pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: Issues updating from 2.3-RC (or older 2.3 installs) to 2.3-RELEASE  (Read 48006 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline christian.arminio

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Issues updating from 2.3-RC (or older 2.3 installs) to 2.3-RELEASE
« Reply #30 on: April 14, 2016, 02:34:33 am »
My pfsense box cant access the internet unless it is using a proxy (the proxy is separate to this instance of pfsense). It managed to update but now it is stuck attempting to download package metadata :(

Oh yes,

my problem is the same.... So now I know because I can't update my catalogue......
But how fix this issue ??


EDIT

Fixed.... After the upgrade to the new version no default gateway was selected by pfsense... So no route to Internet....
Code: [Select]
System_Routing_Gateways_Edit
Select This will select the above gateway as the default gateway

Super Regards
« Last Edit: April 14, 2016, 02:58:22 am by christian.arminio »

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21312
  • Karma: +1423/-26
    • View Profile
Re: Issues updating from 2.3-RC (or older 2.3 installs) to 2.3-RELEASE
« Reply #31 on: April 14, 2016, 05:58:07 am »
after update I've many problems and web gui shows always this message :

Code: [Select]
pfSense is booting, then packages will be reinstalled in the background.
Do not make changes in the GUI until this is complete.

I've tried the Jimp's guide at first post but it doesn't work :

Diag > Backup/Restore, click the button to reset the package lock.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21312
  • Karma: +1423/-26
    • View Profile
Re: Issues updating from 2.3-RC (or older 2.3 installs) to 2.3-RELEASE
« Reply #32 on: April 14, 2016, 05:59:12 am »
For those with other unrelated issues like proxies/gateways, please start new threads. This thread is only for the specific style of issues stated in the original post, thanks.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline marjohn56

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 402
  • Karma: +42/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Issues updating from 2.3-RC (or older 2.3 installs) to 2.3-RELEASE
« Reply #33 on: April 14, 2016, 06:02:34 am »
I just edited a fix into the first post for people who ended up on 2.3.1 or otherwise have a message saying they're on a version newer than the release. Should fix it all up.

worked for me. you da man!!!

Worked for me too...
pfSense 2.4.3 on Qotom Q335G4 or APU2C4 - Billion 8800NL (bridge) - ISP Zen U.K.

Offline lrosenman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Issues updating from 2.3-RC (or older 2.3 installs) to 2.3-RELEASE
« Reply #34 on: April 14, 2016, 03:55:04 pm »
I just edited a fix into the first post for people who ended up on 2.3.1 or otherwise have a message saying they're on a version newer than the release. Should fix it all up.

worked for me. you da man!!!

Worked for me too...


Worked for me as well...   THANK YOU!

Offline fr0t

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: +3/-13
    • View Profile
Re: Issues updating from 2.3-RC (or older 2.3 installs) to 2.3-RELEASE
« Reply #35 on: April 15, 2016, 04:23:37 am »
Hi all,

Just quick question... where if ntopng package gone? I cant see it in 'Available packages' tab. I did use it a lot and now I am stuck :/

Offline Tomas Waldow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2513
  • Karma: +159/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Issues updating from 2.3-RC (or older 2.3 installs) to 2.3-RELEASE
« Reply #36 on: April 15, 2016, 05:15:03 am »
Hi all,

Just quick question... where if ntopng package gone? I cant see it in 'Available packages' tab. I did use it a lot and now I am stuck :/

https://doc.pfsense.org/index.php/2.3_Removed_Packages

Offline edmund

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • Karma: +4/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Issues updating from 2.3-RC (or older 2.3 installs) to 2.3-RELEASE
« Reply #37 on: April 15, 2016, 07:50:54 am »
Quote
Code: [Select]
pfSense is booting, then packages will be reinstalled in the background.
Do not make changes in the GUI until this is complete.

I had this problem a while back with my nano system at home earlier this year.  I'd suggest looking through your config.xml file and see it there are any duplicate sections, mine had two sections setting up the local DHCP server on different subnets and once I deleted the bad one everything worked fine.

Offline brianc69

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Issues updating from 2.3-RC (or older 2.3 installs) to 2.3-RELEASE
« Reply #38 on: April 16, 2016, 12:23:25 pm »
I was on 2.3.1.xxxx and noticed this morning it was unable to check for updates and the packages section shows no packages installed. I went to diagnostics/command prompt and tried pkg upgrade -f and got:

Updating pfSense-core repository catalogue...
pfSense-core repository is up-to-date.
Updating pfSense repository catalogue...
pfSense repository is up-to-date.
All repositories are up-to-date.
New version of pkg detected; it needs to be installed first.
The following 1 package(s) will be affected (of 0 checked):

Installed packages to be UPGRADED:
   pkg: 1.7.2 -> 1.7.2_1 [pfSense]

2 MiB to be downloaded.

Proceed with this action? [y/N]:

How does one and the y/N question??? Is this even the answer to my problem?

