Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: sendmsg: No route to host  (Read 464 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bimmerdriver

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 507
  • Karma: +19/-3
    • View Profile
sendmsg: No route to host
« on: November 11, 2017, 09:13:32 pm »
I'm running the latest snapshot: 2.4.2.a.20171110.1936

It's running on a hyper-v and it was working before this update. There is one windows 10 client, also virtual. ipv4 is working, but not ipv6. Both ipv6-test.com and test-ipv6.com are reporting that ipv6 is not working, as well as the adapter status on the client. The client has ipv4 and ipv6 addresses. Everything looks normal, except the routing log is filled with messages such as the following:

Code: [Select]
Nov 11 18:58:07 radvd 42580 sendmsg: No route to host
Nov 11 18:58:18 radvd 42580 sendmsg: No route to host
Nov 11 18:58:29 radvd 42580 sendmsg: No route to host
Nov 11 18:58:38 radvd 42580 sendmsg: No route to host
Nov 11 18:58:43 radvd 42580 sendmsg: No route to host
Nov 11 18:58:49 radvd 42580 sendmsg: No route to host
Nov 11 18:59:08 radvd 42580 sendmsg: No route to host
Nov 11 18:59:23 radvd 42580 sendmsg: No route to host

Anyone else experiencing this? Any suggestions to locate the problem?

Offline maverick_slo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
  • Karma: +37/-2
    • View Profile
Re: sendmsg: No route to host
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2017, 01:08:42 am »

Offline maverick_slo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
  • Karma: +37/-2
    • View Profile
Re: sendmsg: No route to host
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2017, 01:35:06 am »
Hmmm, but my ipv6 is working just fine
static ones and slaac androids as well...

Offline bimmerdriver

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 507
  • Karma: +19/-3
    • View Profile
Re: sendmsg: No route to host
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2017, 10:37:49 am »
I'm still getting the same RADVD messages in the log.
« Last Edit: November 12, 2017, 10:47:03 am by bimmerdriver »

Offline maverick_slo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
  • Karma: +37/-2
    • View Profile
Re: sendmsg: No route to host
« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2017, 10:55:28 am »
And your ipv6 is dead?
I too have log entries but my ipv6 is ok.

Offline bimmerdriver

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 507
  • Karma: +19/-3
    • View Profile
Re: sendmsg: No route to host
« Reply #5 on: November 12, 2017, 11:28:00 am »
It's dead. nslookup will return ipv4 and ipv6 addresses, but can only ping ipv4 addresses. ipv6-test.com and test-ipv6.com both report no ipv6.

Aside from the above, and the radvd messages in the log, everything looks normal.

Offline maverick_slo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
  • Karma: +37/-2
    • View Profile
Re: sendmsg: No route to host
« Reply #6 on: November 12, 2017, 11:42:45 am »
Huh thats weird.
I have same messages but ipv6 is ok.
I have pppoe dhcpv6 isp config...

Offline bimmerdriver

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 507
  • Karma: +19/-3
    • View Profile
Re: sendmsg: No route to host
« Reply #7 on: November 12, 2017, 02:04:33 pm »
My ISP does not use PPPoE, but rather RFC 1483 via DHCP. Both gateways are up, DHCPv4 and DHCPv6 are up. I have a separate pfsense 2.3.4 system that is working fine. This ipv6 problem seems to be within the latest snapshots of pfsense 2.4.2.

Offline bimmerdriver

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 507
  • Karma: +19/-3
    • View Profile

Offline bimmerdriver

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 507
  • Karma: +19/-3
    • View Profile
Re: sendmsg: No route to host
« Reply #9 on: November 12, 2017, 09:14:25 pm »
This seems to be a likely culprit: https://redmine.pfsense.org/issues/8022#note-15

Offline loos

  • Global Moderator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
Re: sendmsg: No route to host
« Reply #10 on: November 13, 2017, 08:49:59 am »
Fixed.

The build is still running, please wait until the next snapshot to check.

Thanks for reporting.

Offline bimmerdriver

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 507
  • Karma: +19/-3
    • View Profile
Re: sendmsg: No route to host
« Reply #11 on: November 13, 2017, 10:36:54 am »
Fixed.

The build is still running, please wait until the next snapshot to check.

Thanks for reporting.
Updated, looks good.

Offline maverick_slo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
  • Karma: +37/-2
    • View Profile
Re: sendmsg: No route to host
« Reply #12 on: November 13, 2017, 12:38:47 pm »
+1
But strange that I had no issues...

Offline bimmerdriver

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 507
  • Karma: +19/-3
    • View Profile
Re: sendmsg: No route to host
« Reply #13 on: November 13, 2017, 05:50:20 pm »
+1
But strange that I had no issues...
Maybe if the log messages weren't so vague, it would shed light on why the effects of this problem were different for different users.