0
Jan 16 02:08:19 check_reload_status: Linkup starting re0
Jan 16 02:08:19 kernel: re0: link state changed to UP
Jan 16 02:08:20 php-fpm[8587]: /rc.linkup: DEVD Ethernet attached event for wan
Jan 16 02:08:20 php-fpm[8587]: /rc.linkup: HOTPLUG: Configuring interface wan
Jan 16 02:08:20 kernel: arpresolve: can't allocate llinfo for 24.xxx.xxx.1 on re0
Jan 16 02:08:23 check_reload_status: rc.newwanip starting re0
Jan 16 02:08:23 php-fpm[8587]: /rc.linkup: Accept router advertisements on interface re0
Jan 16 02:08:23 php-fpm[8587]: /rc.linkup: ROUTING: setting default route to 192.168.100.1
Jan 16 02:08:23 check_reload_status: Restarting ipsec tunnels
Jan 16 02:08:24 php-fpm[15372]: /rc.newwanip: rc.newwanip: Info: starting on re0.
Jan 16 02:08:24 php-fpm[15372]: /rc.newwanip: rc.newwanip: on (IP address: 192.168.100.11) (interface: WAN[wan]) (real interface: re0).
Jan 16 02:08:24 php-fpm[15372]: /rc.newwanip: IP has changed, killing states on former IP 24.xxx.xxx.177.
Jan 16 02:08:24 php-fpm[15372]: /rc.newwanip: Could not find IPv6 gateway for interface (wan).
Jan 16 02:08:25 php-fpm[15372]: /rc.newwanip: ROUTING: setting default route to 192.168.100.1
Jan 16 02:09:01 php-fpm[8587]: /rc.linkup: The command '/usr/local/sbin/unbound -c /var/unbound/unbound.conf' returned exit code '1', the output was '[1421392141] unbound[51921:0] error: bind: address already in use [1421392141] unbound[51921:0] fatal error: could not open ports'
Jan 16 02:09:01 dhcpleases: kqueue error: unkown
Jan 16 02:09:02 php-fpm[8587]: /rc.linkup: The command '/usr/local/sbin/dhcpd -user dhcpd -group _dhcp -chroot /var/dhcpd -cf /etc/dhcpd.conf -pf /var/run/dhcpd.pid re1' returned exit code '1', the output was 'Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Server 4.2.6 Copyright 2004-2014 Internet Systems Consortium. All rights reserved. For info, please visit https://www.isc.org/software/dhcp/ Wrote 0 deleted host decls to leases file. Wrote 0 new dynamic host decls to leases file. Wrote 24 leases to leases file. Listening on BPF/re1/74:d4:35:xx:xx:xx/192.168.1.0/24 Sending on BPF/re1/74:d4:35:xx:xx:xx/192.168.1.0/24 Can't bind to dhcp address: Address already in use Please make sure there is no other dhcp server running and that there's no entry for dhcp or bootp in /etc/inetd.conf. Also make sure you are not running HP JetAdmin software, which includes a bootp server. If you did not get this software from ftp.isc.org, please get the latest from ftp.isc.org and install that before requesting help. If you did ge
Jan 16 02:09:03 check_reload_status: updating dyndns wan
Jan 16 02:10:12 php-fpm[15372]: /rc.newwanip: Dyndns debug information (home.domain.com): Could not resolve checkip.dyndns.org to IP using interface IP 192.168.100.11.
Jan 16 02:10:12 php-fpm[15372]: /rc.newwanip: DynDNS (home.domain.com) There was an error trying to determine the public IP for interface - wan(re0). Probably interface is not a WAN interface.
Jan 16 02:10:13 php-fpm[15372]: /rc.newwanip: Resyncing OpenVPN instances for interface WAN.
Jan 16 02:10:13 php-fpm[15372]: /rc.newwanip: Creating rrd update script
Jan 16 02:10:15 php-fpm[15372]: /rc.newwanip: pfSense package system has detected an IP change or dynamic WAN reconnection - 24.xxx.xxx.177 -> 192.168.100.11 - Restarting packages.
Jan 16 02:10:15 check_reload_status: Starting packages
Jan 16 02:10:16 php-fpm[58661]: /rc.start_packages: Restarting/Starting all packages.
Jan 16 02:11:23 php-fpm[25234]: /rc.dyndns.update: Dyndns debug information (home.domain.com): Could not resolve checkip.dyndns.org to IP using interface IP 192.168.100.11.
Jan 16 02:11:23 php-fpm[25234]: /rc.dyndns.update: DynDNS (home.domain.com) There was an error trying to determine the public IP for interface - wan(re0). Probably interface is not a WAN interface.
Jan 16 02:31:09 check_reload_status: rc.newwanip starting re0
Jan 16 02:31:10 php-fpm[58661]: /rc.newwanip: rc.newwanip: Info: starting on re0.
Jan 16 02:31:10 php-fpm[58661]: /rc.newwanip: rc.newwanip: on (IP address: 24.xxx.xxx.177) (interface: WAN[wan]) (real interface: re0).
Jan 16 02:31:10 php-fpm[58661]: /rc.newwanip: IP has changed, killing states on former IP 192.168.100.11.
Jan 16 02:31:10 php-fpm[58661]: /rc.newwanip: Could not find IPv6 gateway for interface (wan).
Jan 16 02:31:10 php-fpm[58661]: /rc.newwanip: ROUTING: setting default route to 24.xxx.xxx.1
Jan 16 02:31:14 php-fpm[58661]: /rc.newwanip: The command '/usr/local/sbin/dhcpd -user dhcpd -group _dhcp -chroot /var/dhcpd -cf /etc/dhcpd.conf -pf /var/run/dhcpd.pid re1' returned exit code '1', the output was 'Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Server 4.2.6 Copyright 2004-2014 Internet Systems Consortium. All rights reserved. For info, please visit https://www.isc.org/software/dhcp/ Wrote 0 deleted host decls to leases file. Wrote 0 new dynamic host decls to leases file. Wrote 24 leases to leases file. Listening on BPF/re1/74:d4:35:xx:xx:xx/192.168.1.0/24 Sending on BPF/re1/74:d4:35:xx:xx:xx/192.168.1.0/24 Can't bind to dhcp address: Address already in use Please make sure there is no other dhcp server running and that there's no entry for dhcp or bootp in /etc/inetd.conf. Also make sure you are not running HP JetAdmin software, which includes a bootp server. If you did not get this software from ftp.isc.org, please get the latest from ftp.isc.org and install that before requesting help. If you did
Jan 16 02:31:15 php-fpm[58661]: /rc.newwanip: phpDynDNS (home.domain.com): No change in my IP address and/or 25 days has not passed. Not updating dynamic DNS entry.
Jan 16 02:31:16 php-fpm[58661]: /rc.newwanip: Resyncing OpenVPN instances for interface WAN.
Jan 16 02:31:16 php-fpm[58661]: /rc.newwanip: Creating rrd update script
Jan 16 02:31:18 php-fpm[58661]: /rc.newwanip: pfSense package system has detected an IP change or dynamic WAN reconnection - 192.168.100.11 -> 24.xxx.xxx.177 - Restarting packages.
Jan 16 02:31:18 check_reload_status: Starting packages
Jan 16 02:31:19 php-fpm[61885]: /rc.start_packages: Restarting/Starting all packages.

