pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: Captive Portal acting weird in 2.4(2.4.2-RELEASE-p1)  (Read 526 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline aleksasiriski

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Captive Portal acting weird in 2.4(2.4.2-RELEASE-p1)
« on: December 27, 2017, 02:52:21 pm »
I noticed after upgrading from 2.3.4 to 2.4 that whenever I change any of the settings on the Captive Portal settings page I get locked out of my router, and don't even have access to the internet. If I ping my router(192.168.1.1) I get no respond. Only fix would be to reboot the pfSense box... I cannot find any similar issues to this one, so I'm asking for a fix. I even reinstalled the whole OS but it's got the same issue... Shouldn't be hardware related? Thanks in advance.

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9606
  • Karma: +1090/-309
    • View Profile
Re: Captive Portal acting weird in 2.4(2.4.2-RELEASE-p1)
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2017, 03:56:20 pm »
Are you making said changes from an interface that is served by the captive portal?

What sort of change are you making?

You are going to have to provide far more details if you actually want a bug report to be opened that has a prayer of getting worked.
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM

Offline aleksasiriski

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Captive Portal acting weird in 2.4(2.4.2-RELEASE-p1)
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2017, 05:49:28 pm »
Changing any of the options given on the pfSense control panel under Services > Captive Portal tab. When I change anything and want to apply those changes, by pressing the Save button, the page stars reloading and never finishes. After that, I cannot access the pfSense control panel, nor ping the router. I also lose the internet connection, so the only fix that I found to work was to restart the pfSense machine. Then everything starts working as usual. The settings made in the Captive Portal tab are saved, but if I try to change them again I am met with the same issue. I tried different settings, freeradius ones, https and all get me the same problem. What else information could I get you?

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9606
  • Karma: +1090/-309
    • View Profile
Re: Captive Portal acting weird in 2.4(2.4.2-RELEASE-p1)
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2017, 07:41:08 pm »
Not sure what to tell you. Working here - and apparently everywhere else.

So it's something peculiar to your environment.

You'll have to cut loose with network topology, screen shots, etc.

A specific set of steps to duplicate, starting from a fresh 2.4.2_1 installation would help too.
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM

Offline aleksasiriski

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Captive Portal acting weird in 2.4(2.4.2-RELEASE-p1)
« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2017, 07:56:50 pm »
Hello, thanks for the quick respond. This is a fresh latest pfSense installed, about 6h ago. For all that other information I need to give, could I get an email or some other form of communication, these posts here are hard to manage and may get some of my private info exposed?

Offline mikeisfly

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 491
  • Karma: +11/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Captive Portal acting weird in 2.4(2.4.2-RELEASE-p1)
« Reply #5 on: December 27, 2017, 10:52:32 pm »
With no information given at all like:
What are the interfaces that you have, IP ranges, VLAN information, network diagram (with sensitive information redacted), chipset for NICs, OS used to access firewall or captive portal, Switch setup .....

I will take a WAG (Wild ASS Guess)

Do you have both tagged and untagged traffic on the same interface? I know in previous versions of PfSense, Captive Portal would not just work on the VLAN it was supposed to but effect the parent interfaces as well.

see https://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?topic=65176.msg355224#msg355224

But this is a guess, and this problem may not even exist anymore.

Offline Gertjan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2311
  • Karma: +177/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Captive Portal acting weird in 2.4(2.4.2-RELEASE-p1)
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2017, 03:12:39 am »
This is a fresh latest pfSense installed, about 6h ago. For all that other information I need to give, could I get an email or some other form of communication, these posts here are hard to manage and may get some of my private info exposed?
pfSense installations can contain information that is considered private, like your login password, maybe some certificate details or even your email.
Nothing else.

Posts on the forum can be edited afterwards, with the edit button.

