Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: Access from Subnet to Pfsense  (Read 140 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Overcon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Access from Subnet to Pfsense
« on: February 12, 2018, 08:10:47 pm »
Hi all,

I have a network that runs on the subnet 192.168.1.0/24 and the normal gateway is .1, I have another internet connection that has public IP's of 173.187.x.x. I have a blade server running PFSense that has 3 NIC in it. One NIC is the WAN with an IP address within the 173.187. Another is assigned a LAN with the DHCP server running from the PFSense box giving 172.16.1.x/24 addresses. The LAN IP is 172.16.1.1 which is the gateway the DHCP server assigns.

How can I get access from the 192.168.1.0/24 subnet to manage the firewall and access internal devices assigned IP's from the PFSense's DHCP server? I know I am missing something, but I cannot figure it out.

Any more info I can provide let me know and how to get that access I would appreciate it!

Running 2.3.4.

Online johnpoz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15127
  • Karma: +1412/-206
  • Not a pfSense employee, they cannot fire me...
    • View Profile
Re: Access from Subnet to Pfsense
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2018, 08:42:17 pm »
Huh?  So how is this 192.168.1/24 network connected or how are you going to connected to this other pfsense box with the other internet connection.

Drawing would be helpful to be sure - break out the crayons and a napkin if you must.
- An intelligent man is sometimes forced to be drunk to spend time with his fools.
- Please don't PM me for personal help
- if you want to say thanks applaud or https://www.freebsdfoundation.org/donate/
1x SG-2440 2.4.2-RELEASE-p1 (work)
1x SG-4860 2.4.2-RELEASE-p1 (home)

Offline Overcon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Access from Subnet to Pfsense
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2018, 07:37:32 am »
Let me know if this help! Thanks


Offline NogBadTheBad

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 497
  • Karma: +45/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Access from Subnet to Pfsense
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2018, 08:16:50 am »
Firewall rules on the 192.168.113.1 maybe ?

Do the hosts on 192.168.113.0/24 knoiw how to route back to 172.16.1.0/24, I'm guessing they have a default route that points out your 24.36.x.x router.

Do a packet capture on the 192.168.113.1 do you see traffic exit the interface and not come back.

Online johnpoz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15127
  • Karma: +1412/-206
  • Not a pfSense employee, they cannot fire me...
    • View Profile
Re: Access from Subnet to Pfsense
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2018, 08:47:25 am »
So pfsense thinks this 192.168.113 is WAN connection... Pfsense has a gateway on its interface which is what IP?  You say that is the main internet.

If so pfsense would nat traffic from 172.16 to 192.168.113.pfsenseIP -- if you want to access stuff on 172.16 from 192.168.113 network you would have to setup port forward.. If you turn off nat just allow it your going to have asymmetrical problems since I assume 192.168.113 devices do not use pfsense as its gateway..
- An intelligent man is sometimes forced to be drunk to spend time with his fools.
- Please don't PM me for personal help
- if you want to say thanks applaud or https://www.freebsdfoundation.org/donate/
1x SG-2440 2.4.2-RELEASE-p1 (work)
1x SG-4860 2.4.2-RELEASE-p1 (home)

Offline jahonix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2529
  • Karma: +152/-19
  • volunteer since 2006
    • View Profile
Re: Access from Subnet to Pfsense
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2018, 03:11:58 pm »
Revise your drawing and rename the NICs to how pfSense uses them, aka WAN, LAN, Opt1.
That should clear some questions and help find an answer.
Chris

The issue with IPv6 jokes is that almost no one understands them and no one is using them yet.