pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: selling hardware with pfsense loaded - clarification  (Read 9274 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ajs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
selling hardware with pfsense loaded - clarification
« on: December 06, 2009, 08:04:14 pm »
original question removed
The definitive answer is here.
http://doc.pfsense.org/index.php/Can_I_sell_pfSense
« Last Edit: November 21, 2011, 01:46:34 am by cmb »

Offline ajs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: selling hardware with pfsense loaded - clarification
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2009, 10:54:17 pm »
Thanks for your reply.

"Neither the name of pfSense nor the names of its contributors may be used to endorse or promote products derived from this software without specific prior written permission."

I see where you got that. Since I am not looking to modify or build upon pfSense, I wonder if it would be ok to leave it as-is, logo and name intact. Really, I would be making users more aware of the existence of the project, which I would think would be a good thing.

But on the other hand, people may get the wrong idea that I am an official representative or developer or something.

I see both sides, and will take your advice and wait for a core team member to give the final word or more clarification.

Thanks,

Offline Cry Havok

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2792
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Backup: n. What you should have done yesterday.
    • View Profile
Re: selling hardware with pfsense loaded - clarification
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2009, 04:06:51 am »
If you're selling a product based on pfSense then it is "derived from this software".
If you're planning on PMing me to ask me to look at a thread, or for individual support, don't.


Offline Supermule

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1493
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: selling hardware with pfsense loaded - clarification
« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2009, 01:05:43 am »
Very good :)
Kind regards Brian


Offline XIII

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 582
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: selling hardware with pfsense loaded - clarification
« Reply #5 on: December 14, 2009, 03:11:00 pm »
@CMB or other moderator


the link should be stickied, there are a few questions all over the forum asking the same question.
-Chris Stutzman
Sys0:2.0.1: AMD Sempron 140 @2.7 1024M RAM 100GHD
Sys1:2.0.1: Intel P4 @2.66 1024M RAM 40GHD
freedns.afraid.org - Free DNS dynamic DNS subdomain and domain hosting.
Check out the pfSense Wiki

Offline ajs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: selling hardware with pfsense loaded - clarification
« Reply #6 on: December 15, 2009, 10:17:33 pm »
Thanks for all the replies! I agree with the idea that this should be stickied.

So, if I read cmb's link correctly, it sounds like I can load pfsense as-is on some hardware, and sell it for whatever price I want. The existing copyright info complies with the license.

If this is not correct, please explain.

If I am successful in this, my plan is to donate a large portion (minus my costs) back to the project.

Thanks a lot,
ajs

Offline cmb

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6333
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • LinkedIn
    • Twitter
    • View Profile
    • Chris Buechler
Re: selling hardware with pfsense loaded - clarification
« Reply #7 on: December 16, 2009, 12:21:46 am »
Thanks for all the replies! I agree with the idea that this should be stickied.

So, if I read cmb's link correctly, it sounds like I can load pfsense as-is on some hardware, and sell it for whatever price I want. The existing copyright info complies with the license.

If this is not correct, please explain.

That's correct.

If I am successful in this, my plan is to donate a large portion (minus my costs) back to the project.

That's what we hope for.  ;D  I wish it worked out that way more often than it does, but we do have several companies as major contributors, and many smaller ones with donations here and there as well.

Offline XIII

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 582
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: selling hardware with pfsense loaded - clarification
« Reply #8 on: December 16, 2009, 07:14:14 pm »
the link is pfsense.org/donate.html
-Chris Stutzman
Sys0:2.0.1: AMD Sempron 140 @2.7 1024M RAM 100GHD
Sys1:2.0.1: Intel P4 @2.66 1024M RAM 40GHD
freedns.afraid.org - Free DNS dynamic DNS subdomain and domain hosting.
Check out the pfSense Wiki

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14976
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: selling hardware with pfsense loaded - clarification
« Reply #9 on: December 16, 2009, 07:15:36 pm »
I fixed the link on that wiki page. Thanks for the heads-up.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline ajs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: selling hardware with pfsense loaded - clarification
« Reply #10 on: December 16, 2009, 07:25:22 pm »
Fantastic! Thank you for all the replies and especially to cmb for giving the final word. Hopefully I will be successful in doing this, and be able to donate a decent amount back to you.

Keep up the outstanding work.

Offline mattg889

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: selling hardware with pfsense loaded - clarification
« Reply #11 on: January 17, 2010, 03:38:21 pm »
Hi, Sorry to repeat the same question again, but I as far as I can tell I don't think this thread ever ended with a definitive answer.  And I would like to do a similar project as I also have some old computer's I'd like to sell as routers just for my time and the hardware.  And I have been using pfsense for years now and its worked great so I would like to install it on these routers.

The license agreement states:
"Neither the name of pfSense nor the names of its contributors may be used to endorse or promote products derived from this software without specific prior written permission."
Jimp stated:
"Saying they have pfSense loaded on them is probably OK (but I'd wait for a reply from a core team member to be sure)"
ajs stated:
"So, if I read cmb's link correctly, it sounds like I can load pfsense as-is on some hardware"

Is it OK to simply state that they have pfsense installed and pre-configured? (how would I contact a "core team member"?)
Is it still considered as-is if I simply configure it with the available options?

Thanks much,
Matt

Offline cmb

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6333
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • LinkedIn
    • Twitter
    • View Profile
    • Chris Buechler
Re: selling hardware with pfsense loaded - clarification
« Reply #12 on: January 20, 2010, 12:00:21 pm »
The definitive answer is here.
http://doc.pfsense.org/index.php/Can_I_sell_pfSense

edit: removed dated references to old license

Offline david@indesignlondon.co.u

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • i like rice
    • View Profile
    • Londontech Training
Re: selling hardware with pfsense loaded - clarification
« Reply #13 on: March 02, 2010, 09:27:13 am »
Thanks for that CMB, perfectly clear now. :)
------------------------
Live with passion
------------------------

Offline gonzopancho

  • Chief cook and bottle washer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2496
  • Karma: +3/-1
    • View Profile
Re: selling hardware with pfsense loaded - clarification
« Reply #14 on: April 16, 2014, 12:24:13 pm »
Note that the license has changed.