Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: Captive Portal acting weird in 2.4(2.4.2-RELEASE-p1)  (Read 525 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline aleksasiriski

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Captive Portal acting weird in 2.4(2.4.2-RELEASE-p1)
« Reply #30 on: December 28, 2017, 03:25:14 pm »
I don't see my problem in this, but as I see that is some guy who changed the works of captive portal on pfsense? How would I apply his patch then? Thanks in advance. If I don't fix this issue soon, because I just noticed that my captive isn't working at all, not redirecting nor blocking anyone on the network who isn't signed in, even if I manually block the MAC, I'll have to make a switch to 2.3.5, again, as I got a reply on the fix that works for my packages not being installed there.

Offline Gertjan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2311
  • Karma: +176/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Captive Portal acting weird in 2.4(2.4.2-RELEASE-p1)
« Reply #31 on: December 29, 2017, 03:43:04 am »
Do not administer captive portal from a device subject to the captive portal. Period.

Please fix that and try again.
True.
From an administration point of view, live would be so easy if the captive portal would refuse to be activated on LAN. Only OPTx should be an option.
On the other hand, many will start to use pfSense with just one ( 1 ! ) NIC, not the 'minimum required' of 2 interfaces (Captive portal : 3).
Better : no dedicated hardware but VM's - and/or VLAN's as a quick solution.

Just for the fun, I activated the captive portal on my LAN this morning.
Added a new zone - gave it a name, filled in and minimum soft- and hard time-out, checked 'local user manager' and "Save".
My current browser session ... timed out, as was stated above, this is actually quiet normal. I launched a second, different navigator (IE8) from the same PC, and found myself facing a login screen, (see image). I had to login to be able to do something, like writing this post.
Thus, I showed myself that the captive portal works well when activated from (my) LAN.
Note : I have just one firewall rule on my LAN, an explicit "pass-all for IPv4/IPv6/etc".

Btw : This https://redmine.pfsense.org/issues/8238 is a very small bug that was surfaced recently - not related right now, as it handles the case of removing a MAC from the captive portal's white-list.
https://github.com/pfsense/pfsense/pull/3640  : a feature request ... not implemented yet.

... not redirecting nor blocking anyone on the network who isn't signed in, even if I manually block the MAC, ...
Blocking manually a MAC ? How did you do that ?

Offline aleksasiriski

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Captive Portal acting weird in 2.4(2.4.2-RELEASE-p1)
« Reply #32 on: December 29, 2017, 05:03:29 am »
You can block internet access for someone under Captive Portal > MACs

Offline Gertjan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2311
  • Karma: +176/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Captive Portal acting weird in 2.4(2.4.2-RELEASE-p1)
« Reply #33 on: December 29, 2017, 08:53:43 am »
You can block internet access for someone under Captive Portal > MACs
You're right !
Never actually saw the Block option. Thanks.

Offline aleksasiriski

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Captive Portal acting weird in 2.4(2.4.2-RELEASE-p1)
« Reply #34 on: December 29, 2017, 10:05:42 am »
You're welcome!
I'll be trying to install pfSense 2.3.5 now, again, as I can install packages without a problem on it now, and I'll try captive portal to see if it works. Will let you know soon! :D

Offline aleksasiriski

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Captive Portal acting weird in 2.4(2.4.2-RELEASE-p1)
« Reply #35 on: December 29, 2017, 03:05:46 pm »
Yep, I installed pfSense 2.3.5 and set everything up, runs flawlessly, thanks for the help everyone, hope my bug is just random and will be automagically fixed in the next update :D