pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: Setup my pfSense router  (Read 782 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline kabal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Setup my pfSense router
« on: December 27, 2016, 02:12:08 pm »
I'm not a networking expert, but I built a pfSense router, which is kind of working. I would like to hire an expert to get everything working well in my home office (SOHO) environment.

1) Graceful failover between connections (two WAN, for now) *
2) Load-balancing *
3) Incoming VPN remote capability compatible with Mac, PC, android, iOS
4) IPv6 complete support with failover, load-balancing, client support *
5) Port forwarding for specific devices that seem to require it (VoIP, door locks, etc.)
6) Good throughput
7) Outgoing automatic VPN connections for geofenced services (Canada TV, BBC)
9) Explanation and training for me on how this works

* = Either working or kind of working

Offline johnpoz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14468
  • Karma: +1340/-200
  • Not a pfSense employee, they cannot fire me...
    • View Profile
Re: Setup my pfSense router
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2016, 02:34:02 pm »
"9) Explanation and training for me on how this works "

And how much are you expecting to pay for all this?  Plus training ;)  My going bill rate is normally 150 to 200$ an hour.. How many hours of work have you budgeted? ;)

- An intelligent man is sometimes forced to be drunk to spend time with his fools.
- Please don't PM me for personal help
- if you want to say thanks applaud or https://www.freebsdfoundation.org/donate/
1x SG-2440 2.3.4_p1 (work)
1x SG-4860 2.4.2-RELEASE-p1 (home)

Offline kabal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Setup my pfSense router
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2016, 06:30:28 pm »
You're clearly not within my budget (unless you're really, really good, and fast too ;) ). As for training, I require minimal training (more of a quick explanation).

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9241
  • Karma: +1052/-308
    • View Profile
Re: Setup my pfSense router
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2016, 07:06:29 pm »
You listed like 7 different major subsystems.

Your best bang for your buck is probably to buy gold and watch the hangouts/reference the book. Pretty sure all of those subjects have been covered.
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM

Offline kabal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Setup my pfSense router
« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2016, 08:16:51 pm »
Thanks for all the interest!

I do not have the time to do this myself, hence the post (spent 15+ hours plus getting to half-decent operation). If you are on these forums, and are bidding my freelancer job, please let me know you're a pfsense expert off this forum, so I can award the job appropriately; I would prefer to award to someone who frequents these forums (Gold members and Hangouts lurkers and such).

Thanks again,
Dave

Offline Taiidan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: +3/-5
    • View Profile
Re: Setup my pfSense router
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2016, 04:37:00 am »
You're clearly not within my budget (unless you're really, really good, and fast too ;) ). As for training, I require minimal training (more of a quick explanation).
You get what you pay for, that is the regular consultant rate for a network plumber who knows what they are doing.

Someone who is willing do this for less than $150/hr (unless you are a hot girl or an acquaintance) is probably going to end up costing you more money in time and frustration.

Learn and DIY vs hire someone - It depends what your time is worth to you.

Offline jahonix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2444
  • Karma: +146/-14
  • volunteer since 2006
    • View Profile
Re: Setup my pfSense router
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2016, 05:30:34 am »
Maybe it helps if you specify your location or time zone at least.

5) Port forwarding for specific devices that seem to require it (VoIP, door locks, etc.)

There's more to this than your router!
Depending on the gear you already have in place you will want to use a managed switch to separate devices into subnets maybe for VoIP and, surely, for IoT devices like door locks. And now we are at network design, not only router config. That's only icing of the cake.

edit: subnetting IoT devices  https://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?topic=123152.0


And no, I'm not applying. Neither do I have the time to nor do I have enough knowledge about IPv6 to complete your job successfully and in time.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2016, 05:34:09 am by jahonix »
Chris

The issue with IPv6 jokes is that almost no one understands them and no one is using them yet.

Offline kabal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Setup my pfSense router
« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2016, 10:57:13 am »
Maybe it helps if you specify your location or time zone at least.

Not sure why, but Boulder, CO (MST)

Offline jahonix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2444
  • Karma: +146/-14
  • volunteer since 2006
    • View Profile
Re: Setup my pfSense router
« Reply #8 on: December 28, 2016, 11:15:07 am »
There are users in this forum from places on earth who sleep while you're awake, maybe?
For a project like this personel communication is mandatory.
Chris

The issue with IPv6 jokes is that almost no one understands them and no one is using them yet.