Real private support is here : https://www.netgate.com/support/

A typical bare-bone captive portal setup from scratch can be activated in less then 2 minutes :
If you are running the captive portal on an OPT1 interface (this is where it belongs) : activate it, assign it an IP like 192.168.2.1 (LAN bieng 192.168.1.1/24) - setup a DHCP pool on this interface.
Add a user the the local user manager, give it "access to portal services" only rights.
Add a  "pass all (ICMP/UDP/TCP/IPv4 firewall rule" on the OPT1 interface
Activate the captive portal on the OPT1 interface, selecting "  Authentication Method == Local User Manager / Vouchers" and .... Done.

If you are activating it on the LAN interface (can also work) :
No need to setup DHCP, it's already done.
Check firewall rules for this interface, if you didn't change anything upfront, it's already ok.
Add a user as usual.
Activate the captive portal on the LAN interface, selecting "  Authentication Method == Local User Manager / Vouchers" and .... Done.

All we want to know is : what did you do after installation of pfSense ? What didn't you do ? What is your network setup ? Etc.
Please understand that we need this description so we can figure out what is wrong.




Offline aleksasiriski

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Captive Portal acting weird in 2.4(2.4.2-RELEASE-p1)
« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2017, 03:22:01 am »
There's no specific config, as I reinstalled the OS I didn't change any settings from the default, just a bit so my internet works, and tried Captive Portal immediately to se if it's fixed. It was not. I'm going to test in a VM rn, will let you know how it goes and then I'll take some screenshots.

Offline aleksasiriski

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Captive Portal acting weird in 2.4(2.4.2-RELEASE-p1)
« Reply #8 on: December 28, 2017, 03:34:46 am »
There, I installed the latest pfSense from the website in a VM and got the same issue, will take some evidence now. *It's the bare bones default config as it can be that's used

Offline aleksasiriski

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Captive Portal acting weird in 2.4(2.4.2-RELEASE-p1)
« Reply #9 on: December 28, 2017, 03:50:02 am »
In the last picture, it just locks me of accessing the WebUI and blocks my internet, I must restart the pfSense box to make it work again, and all I did was enable CP and pressed on "Save" button. That happens with changing ANY of the settings in that CP zone...

Offline aleksasiriski

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Captive Portal acting weird in 2.4(2.4.2-RELEASE-p1)
« Reply #10 on: December 28, 2017, 04:09:46 am »
Just tested the SAME config on 2.3.5 RELEASE and CP works normally, I can change settings and save, nothing breaks... I'll probably do another reinstall of pfsense to 2.3.5 on my machine then.. until this is fixed. Thanks!

Offline Gertjan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2311
  • Karma: +177/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Captive Portal acting weird in 2.4(2.4.2-RELEASE-p1)
« Reply #11 on: December 28, 2017, 06:39:04 am »
Check "Allow users/groups ..."
Set a hard time out - and/or soft time out (didn't know nothing was set on initial setup, although, as stated, one of them need to be set).
Also : Visit your pfSense, and do not used "admin" to login, but the user you created in the local user manager.

Did you saw : (see image) ?

reinstall of pfsense to 2.3.5 on my machine then.. until this is fixed. Thanks!
I'm using the latest version in a professional environment (hotel). Ik rocks. It works just great for me.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2017, 06:46:28 am by Gertjan »

Offline aleksasiriski

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Captive Portal acting weird in 2.4(2.4.2-RELEASE-p1)
« Reply #12 on: December 28, 2017, 07:06:10 am »
Tried what you said, same problem.
I installed pfSense 2.3.5 Release from the website, everything about captive works but, I can't install any packages? They all fail on install...

Offline Gertjan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2311
  • Karma: +177/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Captive Portal acting weird in 2.4(2.4.2-RELEASE-p1)
« Reply #13 on: December 28, 2017, 07:39:23 am »
This
.... I can't install any packages? They all fail on install...
is another subecjet - another forum, but, in a way, good news.
It shows (to me) that something really isn't right - hardware maybe  ?

On what hardware are you installing pfSense ?

Offline aleksasiriski

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Captive Portal acting weird in 2.4(2.4.2-RELEASE-p1)
« Reply #14 on: December 28, 2017, 07:59:46 am »
How isn't hardware right? I use my old pc, but I have the same config in a virtual machine and it all has the same issues, it cam't be hardware related.