The pfSense Store

Author Topic: [Help] Will this be possible with PPOe?  (Read 1910 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cruzades

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
[Help] Will this be possible with PPOe?
« on: August 10, 2009, 11:16:48 am »
I have my internet at home shared my internet to my LAN using PFSENSE.

I have a friend somewhere miles away from me and I want to share my internet with her.

All she got are modem (DSL), PC and a phone line, no internet subscription, here is my question, will that be possible for me to share my internet with her?

If so, how?

Online GruensFroeschli

  • Green Frog
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5066
  • Karma: +4/-0
  • No i will not fix your computer!
    • View Profile
    • FFXI related
Re: [Help] Will this be possible with PPOe?
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2009, 03:57:19 am »
She should get her own DSL provider.
We do what we must, because we can.
(Except when you PM me to help you directly - DONT: keep your issues in the forum)

Offline Cry Havok

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2792
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Backup: n. What you should have done yesterday.
    • View Profile
Re: [Help] Will this be possible with PPOe?
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2009, 05:21:17 am »
She needs some way of getting data to you.  Your choices are:

1) Using her own Internet connection (which takes the point away)
2) Using a wireless link (which will require line of site and care to comply with various legal issues that can arise)

It's probably a lot easier for her to get her own Internet connection ;)
If you're planning on PMing me to ask me to look at a thread, or for individual support, don't.

Online GruensFroeschli

  • Green Frog
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5066
  • Karma: +4/-0
  • No i will not fix your computer!
    • View Profile
    • FFXI related
Re: [Help] Will this be possible with PPOe?
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2009, 05:44:28 am »
Well the third option would be to get access to the phoneline distributor panel.
Patch one of the 4 lines from her to your home, have at your home an DSLAM and let her access you.
But since i doubt that you have:
A: Access to the distributor panel
B: A schema of the distributor panel (good luck finding the right wires)
C: An Access Multiplexer lying around
It's really easier to just go the "official" way.

(We had to go with this option for a setup in our town, but that included a lot of paperwork with the telephone company and quite expensive hardware)
We do what we must, because we can.
(Except when you PM me to help you directly - DONT: keep your issues in the forum)