The pfSense Store

Author Topic: CARP problem with VMWare Server  (Read 4717 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline leonset

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
CARP problem with VMWare Server
« on: June 18, 2008, 06:01:56 am »
Hello!

I'm having problems with CARP using 2 virtual machines under VMWare Server. Ive setup the cluster following the tutorial and it does work somewhat ok: I have trafic, Nat forwarding is ok, failovers correctly, etc... But I'm having two issues with it:

1.- It doesn't seem to failback correctly, even now that preemption is supposed to be enabled by default. How long should it take to failback to the master firewall?

2.- The second problem it's really annoying: one or more of my CARP VIP's get moved from the master to the slave firewall randomly. I've been unable to find why or when the VIP's gets removed from the master pfSense ???

Has someone any clue about any of this problems?
It's CARP supposed to work correctly under VMWare Server?

Thanks a lot!

Offline cmb

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6333
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • LinkedIn
    • Twitter
    • View Profile
    • Chris Buechler
Re: CARP problem with VMWare Server
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2008, 12:29:38 am »
I don't think I know anyone using CARP in VMware Server in production. It works fine in ESX, though you have to enable promiscuous mode. That isn't applicable in VMware Server though. From what you describe it sounds like VMware or your network setup is hosing the multicast traffic. What you describe is what people see when they have a switch that breaks or blocks multicast.

Offline zerfuka

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: CARP problem with VMWare Server
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2008, 10:47:41 pm »
What version of ESX do you have you got PFsense with CARP working on?

I am currently trying to set it up on ESX 3.5 and have followed what little instructions I can in regards to enabling promiscuous mode with no luck.

I have added the following lines in to the .vmx file for the VM's nics:

ethernetN.nopromisc = "false"

and have stopped the vswitch from blocking promiscuous.

I am pulling my hair out!

Cheers everyone


Offline hacktivist

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: CARP problem with VMWare Server
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2008, 12:17:55 am »
Can anyone confirm that VMware Server doesn't work with pfSense CARP?

Thanks.

Offline delimiter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: CARP problem with VMWare Server
« Reply #4 on: October 08, 2008, 04:20:59 pm »
Yes, it can work! I have it working on vmware-server 1.0.7, Linux host.

read this: http://www.ogris.de/docs/vmware-server-vrrp.html
and this: http://mark.foster.cc/blog/2008/10/pfsense-and-carp-on-vmware-server.html

Basically a small hack the vmnet driver.

I don't think this will work on ESX though, just vmware-server.


« Last Edit: November 01, 2008, 11:53:23 am by delimiter »