Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: Link state change with a cable modem  (Read 105 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Andargor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Link state change with a cable modem
« on: January 25, 2018, 09:24:02 am »
My current setup with my ISP is pfSense -> ISP switch -> ISP Cable modem -> offsite.

I'm getting link state changes:

re1: link state changed to DOWN

Is this link to the switch, to the cable modem, or to the upstream? I've swapped out cables and ports on the ISP switch, and wondering if it might be something else.

Online kpa

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1233
  • Karma: +138/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Link state change with a cable modem
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2018, 09:59:49 am »
If there is a switch in between pfSense and modem then the only link state changes pfSense is going to see are the ones with the switch.

Offline Andargor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Link state change with a cable modem
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2018, 10:18:34 am »
If there is a switch in between pfSense and modem then the only link state changes pfSense is going to see are the ones with the switch.

Thanks. Just talked to the ISP, it seems it's actually the gateway router. They are going to replace it.