Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: Installation: Unable to browse the Login Page  (Read 747 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline luke1018

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Installation: Unable to browse the Login Page
« Reply #15 on: November 19, 2017, 09:58:52 pm »
Dear all, and I am keep getting this error when I try to load the page.

Offline kejianshi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4995
  • Karma: +199/-43
  • Debugging...
    • View Profile
Re: Installation: Unable to browse the Login Page
« Reply #16 on: November 19, 2017, 10:59:15 pm »
Go to your console for pfsense.
Open a shell.
Type pfctl -d
Type the ip for the wan interface in your browser.
Configure your pfsense

Offline luke1018

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Installation: Unable to browse the Login Page
« Reply #17 on: November 20, 2017, 09:14:09 pm »
Go to your console for pfsense.
Open a shell.
Type pfctl -d
Type the ip for the wan interface in your browser.
Configure your pfsense

Hi Kejianshi, thanks for your reply. But when i typed in the command, it shows me pf: Command not found.

What should I do with it?

Offline kejianshi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4995
  • Karma: +199/-43
  • Debugging...
    • View Profile
Re: Installation: Unable to browse the Login Page
« Reply #18 on: November 20, 2017, 10:03:43 pm »
When pfsense boots, it shows you a list of choices.  Select the number for "shell". 

Once it is in the shell, type pfctl -d and hit enter.

If this isn't working, you are doing something very wrong.

Offline luke1018

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Installation: Unable to browse the Login Page
« Reply #19 on: November 21, 2017, 02:34:14 am »
When pfsense boots, it shows you a list of choices.  Select the number for "shell". 

Once it is in the shell, type pfctl -d and hit enter.

If this isn't working, you are doing something very wrong.


Ya its not working ..... any idea why? Is there anyway to do a repair?
« Last Edit: November 21, 2017, 02:41:50 am by luke1018 »

Offline kejianshi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4995
  • Karma: +199/-43
  • Debugging...
    • View Profile
Re: Installation: Unable to browse the Login Page
« Reply #20 on: November 21, 2017, 03:37:30 am »
I'd reinstall and try again.

Offline luke1018

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Installation: Unable to browse the Login Page
« Reply #21 on: November 21, 2017, 08:31:29 pm »
I'd reinstall and try again.

I have tried twice. but still the same.

On the very first time, I am able to open it using Ubuntu vmware. But later I tried to configure to use my windows to browse the page, then all the configurations not working.

Not sure which part of the setting up or configuration not working well. Please advise.

Offline kejianshi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4995
  • Karma: +199/-43
  • Debugging...
    • View Profile
Re: Installation: Unable to browse the Login Page
« Reply #22 on: November 21, 2017, 08:36:29 pm »
Are you using the wan or address?  is this a physical machine or a virtual machine? Is there another router involved?

Offline luke1018

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Installation: Unable to browse the Login Page
« Reply #23 on: November 22, 2017, 12:37:06 am »
Are you using the wan or address?  is this a physical machine or a virtual machine? Is there another router involved?

I am using address. Its a virtual machine, no other router involve, only using local machine.

Offline luke1018

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Installation: Unable to browse the Login Page
« Reply #24 on: November 22, 2017, 12:46:18 am »
By the way, any configuration i need to do in order for my local browser can access the PFsense admin page?

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9823
  • Karma: +1111/-311
    • View Profile
Re: Installation: Unable to browse the Login Page
« Reply #25 on: November 22, 2017, 03:12:40 am »
No. You just need to be able to connect to the IP address of an interface that is passed by firewall rules. Normally this is LAN. You have received two suggstions above that will enable access on WAN (pfctl -d, and playback enableallowallwan.)

It is not pfSense. It is your virtual environment and how you have things structured.
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM

Offline kejianshi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4995
  • Karma: +199/-43
  • Debugging...
    • View Profile
Re: Installation: Unable to browse the Login Page
« Reply #26 on: November 22, 2017, 03:46:28 am »
I bet neither of the interfaces is bridged.  Probably the wan should be bridged, not nat and not internal. 

And since the WAN IP will be private, be sure to uncheck the "plock private" on interfaces for wan.

Keep banging away.  You will get it.

Offline luke1018

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Installation: Unable to browse the Login Page
« Reply #27 on: November 23, 2017, 12:35:50 am »
Yes !! thanks all ... I manage to change the LAN IP to get it work! Thanks

Offline kejianshi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4995
  • Karma: +199/-43
  • Debugging...
    • View Profile
Re: Installation: Unable to browse the Login Page
« Reply #28 on: November 23, 2017, 12:51:02 am »
Great - Write it all down so you don't forget what you did. 

Offline luke1018

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Installation: Unable to browse the Login Page
« Reply #29 on: February 06, 2018, 02:34:52 am »
Well, I was just wondering if this guy was using something free and simple like vmplayer, which can make reaching your LAN address a pain.

hi yes, I am using VMPlayer. Will this caused any issue? Or limitations on what I can monitor?

In that case, what would you recommend me to use?