Netgate m1n1wall

Author Topic: latest snapsot wireless bridged as well as static not working  (Read 26756 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline wallabybob

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5262
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: latest snapsot wireless bridged as well as static not working
« Reply #45 on: April 29, 2009, 04:31:13 pm »
DHCP works fine on my atheros NIC.

Here's the kernel I'm running
Quote
# uname -a
FreeBSD pfsense.example.org 7.1-RELEASE-p4 FreeBSD 7.1-RELEASE-p4 #0: Mon Apr 13 15:59:41 EDT 2009     sullrich@RELENG_1_2-snapshots.pfsense.org:/usr/obj.pfSense/usr/pfSensesrc/src/sys/pfSense.7  i386
#

Here's how my interface is reported in the startup:
Quote

# dmesg | grep ath
ath0: <Atheros 5212> mem 0xee000000-0xee00ffff irq 12 at device 8.0 on pci0
ath0: [ITHREAD]
ath0: WARNING: using obsoleted if_watchdog interface
ath0: Ethernet address: 00:19:e0:xx:xx:xx
ath0: mac 7.9 phy 4.5 radio 5.6

Your atheros is a more recent revision than mine?
« Last Edit: April 29, 2009, 04:33:00 pm by wallabybob »

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1220
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: latest snapsot wireless bridged as well as static not working
« Reply #46 on: April 30, 2009, 01:09:22 am »
i go the below atheros card working with the march release but not the latest one

Code: [Select]
$ dmesg | grep ath
ath0: <Atheros 5413> mem 0xe00c0000-0xe00cffff irq 9 at device 12.0 on pci0
ath0: [ITHREAD]
ath0: WARNING: using obsoleted if_watchdog interface
ath0: Ethernet address: xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
ath0: mac 10.5 phy 6.1 radio 6.3
ath0: promiscuous mode enabled

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1220
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: latest snapsot wireless bridged as well as static not working
« Reply #47 on: May 13, 2009, 01:40:44 am »
any1 tested the latest snapshots for wireless functionality?

Offline covex

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 184
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: latest snapsot wireless bridged as well as static not working
« Reply #48 on: May 15, 2009, 06:46:32 pm »
I've updated yesterday from original rc1 release to the May 12th one. release from May 14th wouldn't event boot on my Alix 0_o.
After update wireless (bridged to LAN) went down and my laptop was showing limited or no connectivity message.
I had to kill the wireless interface and assigned it again. That fixed it and it works OK.
oh, and I'm running alix with atheros 5212.
« Last Edit: May 15, 2009, 06:49:20 pm by covex »

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1220
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: latest snapsot wireless bridged as well as static not working
« Reply #49 on: May 18, 2009, 03:41:03 am »
the snapshot server was down till now and now that its up, i tried the 18th may 7.1 base, 7.2 base of freebsd and m having same issues, wireless not get IP from DHCP when bridged with LAN, the second issue i saw with both the bsd versions of 1.2.3 was in system log there was an error saying couldn't not get the MTU of ath0 so using 1500 but then it couldn't bridge with LAN due to that wireless not being able to set its MTU value so the next line it said the same but now for vr1 which is the LAN interface

Offline matrix200

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: latest snapsot wireless bridged as well as static not working
« Reply #50 on: May 22, 2009, 09:38:54 am »
I also have bridging issues with the original 1.2.3RC1 build.
In my case if I only set bridging in the wireless interface it doesn't work (I don't use dhcp though and assign static ip's).
However if I set the bridging from the lan interface too it starts working!
This is annoying but I suppose I can live with that.
Current network "hardware" :
Running a vm in Virtualbox 4.2.16 with a Trendnet usb adapter as wan interface.
Version 2.1RC0 snapshot from 19th of July.
VM Host running Centos 6.4

ALIX2C2 , 4 gigabyte disk cf card running 2.0 (official release) looks good.

Asus WL500GP version1  router with Oleg's firmware (retired).

Offline AhnHEL

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 572
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: latest snapsot wireless bridged as well as static not working
« Reply #51 on: May 22, 2009, 04:54:22 pm »
I was having that same MTU issue as xbipin, mtu to the bridge interface was not set at 1500 when i ran the ifconfig command.

