pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: latest snapsot wireless bridged as well as static not working  (Read 26739 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cmb

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6333
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • LinkedIn
    • Twitter
    • View Profile
    • Chris Buechler
Re: latest snapsot wireless bridged as well as static not working
« Reply #30 on: April 24, 2009, 06:14:51 pm »
If this is an user error why did it occurr (without any changes) so suddenly after certain snapshot? And why is it fixed when reverting back to an older version?

As I said, if you're one that can revert back to an earlier 1.2.3 snapshot and it's fixed, that's not the case.

I don't have many embedded snapshots for testing though to narrow it down. Lot of iso and full update files. Will see what I can find. Thanks for narrowing down the dates already.

Offline cmb

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6333
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • LinkedIn
    • Twitter
    • View Profile
    • Chris Buechler
Re: latest snapsot wireless bridged as well as static not working
« Reply #31 on: April 24, 2009, 07:55:08 pm »
I don't see any relevant changes between March 28 and April 7.

Those who are having this problem, try checking "Allow IPv6" under System -> Advanced. That change falls within this window, but there isn't any way that should have anything to do with this unless PF's inet6 does strange things. It isn't for me, and I seriously doubt if that's the case, but it's the only remotely relevant change I see in the 1.2 branch between those dates.

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1220
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: latest snapsot wireless bridged as well as static not working
« Reply #32 on: April 25, 2009, 02:14:54 am »
there is no option under system->advanced to enable or disable ipv6

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14990
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: latest snapsot wireless bridged as well as static not working
« Reply #33 on: April 25, 2009, 06:52:48 am »
Sure there is.

Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1220
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: latest snapsot wireless bridged as well as static not working
« Reply #34 on: April 25, 2009, 11:13:27 am »
basically it doesnt appear in my current 28th march release, i completely forgot about it.

ill need to reinstall the latest firmware and give it a try.

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14990
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: latest snapsot wireless bridged as well as static not working
« Reply #35 on: April 25, 2009, 11:30:18 am »
Try to install the RC1 snapshot linked on the latest blog entry:

http://blog.pfsense.org/?p=428
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline n1ko

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: latest snapsot wireless bridged as well as static not working
« Reply #36 on: April 25, 2009, 12:32:36 pm »
It seems that my new NC10 can connect jus fine, but my other devices (that used to work, Wii and e90) still cant connect after the first connection.

If theres something changed in rules or maybe a bug fixed that would have affected those could someone give a ruleset that allows all lan-wlan traffic so that basicly there would be no filtering etc. between them. I only want to extend my wire network with wlan.

Offline n1ko

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: latest snapsot wireless bridged as well as static not working
« Reply #37 on: April 26, 2009, 04:08:30 am »
UPDATE: I swapped my ralink (rt2560f) card to an atheros (cant remember the exact chipset but same tp-link card that many has been using). All my problems went away! So it seems that my problems were with the ralink drivers.


Offline timd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • it support london
Re: latest snapsot wireless bridged as well as static not working
« Reply #38 on: April 27, 2009, 08:57:36 am »
There is definatly something hardware specific going on here.

I had my 1.2.3 working at home with only intermittent problems connecting with wireless (dhcp problem as others specified).  With a later version of 1.2.3 this did not happen often and a reboot fixed it.

On upgrading the ALix board from the old firewall 2D1 to the slightly more powerful 2D3 no matter how many reboots given Wireless would not hand out DHCP.  This was done using the same flash card so config and OS was identical.  I also tried rolling back and forward and while i didnt try all versions of 1.2.3 RC-1 released none of them worked.

There is something hardware specific about this.

Offline wallabybob

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5262
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: latest snapsot wireless bridged as well as static not working
« Reply #39 on: April 27, 2009, 03:34:22 pm »
There is something hardware specific about this.
What hardware are you using?

Offline timd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • it support london
Re: latest snapsot wireless bridged as well as static not working
« Reply #40 on: April 28, 2009, 06:59:18 am »
Currently at home the ALix 2D3 which is similar to the 2D1 but includes USB ports, 256mb of memory rather than 128 and slightly higher clockspeed.


Offline wallabybob

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5262
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: latest snapsot wireless bridged as well as static not working
« Reply #41 on: April 28, 2009, 07:32:43 am »
What about your wireless hardware? Is it the same as what you were using in the 2D1?

Offline timd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • it support london
Re: latest snapsot wireless bridged as well as static not working
« Reply #42 on: April 29, 2009, 05:20:23 am »
Yup Its an Atheros (same card all the time) :  Heres info got from 1.2.2 currently running on it. ( Loads of In / Out errors but working. )

"dmesg | grep ath"

ath_hal: 0.9.20.3 (AR5210, AR5211, AR5212, RF5111, RF5112, RF2413, RF5413)
ath0: <Atheros 5212> mem 0xe00c0000-0xe00cffff irq 9 at device 12.0 on pci0
ath0: [ITHREAD]
ath0: using obsoleted if_watchdog interface
ath0: mac 10.5 phy 6.1 radio 6.3

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1220
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: latest snapsot wireless bridged as well as static not working
« Reply #43 on: April 29, 2009, 06:36:10 am »
i also have the atheros card and doesnt work on 1.2.3, not that it doesnt work at all but doesnt give out ip using dhcp, if ip is set in clients to manual then atleast it communicates. i tried everything

Offline timd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • it support london
Re: latest snapsot wireless bridged as well as static not working
« Reply #44 on: April 29, 2009, 07:58:44 am »
Yeah i'd like to add that while the DHCP doesnt work with wireless the actual wireless card is working properly for the first time with no interface in / out errors ect.  All previous versions always left me with In / Out errors.