Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: How to use an external access point with 2.3.5  (Read 197 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline kcallis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
How to use an external access point with 2.3.5
« on: November 06, 2017, 03:25:19 pm »
I am connected to a DSL connection out in the wilderness. I am using a netgate APU which of course has 3 NICs with the DSL modem connected to the WAN port. All of my devices are wireless, and prior to using the Netgate APU, I was using a Netgear R7000 (running Tomato) for the two wireless devices and using wireless for everything else. I would like to plug my R7000 into the APU and make use of the ports and definitely the wireless portion and have pfsense manage accordingly.

I know that I can setup a wired VLAN on the R7000 and then plug into the LAN port on the APU. But I am lost on how to use the wireless portion. So how is the correct way to setup pfsense so that it will utilize the R7000 at my LAN with it assigning DHCP address, QOS, etc? Any pointers would greatly appreciated!

*** I was reading the pfsense book and thought I had some clarity. I disable the DHCP server under tomato, and plugged into the LAN port. Now I am confused on what I need to change on the tomato?
« Last Edit: November 06, 2017, 04:59:07 pm by kcallis »

Offline jahonix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2444
  • Karma: +146/-14
  • volunteer since 2006
    • View Profile
Re: How to use an external access point with 2.3.5
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2017, 05:56:29 pm »
I disable the DHCP server under tomato, and plugged into the LAN port. Now I am confused on what I need to change on the tomato?
Where's your problem, what exactly isn't working?
Disabling DHCP and plugging into Lan seems correct. What did you plug into "Lan", where from? Does a PC/laptop get a DHCP lease from that ... cable?
Chris

The issue with IPv6 jokes is that almost no one understands them and no one is using them yet.

Online johnpoz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14479
  • Karma: +1342/-200
  • Not a pfSense employee, they cannot fire me...
    • View Profile
Re: How to use an external access point with 2.3.5
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2017, 03:32:47 am »
You would need to change nothing on the tomato, other than you should set its lan IP to be on whatever network you plug it into..

If your going to be using vlans, vs native untagged network on the lan side of your wifi router (ap) then you would have to setup that in tomato as well... But if not using vlans with tags.. Then just plug it into interface on pfsense and your done.. It does come in handy to set the tomato lan IP and gateway to work with your network your plugging it into..

Then connect to that tomato IP and setup your wifi.
- An intelligent man is sometimes forced to be drunk to spend time with his fools.
- Please don't PM me for personal help
- if you want to say thanks applaud or https://www.freebsdfoundation.org/donate/
1x SG-2440 2.3.4_p1 (work)
1x SG-4860 2.4.2-RELEASE-p1 (home)