The pfSense Store

Author Topic: Packet loss on RCC-VE 2440 after move and reflash?  (Read 266 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mwp821

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
Packet loss on RCC-VE 2440 after move and reflash?
« on: December 25, 2017, 02:43:43 pm »
Hi folks,

I have a RCC-VE 2440 that's been quietly humming along running pfSense for a couple years now. We recently moved and I decided to reflash pfSense and start our new home network fresh. I also applied the CoreBoot upgrade (through packages).

Unfortunately, I started experiencing some packet loss around the same time that essentially renders the internet unusable. Even when I ping the unit from the switch it's attached to (see the attached picture). I'm not sure if something got jostled during the move, or if the CoreBoot upgrade changed something, or what. I've tried two different switches and two different network cables.

Any suggestions? I might try seeing if the problem persists after a factory reset.

Mike

EDIT: I had been running pfSense 2.3 and I flashed 2.4, so that might have something to do with it as well.
« Last Edit: December 26, 2017, 02:38:23 am by mwp821 »

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9603
  • Karma: +1090/-309
    • View Profile
Re: Packet loss on RCC-VE 2440 after move and reflash?
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2017, 04:57:10 am »
Probably not pfSense. Look at your layer 2. Packet capture on pfSense and run the same thing. Are the packets arriving?

Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM

Offline johnkeates

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 752
  • Karma: +58/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Packet loss on RCC-VE 2440 after move and reflash?
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2017, 10:24:37 am »
Shouldn't this be in "Official Hardware" ?

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9603
  • Karma: +1090/-309
    • View Profile
Re: Packet loss on RCC-VE 2440 after move and reflash?
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2017, 10:47:19 am »
Probably nothing hardware-specific there.
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM

Offline johnkeates

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 752
  • Karma: +58/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Packet loss on RCC-VE 2440 after move and reflash?
« Reply #4 on: December 26, 2017, 10:47:55 am »
Probably nothing hardware-specific there.

Well, then it shouldn't be in any hardware at all  :P

Offline mwp821

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Packet loss on RCC-VE 2440 after move and reflash?
« Reply #5 on: December 26, 2017, 10:56:34 am »
Probably not pfSense. Look at your layer 2. Packet capture on pfSense and run the same thing. Are the packets arriving?

Okay, I'll give that a try.

Shouldn't this be in "Official Hardware" ?

It's an RCC-VE 2440, not an SG-2440. ;D

Probably nothing hardware-specific there.

I hope this is the case but no other device on my network is experiencing packet loss.

Offline johnkeates

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 752
  • Karma: +58/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Packet loss on RCC-VE 2440 after move and reflash?
« Reply #6 on: December 26, 2017, 11:08:00 am »
Quick check: it did work fine before, didn't it? Should be a firmware/software configuration issue I suspect.

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9603
  • Karma: +1090/-309
    • View Profile
Re: Packet loss on RCC-VE 2440 after move and reflash?
« Reply #7 on: December 26, 2017, 11:19:00 am »
My first guess would be an address conflict with 192.168.1.1 that didn't exist before.
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM

Offline mwp821

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Packet loss on RCC-VE 2440 after move and reflash?
« Reply #8 on: January 12, 2018, 11:27:30 am »
Well this is a long and stupid story but to the best of my understanding the root evil was my new TP-Link AP (AP500). It's noisy and terrible and was causing issues even between wired devices. Changing the wireless settings from Multi-SSID mode to simple AP mode (or disconnecting it entirely) would completely solve the packet loss and latency issues. I should have mentioned that I got a new AP in my original post and didn't, so that's my bad.

I tried working with TP-Link support to resolve this issue. I also read up on all the issues with TP-Link hardware that people have reported (on this forum and TP-Link's own forum) over the past few years. It would have been smart to do this research before I spent ~$400 on TP-Link smart switches and the AP. ::)

Ultimately, I decided to rip out the AP and replace it with a UniFi AP (AC Pro). It's amazingly awesome—and $10 cheaper than the AP500, so go figure. I have some UniFi switches coming as well. My biggest complaint so far is that nobody seems to keep the 16-port, 150W switch in stock, so I had to pony up some big boy money for the 24-port, 250W model. I've got the controller running on an rpi2 and everything works great!

EDIT: To give some idea of what I was seeing, I had a wireless client on a SSID assigned to VLAN10, pinging the VLAN10 interface on the 2440. Packet captures in pfSense showed ICMP packets hitting the VLAN interface and its parent interface with partial overlap. It was completely bizarre.
« Last Edit: January 12, 2018, 11:40:30 am by mwp821 »

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9603
  • Karma: +1090/-309
    • View Profile
Re: Packet loss on RCC-VE 2440 after move and reflash?
« Reply #9 on: January 12, 2018, 01:12:23 pm »
Sounds like typical TP-Link VLAN behavior.

Garbage brand.

Glad you got it figured out.
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM

Offline johnkeates

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 752
  • Karma: +58/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Packet loss on RCC-VE 2440 after move and reflash?
« Reply #10 on: January 14, 2018, 08:10:18 am »
Sounds like they messed up VLAN behaviour for the multi-SSID part. On top of that, they probably couldn't do this in the ASIC or accelerator, so as soon as you use those (rather common) functions to spit 802.11 traffic into 802.1q VLANs the bad performance of the (supposed) MIPS device shows. I suspect that if you use no VLAN (or default 1) and no multi-SSID it all works fine because the switch is in hardware forwarding mode.