Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: how do we specify our timezone in this forum sw?!?  (Read 1585 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jalyst

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-7
    • View Profile
how do we specify our timezone in this forum sw?!?
« on: May 08, 2015, 03:24:02 am »
I've looked everywhere, but amazingly, there doesn't seem to be that option...
Really massive oversight, I've never come across a forum that doesn't let you stipulate your time-zone!

Thank-you.

Offline doktornotor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8553
  • Karma: +962/-278
  • Not a pfSense employee, they cannot fire me...
    • View Profile
Re: how do we specify our timezone in this forum sw?!?
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2015, 03:50:16 am »
Modify Profile - Look and Layout - Time Offset.

(Please, direct the note about retarded placement to SMF upstream.)
Do NOT PM for help!

Offline jalyst

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-7
    • View Profile
Re: how do we specify our timezone in this forum sw?!?
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2015, 03:55:20 am »
Is that using GMT?
If it is, I put in +10 (IIRC UTC is the same for my city) but the time still looks completely wrong.

Offline jalyst

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-7
    • View Profile
Re: how do we specify our timezone in this forum sw?!?
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2015, 03:57:41 am »
I've put in +15 (which is normally totally wrong for my city), & now it seems to be showing the right local times???

Offline doktornotor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8553
  • Karma: +962/-278
  • Not a pfSense employee, they cannot fire me...
    • View Profile
Re: how do we specify our timezone in this forum sw?!?
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2015, 03:59:02 am »
Is that using GMT?

No. As noted there, it is using offset from local forum time. And it shows the local forum time right under. Anyway, as noted, nothing will get changed/fixed/redesigned here. Need to go to SMF upstream with suggestions.
Do NOT PM for help!

Offline phil.davis

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4617
  • Karma: +551/-3
    • View Profile
    • International Nepal Fellowship
Re: how do we specify our timezone in this forum sw?!?
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2015, 05:11:06 am »
and every time the Local Forum Time goes forward/back an hour due to "summer time" at wherever the forum lives, you have to adjust your Time Offset. And if you live in a place that has its own summer time changes, then you also need to adjust Time Offset at those times also. It is retarded.
It would be a little nicer if the Local Forum Time was set and locked to UTC. Then everyone could at least put in what they know as their usual time zone offset from UTC, without having to mess around trying different numbers.
As the Greek philosopher Isosceles used to say, "There are 3 sides to every triangle."
If I helped you, then help someone else - buy someone a gift from the INF catalog http://secure.inf.org/gifts/usd/

Offline jalyst

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: +0/-7
    • View Profile
Re: how do we specify our timezone in this forum sw?!?
« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2015, 05:18:33 am »
and every time the Local Forum Time goes forward/back an hour due to "summer time" at wherever the forum lives, you have to adjust your Time Offset. And if you live in a place that has its own summer time changes, then you also need to adjust Time Offset at those times also. It is retarded.
It would be a little nicer if the Local Forum Time was set and locked to UTC. Then everyone could at least put in what they know as their usual time zone offset from UTC, without having to mess around trying different numbers.

Wow, it gets worse... >.>
Surely it's high on SMF's list of things to fix?
Not that I'm going to waste time chasing them up about it.

Offline phil.davis

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4617
  • Karma: +551/-3
    • View Profile
    • International Nepal Fellowship
Re: how do we specify our timezone in this forum sw?!?
« Reply #7 on: May 08, 2015, 05:48:38 am »
Actually the whole world should set their clocks to UTC and forget about time zones - it would eliminate all this software hassle, and calendar issues about which timezone the meeting got scheduled in and what timezone is it displayed in on my desktop and...
While we are here - get rid of months. Everyone just use day number in the year. Every now and then we have day 366, that is a bit annoying, like leap seconds are also annoying.
As the Greek philosopher Isosceles used to say, "There are 3 sides to every triangle."
If I helped you, then help someone else - buy someone a gift from the INF catalog http://secure.inf.org/gifts/usd/

Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12002
  • Karma: +474/-15
    • View Profile
Re: how do we specify our timezone in this forum sw?!?
« Reply #8 on: May 08, 2015, 06:22:35 am »
I could get behind that Phil.  ;)

The half hour time difference between Melbourne and Adelaide blew my mind!

Steve

Offline phil.davis

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4617
  • Karma: +551/-3
    • View Profile
    • International Nepal Fellowship
Re: how do we specify our timezone in this forum sw?!?
« Reply #9 on: May 09, 2015, 01:40:58 am »
We enjoy time-zone fun in Australia  :P
Western Australia UTC+8
A couple of roadhouse villages (Eucla...) in the east of Western Australia UTC+8:45
South Australia+ Northern Territory UTC+9:30
Eastern UTC+10
and then each state and territory decides if it will have summer time and when that starts and finishes.

You just go to the airport well ahead of the appointed time and hope for the best.
As the Greek philosopher Isosceles used to say, "There are 3 sides to every triangle."
If I helped you, then help someone else - buy someone a gift from the INF catalog http://secure.inf.org/gifts/usd/

Offline 2chemlud

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 385
  • Karma: +20/-5
    • View Profile
Re: how do we specify our timezone in this forum sw?!?
« Reply #10 on: May 11, 2015, 03:54:04 am »
...unfortunately the world cares less each day about common sense and "one-world". Tribalism and sundials are the future...

Offline cmb

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11228
  • Karma: +896/-7
    • View Profile
    • Chris Buechler
Re: how do we specify our timezone in this forum sw?!?
« Reply #11 on: May 20, 2015, 12:25:50 pm »
It would definitely be nice if SMF handled timezones better, especially given the brokenness for those whose DST schedules differ from the US. We could run the server on UTC, but so many have set their offset accordingly for CST that it would probably break more than it fixes. That wouldn't fix the DST issue in general either, given the profile setting is only an offset from the server's time and offset from UTC changes with DST.

Not a great answer to this one unfortunately.