pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: No active remote repositories configured.  (Read 175 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline adriano.ciampoli

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
No active remote repositories configured.
« on: December 09, 2017, 09:47:10 pm »
Hello I'm on 2.4.1-RELEASE, this install was fresh install that I restored a working config on.
Today i was going t install a new package but when i go to System / Package Manager / Available Packages all I see is There are no packages available.

Opened  command line and ran "pkg update" and I get "No active remote repositories configured."

I read a few post about checking my DNS, my DNS are configured under System / General Setup / DNS servers and WAN PPPOE as the gateway.

Everything looks good to me, what could be the issue?

Thank you.

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21486
  • Karma: +1456/-26
    • View Profile
Re: No active remote repositories configured.
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2017, 01:04:01 pm »
First, go to System > Update, Update Settings tab and select a branch there and save. The Stable branch is the one you want. If that doesn't let it check, select the 2.4.3 snapshot development branch and then switch back to the stable branch.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline adriano.ciampoli

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: No active remote repositories configured.
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2017, 02:00:57 pm »
Hi sir, unfortunately here is what i get


Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21486
  • Karma: +1456/-26
    • View Profile
Re: No active remote repositories configured.
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2017, 02:58:03 pm »
Quite strange. That suggests that your entire repository configuration is missing. The easiest way to recover is likely going to be a quick reinstall and recovery as outlined here: https://doc.pfsense.org/index.php/Automatically_Restore_During_Install#Recover_config.xml

Repairing it manually is possible but there is no telling what else is wrong beyond that one problem, a reinstall is quicker and safer in the long run.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline adriano.ciampoli

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: No active remote repositories configured.
« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2017, 09:30:59 pm »
Re-installing and restoring my configuration worked and now I can see packages, thank you.