Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: ERR_EMPTY_RESPONSE admin interface  (Read 121 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tjcooks4829

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
ERR_EMPTY_RESPONSE admin interface
« on: January 26, 2018, 09:58:03 am »
But only on one machine. Any machine on the network can access the admin app, except the one I use all day. Very convenient.

  • Most of the ERR_EMPTY_RESPONSE conversations I see here relate to Squid -- not running Squid
  • I don't have a weird IP address or anything like that
  • DHCP scope does not include the pfSense address
  • I've cleared every cache, tried numerous browsers, same result
Has anyone else faced & solved this? Thanks so much for any ideas.

Cheers,
TJ

Offline KOM

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5594
  • Karma: +688/-23
    • View Profile
Re: ERR_EMPTY_RESPONSE admin interface
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2018, 10:11:53 am »
What packages do you have installed?

Edit:  Quite a few sites recommend the following series of commands to get past this error:

Code: [Select]
ipconfig /release
ipconfig /all
ipconfig /flushdns
ipconfig /renew
netsh int ip set dns
netsh winsock reset
« Last Edit: January 26, 2018, 10:15:18 am by KOM »

Offline tjcooks4829

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ERR_EMPTY_RESPONSE admin interface
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2018, 10:46:11 am »
Just Darkstat.  I can access that just fine, now that I look.

I use all the other services provided by the appliance -- NTP, DNS, DHCP, etc.

I am one rev behind, on 2.3.4-RELEASE-p1 (amd64) but I believe this issue pre-dates that at least a couple updates.

Offline KOM

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5594
  • Karma: +688/-23
    • View Profile
Re: ERR_EMPTY_RESPONSE admin interface
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2018, 11:29:15 am »
I've been here for a few years and I don't recall this being a regular problem.  The fact that it's localized to one specific system tells me it isn't a generic pfSense issue.  Can I assume that you've already tried the commands I listed and they didn't work for you?

Offline tjcooks4829

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ERR_EMPTY_RESPONSE admin interface
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2018, 11:34:50 am »
I did just complete all those commands (and am pretty sure I tried that in the past). No change.

Agree it's probably not a widespread pfSense bug. Odd that it's just one machine, I can't find evidence of anyone else having the issue, and every other type of connection to that box works fine -- it's our DNS server, NTP, DHCP, etc. all that, I SSH into it okay, access Darkstat okay... Network serves a hundred plus users just fine.

I'm solving it by VNC-ing into a machine that I have installed in the server rack.  Mildly inconvenint, but works.

Thanks for helping, any other ideas welcome.
« Last Edit: January 26, 2018, 11:59:43 am by tjcooks4829 »

Offline churchtechguy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ERR_EMPTY_RESPONSE admin interface
« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2018, 06:12:40 pm »
I don't know if this will help or not but I had similar issues recently with several pfsense firewalls I have deployed.  It ended up being my Bitdefender antivirus on my laptop that was "protecting" me and causing the web gui to come back with the empty response.  I have to either disable the protection now or add all the sites/ips to the safe list to access the firewalls.  Looking for a new A/V software program now too...