Using the below commands fixed it for me on my Alix 2c2

ifconfig vr0 mtu 1500
ifconfig ath0 mtu 1500
ifconfig bridge0 destroy
ifconfig bridge create
AhnHEL (Angel)
NYC

3 pfSense sites: 2.1 RELEASE (amd64)
Dell 745 SFF E4400 @ 2.0Ghz, 2GB RAM, 20/5 Mbps
Dell 755 SFF E6550 @ 2.3Ghz, 2GB RAM, 20/5 Mbps
White Box i5 3570k @ 4.4Ghz, 16GB RAM, 114/6 Mbps, SSD
OpenVPN (Site to Site, Road Warrior), IPSec Mobile, UPnP Gaming, Traffic Shaping, Snort, Suricata

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1220
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: latest snapsot wireless bridged as well as static not working
« Reply #52 on: May 23, 2009, 07:00:45 am »
I also have bridging issues with the original 1.2.3RC1 build.
In my case if I only set bridging in the wireless interface it doesn't work (I don't use dhcp though and assign static ip's).
However if I set the bridging from the lan interface too it starts working!
This is annoying but I suppose I can live with that.


do u mean to say LAN bridged to WAN works but wireless bridged to LAN doesnt?

Offline matrix200

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: latest snapsot wireless bridged as well as static not working
« Reply #53 on: May 23, 2009, 04:35:49 pm »
No,

What I am saying , it matters in which interface I set the bridging.
If I set the bridging in wireless interface (ath0 to lan) it doesn't work.
If I go to lan's interface and set there to bridget to ath0 then it works.
The thing is , this setting is not retained after reboot and I have to repeat this procedure everytime I want to reboot.
I also get the error message about wrong mtu when bridging but strangely enough the bridge works fine afterwards.
Current network "hardware" :
Running a vm in Virtualbox 4.2.16 with a Trendnet usb adapter as wan interface.
Version 2.1RC0 snapshot from 19th of July.
VM Host running Centos 6.4

ALIX2C2 , 4 gigabyte disk cf card running 2.0 (official release) looks good.

Asus WL500GP version1  router with Oleg's firmware (retired).

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1220
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: latest snapsot wireless bridged as well as static not working
« Reply #54 on: May 24, 2009, 02:33:58 am »
i tried the following release
1.2.3-RC1
built on Sat May 23 03:47:37 EDT 2009

and still sad coz wireless bridged to LAN and wireless clients dont get ip address from DHCP running on LAN interface

Offline DeCex

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: latest snapsot wireless bridged as well as static not working
« Reply #55 on: May 24, 2009, 04:51:44 am »
All works fine here;

OPT1 bridge to LAN
- 2 PC with with wireless connection
- 1 Wii gameconsole (wireless client)

If you goto the Status\Interface and look at the OPT1 option. What does it say? "associated" ?. I think i had this issue onces long ago and rememberd it was somethin to do with the OPT1 channel setting. Since im on WAG311T wifi card (Netgear) i hae channel 6 set (Turbo) and have no probelm at all.

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1220
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: latest snapsot wireless bridged as well as static not working
« Reply #56 on: May 24, 2009, 05:03:13 am »
i guess its not a wireless issue but its a bridge issue and dhcp isnt able to give out ip to wireless clients

Offline DeCex

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: latest snapsot wireless bridged as well as static not working
« Reply #57 on: May 24, 2009, 05:09:15 am »
Here´my firewall rules

1 for LAN
1 for OPT1

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1220
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: latest snapsot wireless bridged as well as static not working
« Reply #58 on: May 24, 2009, 05:15:34 am »
its the same rules i got, mayb if u read in older posts ull see that all the debug has been done and config is all perfect and firewall is also not blocking any dhcp packets but its just that dhcp isnt replying properly or something like that

Offline matrix200

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: latest snapsot wireless bridged as well as static not working
« Reply #59 on: May 24, 2009, 11:54:22 am »
I think it is not a firewall issue at all because in my setup I don't have dhcp and just have my laptop with an ip in my lan subnet and unless I do the bridging from lan to wifi interface , I simply can't access it (ping , telnet etc).
Sounds like bridging/routing issue to me.
Current network "hardware" :
Running a vm in Virtualbox 4.2.16 with a Trendnet usb adapter as wan interface.
Version 2.1RC0 snapshot from 19th of July.
VM Host running Centos 6.4

ALIX2C2 , 4 gigabyte disk cf card running 2.0 (official release) looks good.

Asus WL500GP version1  router with Oleg's firmware (retired).