Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: Virtual Interfaces  (Read 588 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline LIDHosting

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual Interfaces
« Reply #15 on: November 01, 2017, 06:27:14 am »
Put something other than /32 on the OPT1 interface. There is no reason to run a DHCP server on a /32 interface. Try /24.


Thank you for you time and your help..
So here's where I'm at now..  I change the interface to /24 like you said . It shows up now. I enable it great. Now the DCHP is not assign out the ips. but I read where I need to create rules for these two VLANs .

What rules need to be placed.  someone said copy the lan rule. i did but it dont allow paste to the Vlans

also when I type in the vlans ip that I gave  it comes up to log in the Pfsense. ....


Thanks so much almost there. Also when I connect to the AP it trys but says no internet connection...
« Last Edit: November 01, 2017, 07:26:43 am by SweetElite »

Offline gjaltemba

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 330
  • Karma: +24/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual Interfaces
« Reply #16 on: November 01, 2017, 08:35:53 am »
I believe that you may be barking up the wrong tree. Put a packet capture and see if there is any traffic.

What did you do to configure your vlan on AP and switch?
How did you verify that these are woking?

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9205
  • Karma: +1046/-308
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual Interfaces
« Reply #17 on: November 01, 2017, 10:05:03 am »
You will get DHCP with zero rules on the interface but will not be able to pass any traffic. If the DHCP server is enabled and you are not getting assigned addresses, check that all your VLAN tagging, etc is correct at layer 2.
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM

Offline LIDHosting

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual Interfaces
« Reply #18 on: November 07, 2017, 03:31:42 pm »
I am not familiar with DD-Wrt but you need to make sure it is VLAN capable...do some research on this.

Assuming you have a VLAN capable AP, you need to follow these steps:

1) Go to "Interfaces -> Assignment -> VLANs -> "Add button", pick the parent(aka Trunk) interface(your LAN interface), give your VLANs Tags...say VLAN 10, VLAN 20, VLAN 30, etc...put descriptions for each VLAN.
2) Go to "Interfaces -> Assignment -> Interface Assignments...you should now see "Add" buttons for each VLAN created. Add each VLAN...
3) Go to "Interfaces -> you should see each new interface in drop-down...configure each VLAN with new IP
4) Go to "Services -> DHCP Server"...enable each VLAN with a new IP and range...assuming you want each VLAN to be configured similarly to LAN
5) Treat each VLAN like a seperate interface i.e. add rules to each VLAN interface, fixed leases, possible aliases, etc...

Those VLAN Tag# you gave in step 1 are added to your VLAN capable AP so they can direct the traffic accordingly.

I haven't dome BW mangement in pfSense but I believe this is relatively easy. I would suggest you setup the seperate interfaces first then dive into BW management.

I hope that helps and good luck...not too hard.

V

(Updated with edits)


Thanks do I also have to make VLands in the Ap too Im  using the UNIFI pro also now..

Offline V3lcr0

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Virtual Interfaces
« Reply #19 on: November 08, 2017, 10:30:51 am »
Thats the $h1++y thing about Unifi AP...in order to configure the VLANs in a Unifi AP you need to use a computer. You can't setup VLANs using the App(at least IOS).

Here is a post on how to set it up:
https://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?topic=137134.msg750913#msg750913

Hang in there!!