pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: Diagnostics - Backup: someone broke it  (Read 1950 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline doktornotor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8553
  • Karma: +956/-278
  • Not a pfSense employee, they cannot fire me...
    • View Profile
Diagnostics - Backup: someone broke it
« on: June 17, 2015, 05:48:00 am »
After the latest batch of htmlspecialchars and whatnot fixes, the checkboxes are not honored! Like,
- I have the "Do not backup RRD data (NOTE: RRD Data can consume 4+ megabytes of config.xml space!)" checkbox pre-ticked, but the downloaded config.xml contains all the RRD data.
- When I untick it, I get the RRD data twice, as a bonus!

Also seeing some other weird issues elsewhere, TBC.

EDIT: Filed a bug - https://redmine.pfsense.org/issues/4773
« Last Edit: June 17, 2015, 02:38:00 pm by doktornotor »
Do NOT PM for help!

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21404
  • Karma: +1437/-26
    • View Profile
Re: Diagnostics - Backup: someone broke it
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2015, 07:37:40 am »
I replied back on the ticket. diag_backup.php wasn't touched in that round of updates, and hasn't been changed at all since before 2.2.2 shipped.

I can't reproduce that on a current snapshot either. Are you certain that config.xml was restored from the GUI using diag_backup.php?

If it were copied into place manually or done any other way other than diag_backup.php then the code to restore the RRD data and unset it from the config wouldn't have been triggered.

If there are other issues, I'd like to hear about them, are they in other threads? I haven't been monitoring the forum closely the last few days.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline doktornotor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8553
  • Karma: +956/-278
  • Not a pfSense employee, they cannot fire me...
    • View Profile
Re: Diagnostics - Backup: someone broke it
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2015, 01:07:20 pm »
Are you certain that config.xml was restored from the GUI using diag_backup.php?

I'm pretty sure I have not more than 2-3 beers before restoring the config. :D

If there are other issues, I'd like to hear about them, are they in other threads? I haven't been monitoring the forum closely the last few days.

Well, I'm trying to get in touch with the pfBlockerNG author to see what he thinks; seems he's AWOL at the moment.  ;D Basically, I have a base64-encoded exclusion list in the config that gets ignored all of a sudden. The only change there being a gitsync a couple of days ago.

Do NOT PM for help!