The pfSense Store

Author Topic: DHCP Service does not show on VLAN Interface  (Read 184 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ottawa_it

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
DHCP Service does not show on VLAN Interface
« on: December 03, 2017, 12:19:22 pm »
Hi Folks,

I have a PFSense box running on a laptop with one interface. I've setup VLANs for connecting to the internet and VoIP networks etc.

I see and have configure the DHPC service on the main interface but I don't see any extra tabs in the DHCP service for the VLAN interfaces.

The main interface is em0 which has a tab in the DHCP service and works as expected but I don't see any tabs for em0.3 or em0.10 even though I assigned a static IP to these interfaces.

Any help would be appreciated.

Cheers,

Offline jahonix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2437
  • Karma: +146/-14
  • volunteer since 2006
    • View Profile
Re: DHCP Service does not show on VLAN Interface
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2017, 05:24:45 pm »
You have to enable the interface before you can enable a DHCP server for it.
Unfortunately you can assign a static IP to the IF without having to enable it prior.
Chris

The issue with IPv6 jokes is that almost no one understands them and no one is using them yet.

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9221
  • Karma: +1048/-308
    • View Profile
Re: DHCP Service does not show on VLAN Interface
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2017, 06:24:28 pm »
Check the netmask on the interfaces themselves. You probably want /24 there not /32.
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM

Offline jahonix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2437
  • Karma: +146/-14
  • volunteer since 2006
    • View Profile
Re: DHCP Service does not show on VLAN Interface
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2017, 04:24:33 am »
If an interface has too small a netmask to be used with DHCP service is it disabled automatically then (or even unavailable)?
Chris

The issue with IPv6 jokes is that almost no one understands them and no one is using them yet.

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9221
  • Karma: +1048/-308
    • View Profile
Re: DHCP Service does not show on VLAN Interface
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2017, 10:01:06 am »
Yes.
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM

Offline ottawa_it

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: DHCP Service does not show on VLAN Interface
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2017, 08:41:44 pm »
Thanks for all your suggestions. The problem was when I assigned the IP the default netmask was set to 32 which I did not notice. I've updated the netmask to 24 which has solved the issue.

Thanks again everyone for your help :).