Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: RAM disk config  (Read 243 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ARAMP1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
RAM disk config
« on: December 17, 2017, 03:10:03 pm »
I need some opinions... 

I have a 256Gb SSD and 16Gb of RAM.  I've have a 4Gb RAM disk setup that I'm using for Squid cache and it's getting maxed out very quickly to the point that I'm having to go in and clear cache.  I've set up periodic RAM disk backups to 6. 

What can I do to optimize my RAM disk seupt?

Offline Gertjan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2279
  • Karma: +173/-9
    • View Profile
Re: RAM disk config
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2017, 02:04:54 am »
Remove squid ?

Offline Cybermaze

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RAM disk config
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2017, 02:34:56 pm »
Maybe you could tell us what you are trying to achieve?

Offline ARAMP1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RAM disk config
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2017, 05:32:17 pm »
Maybe you could tell us what you are trying to achieve?
Is there a way to move the data from the RAM disk to the SSD?  That way, the RAM disk doesn't completely fill up so quickly?

Offline Gertjan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2279
  • Karma: +173/-9
    • View Profile
Re: RAM disk config
« Reply #4 on: December 21, 2017, 03:49:36 am »
When I said this :
Remove squid ?
I was close (half way) a possible answer.

I saw this when installing :
Code: [Select]
       Note:
       You must initialize new cache directories before you can start
       squid.  Do this by running "squid -z" as 'root' or 'squid'.
       If your cache directories are already initialized (e.g. after an
       upgrade of squid) you do not need to initialize them again.
... but running "squid -z" as 'root' didn't not ask any questions about "where to cache". Login ("su - squid" was not possible).

Although I found in MENU =>  Package => Proxy Server =>  Cache Management => Local Cache => Hard Disk Cache Location, set by default to /var/squid/cache - isn't this what you are looking for ?



Offline Cybermaze

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RAM disk config
« Reply #5 on: December 22, 2017, 09:36:44 am »
Yeah, you need to change the standard location for the hard disk cache, since you have placed /var in your ramdisk.