The pfSense Store

Author Topic: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)  (Read 47372 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Supermule

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2541
  • Karma: +77/-102
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #120 on: October 18, 2014, 11:06:50 am »
WRT1900AC

http://www.pcworld.com/article/2143623/linksys-wrt1900ac-wi-fi-router-review-faster-than-anything-we-ve-tested.html

This test was the reason is chose it over the ASUS...

And it does a very good job here at home.
Kind regards Brian


Offline Cino

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1491
  • Karma: +60/-2
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #121 on: October 18, 2014, 06:30:07 pm »
Pretty much every review I've read about the WRT1900AC has been pretty good. I'm looking more towards features/reliably then WiFi performance.. When OpenWRT/DD-WRT firmware comes out, I may hit you up to see how VLANs work on the box.. 

Offline Supermule

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2541
  • Karma: +77/-102
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #122 on: October 19, 2014, 12:32:08 am »
It can VLAN out of the box... I just dont like the Linksys software since its pretty non informative.

Reliability is excellent and with DD-WRT firmware, it will be something that will last a long time since it can push a lot of traffic...

Kind regards Brian


Offline Cino

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1491
  • Karma: +60/-2
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #123 on: October 19, 2014, 02:14:22 pm »
Good to know, thanks for the info

Offline MontTech

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
  • Karma: +5/-3
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #124 on: April 07, 2015, 05:43:52 pm »
Came in today, going out tomorrow!  Love the new boxes  ;D

Offline MontTech

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
  • Karma: +5/-3
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #125 on: May 30, 2015, 04:44:45 pm »
Annnnnnnnnnnnnd another one....Doing our part to keep the pfSense boys busy!

Offline xy.pf123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #126 on: February 16, 2017, 12:22:37 am »
My laundry room:

pfSense Firebox XTM 520
gigabit managed switch
ISP gigabit modem
big ups (server) & small ups (network)
mac server
*invisible due to embedding in the floor - 2 x ubiquity ap-lr-ac - the best wifi I've had
& fabric softner, detergent, furnace, etc :)


Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11150
  • Karma: +403/-5
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #127 on: February 16, 2017, 02:44:38 am »
Nice.  :)

No lcdproc?

Steve

Offline jahonix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2060
  • Karma: +113/-4
  • volunteer since 2006
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #128 on: February 16, 2017, 04:10:18 pm »
Steve, can you make this a sticky so it can be found even without new posts?
Chris

I'd tell you a joke about UDP, I'm just not sure you'd get it.

Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11150
  • Karma: +403/-5
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #129 on: February 16, 2017, 08:04:18 pm »
Seems like I can.  :)

Offline ivor

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 192
  • Karma: +30/-4
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #130 on: March 15, 2017, 01:30:57 pm »
For those with official pfSense hardware, please post a few pics here as well https://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?topic=126630.0
I believe you have my stapler.

Need help fast? Commercial support: https://www.pfsense.org/get-support/

Offline Soarin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #131 on: March 16, 2017, 09:18:58 am »
Running pfSense in a VM with my Dell PowerEdge R610

CPU: x5560 (only 4 threads given)
RAM: 4GB of DDR3 ECC
HDD: 6GB (Even with Squid, Snort, and a few other packages installed it uses 19% of 6GB)


I'd eventually like to take my pfSense out of a VM and put it into a dedicated machine. It runs my server & home network, the amount of speed & control I've gotten out of this is immense compared to my ISP MoCA.
I hardly understand pfSense but it was love at first sight.

Offline kilthro

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 187
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #132 on: March 19, 2017, 02:25:32 pm »
So it's been a while since I was last in here posting my setup.

This was my previous one.
https://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?topic=57028.msg304531#msg304531

Well I wish I had a fancy setup. Here is a a pic of my pfSense box.

SUPERMICRO SYS-5015A-EHF-D525 1U Intel Atom D525 Dual Gigabit LAN w/ IPMI Server
4 gig ram
Intel EXPI9402PT 10/ 100/ 1000Mbps PCI-Express PRO/1000 PT Dual Port Server Adapter
two 250gig WD black 2.5 inch drives mirrored
1500AV UPS (not shown) for 1.5 hours of backup time.
And for the heck of it a Crystalfontz display. :-D
Have gigabit wireless access point as well hooked up. (not shown)

Don't make fun of my makeshift fan bracket (zip ties in vent). lol The system is "passively cooled"  and I didn't like the 65C so i put a case fan in and now its 40C. Not exactly where i would want it but much better.




It, unfortunately, died a few weeks ago... The onboard SATA controller died and hard drives couldn't be accessed.

Here is my new one..

Supermicro Server (SYS-5017P-TLN4F)
Core i7-3612QM
8GB ECC ram
Dual WD Black 250GB 32MB Cache 7 MM 2.5 Inch - WD2500LPLX in GEOM Mirror
Intel EXPI9402PT 10/ 100/ 1000Mbps PCI-Express PRO/1000 PT Dual Port Server Adapter   (taken from prior build so I can have 6 ports) :-)
WIFI is handled by a NETGEAR ProSAFE WAC730 Business 3x3 Dual Band (set up for EAP)
Crystalfontz display taken from prior build. So happy to have that working again in recent builds!


Long live pfSense!!! Can't imagine using anything else. #goldmember for life!