pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: What causes traffic to switch to IPv6?  (Read 666 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline -RYknow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
What causes traffic to switch to IPv6?
« on: June 22, 2015, 05:09:23 pm »
Can someone tell me what causes a connection to change from IPv4 to IPv6? And when it does this, my connection to my vpn fails? Here is a screenshot of my RRD graphs that shows what I'm talking about. If you look at the second graph down, you can see where it drops IPv4, and then comes back as IPv6.



I'm new to Pfsense, and networking in general, so bare with me.  :-[

-RYknow

Offline doktornotor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8553
  • Karma: +957/-278
  • Not a pfSense employee, they cannot fire me...
    • View Profile
Re: What causes traffic to switch to IPv6?
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2015, 05:24:30 pm »
Normally, IPv6 is preferred. So, the question actually should be what causes a connection to dual-stack resource to fall back to IPv4... :P
Do NOT PM for help!

Offline -RYknow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: What causes traffic to switch to IPv6?
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2015, 07:11:47 pm »
Ohh... ok. Well then, what would the answer be to that question? Maybe I should clarify that my issue is while using a VPN. If I'm not using my VPN, everything works just fine. I don't know much about pfsense at all, but in my poking around I found there is quite a number of errors that appear squid related in the firewall section. Here are a few;

Code: [Select]
Jun 22 20:00:03 php: rc.filter_configure_sync: There was an error while parsing the package filter rules for /usr/local/pkg/squid.inc.
Jun 22 20:00:01 php: rc.filter_configure_sync: The command '/sbin/pfctl -nf /tmp/rules.test.packages' returned exit code '1', the output was '/tmp/rules.test.packages:21: syntax error'

I'm completely clueless what this all means. I haven't changed anything with squid, nor updated anything? I'm running 2.2.2 on a netgate APU. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

-RYknow

Edit: Looking around some more, I have squid, squid3 and squidguard all installed. Do I need all three packages? I know I need squidguard, but do I need both squid and squid3?
« Last Edit: June 22, 2015, 07:21:20 pm by -RYknow »

Offline -RYknow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: What causes traffic to switch to IPv6?
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2015, 08:15:05 pm »
So I ended up having it happen again tonight. Here is a quick screenshot of my RRD graph.



Seems pretty consistent to only effect my vpn.

-RYknow

Offline doktornotor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8553
  • Karma: +957/-278
  • Not a pfSense employee, they cannot fire me...
    • View Profile
Re: What causes traffic to switch to IPv6?
« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2015, 02:14:16 am »
Ohh... ok. Well then, what would the answer be to that question? Maybe I should clarify that my issue is while using a VPN. If I'm not using my VPN, everything works just fine. I don't know much about pfsense at all, but in my poking around I found there is quite a number of errors that appear squid related in the firewall section. Here are a few;

Code: [Select]
Jun 22 20:00:03 php: rc.filter_configure_sync: There was an error while parsing the package filter rules for /usr/local/pkg/squid.inc.
Jun 22 20:00:01 php: rc.filter_configure_sync: The command '/sbin/pfctl -nf /tmp/rules.test.packages' returned exit code '1', the output was '/tmp/rules.test.packages:21: syntax error'

I'm completely clueless what this all means. I haven't changed anything with squid, nor updated anything? I'm running 2.2.2 on a netgate APU. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

There's been a galore of issues with Squid* on 2.2.x; obviously when your firewall rules are broken by it, it's not a good thing. Look at the reported line and see what's there. Otherwise, there's a dedicated subforum for Squid and proxy junk in general:P
Do NOT PM for help!