Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: Squid Cache Throttling QOS  (Read 214 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dataspeed

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Squid Cache Throttling QOS
« on: December 20, 2017, 02:33:07 pm »
I set up Squid Cache on our pf Sense
We get 150 Mbps from our ISP
When squid cache is enabled, and someone tries a file that was previously cached, it is limited to 150 Mbps
If I am not mistaken, we should be able to reach gigabit speeds while pulling from cache
Does anyone  have solution?

Offline KOM

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5827
  • Karma: +710/-23
    • View Profile
Re: Squid Cache Throttling QOS
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2017, 03:49:18 pm »
Are you shaping on LAN or WAN?

Offline dataspeed

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Squid Cache Throttling QOS
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2017, 10:07:34 am »
Shaping LAN

Offline KOM

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5827
  • Karma: +710/-23
    • View Profile
Re: Squid Cache Throttling QOS
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2017, 10:24:39 am »
Don't.  Do your shaping on WAN and you won't have this issue.

Offline dataspeed

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Squid Cache Throttling QOS
« Reply #4 on: December 21, 2017, 11:05:50 am »
We are actually shaping both. If I disable LAN, wouldn't it bog down my network if a few people are downloading at once?

Offline KOM

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5827
  • Karma: +710/-23
    • View Profile
Re: Squid Cache Throttling QOS
« Reply #5 on: December 21, 2017, 11:46:16 am »
Your LAN has a lot more bandwidth than your WAN usually.  I'm not a QoS expert but I think shaping on LAN is only useful if you have multiple LANs and you're trying to control the traffic between them.