Netgate Store

Author Topic: New to pfSense, how to trace a blocked website?  (Read 217 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TheNorthern_Light

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
New to pfSense, how to trace a blocked website?
« on: May 07, 2018, 09:11:36 pm »
Hello,

I'm new to pfSense (coming from Sophos UTM), and I'm trying to figure out how to unblock some content on a website for my wife (slice.ca).

Its a video streaming website that my wife regularly watches content on, however since setting up pfsense, none of the video's play, and from what I can tell
multiple different CDN's are being blocked by pfsense.

Is there a real-time log file of what is being blocked and why, so that I can implement a rule to allow that content?


Even if you can point me in the general direction of what I'm looking for, I'm happy to dig in further and learn (hence the reason to switch to pfsense).

Thanks in advance!

-Northern

Offline KOM

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • Karma: +724/-24
    • View Profile
Re: New to pfSense, how to trace a blocked website?
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2018, 07:59:51 am »
A default install of pfSense does not block any websites.

Quote
Even if you can point me in the general direction of what I'm looking for

Which packages do you have installed?  It's almost always one of those causing the problem, such as pfBlocker, Suricata, squidguard etc.

Offline nxgenguy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: New to pfSense, how to trace a blocked website?
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2018, 03:10:06 pm »
The only package I have installed is OpenVPN-Client-Export Version 1.4.12
Package dependencies are: openvpn-client-export-2.4.4, openvpn-2.4.4._1, zip-3.0.1, p7zip-16.02_1

This is what shows up in the “installed Packages”
I did not want to install a bunch of stuff I was not familiar with till I did more research.
I only wanted PF Sense and Open VPN installed. Mind you I had both of these installed and running since day 1 for a year.
I did update my PFSense to the latest STABLE build about a week or more ago.
I use my internet heavily 8 hours a day or more at home. I have not got a chance to use the OpenVPN since I did the update on my PFSense. I only update to stable builds.

I use OpenVPN so I can remote into one of my servers.

Could this be causing the problem?

By the way thank you soooo much for even trying to help me with my problem. I really do appreciate it.

Offline KOM

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • Karma: +724/-24
    • View Profile
Re: New to pfSense, how to trace a blocked website?
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2018, 03:57:37 pm »
Quote
Could this be causing the problem?

I doubt it.  Does it happen on all devices?  What is the exact error message she is seeing?  Any other clues?  While I have seen people having problems with game consoles & game networks due to static ports, I've never seen a case of blocked video that I can recall.

Offline TheNorthern_Light

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: New to pfSense, how to trace a blocked website?
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2018, 06:57:53 pm »
The only package I have installed is OpenVPN-Client-Export Version 1.4.12
Package dependencies are: openvpn-client-export-2.4.4, openvpn-2.4.4._1, zip-3.0.1, p7zip-16.02_1

This is what shows up in the “installed Packages”
I did not want to install a bunch of stuff I was not familiar with till I did more research.
I only wanted PF Sense and Open VPN installed. Mind you I had both of these installed and running since day 1 for a year.
I did update my PFSense to the latest STABLE build about a week or more ago.
I use my internet heavily 8 hours a day or more at home. I have not got a chance to use the OpenVPN since I did the update on my PFSense. I only update to stable builds.

I use OpenVPN so I can remote into one of my servers.

Could this be causing the problem?

By the way thank you soooo much for even trying to help me with my problem. I really do appreciate it.

Umm... wrong thread I think dude. I just noticed your thread is 2-3 down from my thread.
« Last Edit: May 08, 2018, 07:01:45 pm by TheNorthern_Light »

Offline TheNorthern_Light

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: New to pfSense, how to trace a blocked website?
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2018, 07:00:36 pm »
A default install of pfSense does not block any websites.

Quote
Even if you can point me in the general direction of what I'm looking for

Which packages do you have installed?  It's almost always one of those causing the problem, such as pfBlocker, Suricata, squidguard etc.

nxgenguy was replying to the wrong thread...  :o

In MY build  ;D, its a fresh install that _had_ snort installed, and iperf. I removed snort, but I left iperf since I doubt it has anything to do with a site not loading correctly.

Offline Raffi.

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: New to pfSense, how to trace a blocked website?
« Reply #6 on: May 18, 2018, 11:02:00 am »
Snort would definitely do this. I'm not exactly sure if removing the snort package also removes the blocked hosts before it's uninstalled. You may have to go over to the Blocks tab of Snort and hit the red Clear button to clear all blocked hosts. You should also stop Snort from running on the interface.

Offline KOM

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • Karma: +724/-24
    • View Profile
Re: New to pfSense, how to trace a blocked website?
« Reply #7 on: May 18, 2018, 11:53:36 am »
iperf would have no effect.  It's just a network throughput tester.