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21312
  • Karma: +1423/-26
    • View Profile
Re: Issues updating from 2.3-RC (or older 2.3 installs) to 2.3-RELEASE
« Reply #39 on: April 18, 2016, 11:15:11 am »
I was on 2.3.1.xxxx and noticed this morning it was unable to check for updates and the packages section shows no packages installed. I went to diagnostics/command prompt and tried pkg upgrade -f and got:

Updating pfSense-core repository catalogue...
pfSense-core repository is up-to-date.
Updating pfSense repository catalogue...
pfSense repository is up-to-date.
All repositories are up-to-date.
New version of pkg detected; it needs to be installed first.
The following 1 package(s) will be affected (of 0 checked):

Installed packages to be UPGRADED:
   pkg: 1.7.2 -> 1.7.2_1 [pfSense]

2 MiB to be downloaded.

Proceed with this action? [y/N]:

How does one and the y/N question??? Is this even the answer to my problem?

'y' is OK there. But please read the original post of the thread, second section, last entry.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline brianc69

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Issues updating from 2.3-RC (or older 2.3 installs) to 2.3-RELEASE
« Reply #40 on: April 18, 2016, 05:44:11 pm »
The problem is you can't answer Y or N in the web gui.

Offline wirerogue

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Issues updating from 2.3-RC (or older 2.3 installs) to 2.3-RELEASE
« Reply #41 on: April 19, 2016, 07:15:14 pm »
The problem is you can't answer Y or N in the web gui.

don't run it from the web gui. use the console.

Offline phil.davis

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4613
  • Karma: +550/-3
    • View Profile
    • International Nepal Fellowship
Re: Issues updating from 2.3-RC (or older 2.3 installs) to 2.3-RELEASE
« Reply #42 on: April 19, 2016, 09:38:51 pm »
The problem is you can't answer Y or N in the web gui.
The webGUI has already asked the user to confirm they want to upgrade (which incidentally it does (and kind of has to do) before the user can see the full list of bits and pieces that will be upgraded) and so any back-end script code that uses package commands to actually do the bits of the upgrade should use whatever parameter is needed to tell it "go ahead whatever happens, do not ask interactively for confirmation of anything".

I thought that had been sorted out already, but obviously not for this case of it doing some early update before the full-blown thing.
As the Greek philosopher Isosceles used to say, "There are 3 sides to every triangle."
If I helped you, then help someone else - buy someone a gift from the INF catalog http://secure.inf.org/gifts/usd/

Offline jits

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 279
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Issues updating from 2.3-RC (or older 2.3 installs) to 2.3-RELEASE
« Reply #43 on: April 22, 2016, 02:58:31 pm »
Awesome!

Many thanks for this sticky. Has solved the "updating' issue for me. Pfsense Base was missing. Thanks again.

Offline Bonsai

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Issues updating from 2.3-RC (or older 2.3 installs) to 2.3-RELEASE
« Reply #44 on: July 28, 2016, 06:57:58 am »
First to say ... mypfsense box is 1200 km away and I have only access over the web frontend and not over a direct console.

As I got the issue that the update stopped somewhere in the middle, I rebooted the machine. Then the Frontend claimed to be on 2.3.2, but was still on 2.3.1.

I followed the instructions in the first post "Upgrade resulted in running 2.3.1 or the version claims to be newer", except that I used an additional -y parameter on commands who are asking Y/N.

pkg upgrade -f -y
Ran first into an "504 Gateway Time-out"

if I repeat this .... it happens sometimes again and sometimes it does more and stops then there:
[4/131] Extracting python27-2.7.12: Child process pid=87727 terminated abnormally: Killed

I can reproduce it .... now third time exactly this message (except logically the pid)

My knowledge about FreeBSD is very limited. On a linux I would try to completely uninstall the python package and install it again.
Is there a better approach?
How to force this uninstall / install?
Will the frontend still work if python is missing? Remember, I do not have a real console and the box is 1200km away from me (additionally all staff members over there are in holidays!)

Sorry for asking probably beginner questions, but I need to be VERY sure, that the box will not fail completely, becasue email would be the only service what would not fail if my VPN fails .... everything else in the company would be down and currently all flights are overbooked here on our airoport, as I sit on a holiday island with my local office. With ship and car I would need more than a day to get there.