Attachments: Quality graphs for IPv4 and IPv6, showing IPv6 going down and IPv4 staying "online".
« Last Edit: January 17, 2015, 09:26:40 am by virgiliomi »

Offline virgiliomi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 558
  • Karma: +74/-4
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 not automatically restored after modem reboot
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2015, 11:21:04 am »
Bump...

any thoughts on getting IPv6 to properly (and automatically)  return after something like this happens? IPv6 on the WAN is DHCPv6.

Offline ermal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3832
  • Karma: +85/-5
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 not automatically restored after modem reboot
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2015, 05:26:03 am »
The IPv6 should have recovered but i guess the mixture made it behave that way with IPv4.

If you want it to recover just tick the option use IPv4 iface for IPv6 and it should work properly.

Offline virgiliomi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 558
  • Karma: +74/-4
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 not automatically restored after modem reboot
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2015, 09:03:32 am »
So this will make it such that when IPv4 gets renewed or updated, IPv6 will as well? In theory they should be at about the same time anyway, as I'm pretty sure Comcast uses the same lease time for both. Just trying to understand how it will make it work right next time it happens.

Offline ermal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3832
  • Karma: +85/-5
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 not automatically restored after modem reboot
« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2015, 10:21:15 am »
IPv4 will trigger an IPv6 reconfiguration.