Netgate Store

Author Topic: DHCP Service does not show on VLAN Interface  (Read 467 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ottawa_it

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
DHCP Service does not show on VLAN Interface
« on: December 03, 2017, 12:19:22 pm »
Hi Folks,

I have a PFSense box running on a laptop with one interface. I've setup VLANs for connecting to the internet and VoIP networks etc.

I see and have configure the DHPC service on the main interface but I don't see any extra tabs in the DHCP service for the VLAN interfaces.

The main interface is em0 which has a tab in the DHCP service and works as expected but I don't see any tabs for em0.3 or em0.10 even though I assigned a static IP to these interfaces.

Any help would be appreciated.

Cheers,

Offline jahonix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2678
  • Karma: +162/-28
  • volunteer since 2006
    • View Profile
Re: DHCP Service does not show on VLAN Interface
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2017, 05:24:45 pm »
You have to enable the interface before you can enable a DHCP server for it.
Unfortunately you can assign a static IP to the IF without having to enable it prior.
Chris


Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10579
  • Karma: +1209/-324
    • View Profile
Re: DHCP Service does not show on VLAN Interface
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2017, 06:24:28 pm »
Check the netmask on the interfaces themselves. You probably want /24 there not /32.
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM

Offline jahonix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2678
  • Karma: +162/-28
  • volunteer since 2006
    • View Profile
Re: DHCP Service does not show on VLAN Interface
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2017, 04:24:33 am »
If an interface has too small a netmask to be used with DHCP service is it disabled automatically then (or even unavailable)?
Chris


Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10579
  • Karma: +1209/-324
    • View Profile
Re: DHCP Service does not show on VLAN Interface
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2017, 10:01:06 am »
Yes.
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM

Offline ottawa_it

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: DHCP Service does not show on VLAN Interface
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2017, 08:41:44 pm »
Thanks for all your suggestions. The problem was when I assigned the IP the default netmask was set to 32 which I did not notice. I've updated the netmask to 24 which has solved the issue.

Thanks again everyone for your help :).