Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: SSH to LAN disconnects  (Read 228 times)

Offline beefer

• View Profile
SSH to LAN disconnects
« on: January 18, 2018, 07:05:24 am »
    Hi,

I'm new to pfsense so forgive me my noobiness. I have two APs that are running hostapd (Lede) with pfsense FreeRadius server. I have 5 vlans configured for different radius users so the APs drop user in proper VLAN. Each AP gets dhcp addresses for LAN and every VLAN it drops clients to (which I figured is ok?). Now whenever I connect to the APs with SSH the connection gets killed after roughly 20-30 seconds. I've seen on serverfault that this is might be caused by 'multi-homed' systems and 'assymetric routing' - being a noob I only figured that having an AP on several vlans might be a 'multi-homed' AP. I have no idea what network mask might have to do with this, but here are my networks:
    • 192.168.2.0/24 - LAN
    • 192.168.3.0/29 - ADMIN
    • 192.168.6.0/24 - home wifi
    • (192.168.7.0 and up to 192.168.9.0/24)

Setting firewall to 'conservative' makes the problem less annoying since the disconnect happens after 15 minutes or so. I could live with that, but I'm hungry for knowledge. Can you please help me diagnose the issue? I'm more interested in getting a fishing line instead of a fish ;)

EDIT: don't know if this is relevant, but the AP is bridging wireless clients to each vlan (and is bridging wifi inerface to lan also). I just wanted the AP to be as dumb as possible, so to control everything centrally from pfsense.

EDIT2: after 15 minutes I can see firewall logs blocking traffic to the AP (192.168.2.9) from ADMIN network (192.168.3.3) - my machine from ADMIN network tries to send tcp ack, but it's rejected by default deny rule ipv4. How come?
« Last Edit: January 18, 2018, 07:43:13 am by beefer »

Offline Harvy66

• View Profile
Re: SSH to LAN disconnects
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2018, 10:45:27 pm »