pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: Monitor Squid Status  (Read 51836 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Bai Shen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 220
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Monitor Squid Status
« Reply #15 on: October 07, 2010, 02:59:52 pm »
Cool.  I'll take a look.  Thanks.

Offline dlawley

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Monitor Squid Status
« Reply #16 on: October 13, 2010, 07:29:12 pm »
Sorry been a long week, must be missing something..

Configured as shown but get a Cache Manager Error.

connect: (60) Operation timed out

Not sure which user/password combo its looking for.. but I might not be getting that far that user/pw make a difference

ran the two CMDs as shown, set the following

External Cache-Managers set to 192.168.5.1
cachemgr.conf also set to 192.168.5.1

You made it sound easy...


Offline wagonza

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 361
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • The Packet Hub
Re: Monitor Squid Status
« Reply #17 on: October 14, 2010, 03:32:14 am »
Sorry been a long week, must be missing something..

Configured as shown but get a Cache Manager Error.

connect: (60) Operation timed out

Not sure which user/password combo its looking for.. but I might not be getting that far that user/pw make a difference

ran the two CMDs as shown, set the following

External Cache-Managers set to 192.168.5.1
cachemgr.conf also set to 192.168.5.1

You made it sound easy...


You should be getting a web page thats says "Cache Manager Interface" and below it a drop down list with the IP address 192.168.5.1 in it.
The username and password fields you can ignore and just click continue. It should still allow you in. The only difference is that some of the links will not be active for example 'Shut Down the Squid Process'. If you want this links set to active, then in General Settings->Custom options add:

'cachemgr_passwd none all'

and click save. You wont have to enter a password. To make it secure have a look at the cachemgr_passwd config option @ http://www.squid-cache.org/Doc/config/cachemgr_passwd/


Offline dlawley

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Monitor Squid Status
« Reply #18 on: October 14, 2010, 04:26:43 am »
Thanks for the quick reply.

I was all around that option reading the squidfaq...

retraced my steps, and a reboot

Still getting Cache Manager timeout...

Running transparent maybe an issue??  I know it causes some limitations in other areas when you use it.

Maybe proxy filter service is also having an effect?

maybe I need to be hitting 127.0.0.1 instead.  ?? guess its easy enough to try..

# Do not edit manually !
http_port 192.168.5.1:800
http_port 127.0.0.1:80 transparent
icp_port 0

« Last Edit: October 14, 2010, 04:59:31 am by dlawley »

Offline wagonza

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 361
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • The Packet Hub
Re: Monitor Squid Status
« Reply #19 on: October 14, 2010, 04:54:59 am »
Thanks for the quick reply.

I was all around that option reading the squidfaq...

retraced my steps, and a reboot

Still getting Cache Manager timeout...

Running transparent maybe an issue??  I know it causes some limitations in other areas when you use it.

maybe I need to be hitting 127.0.0.1 instead.  ?? guess its easy enough to try..

# Do not edit manually !
http_port 192.168.5.1:800
http_port 127.0.0.1:80 transparent
icp_port 0


I see you have squid listening on the non default port of 800 - did you add 192.168.5.1:800 to the cachemgr.conf file? Not just 192.168.5.1 - otherwise cachemgr.cgi will try connect to 3128.

Shouldn't make a difference whether the proxy is in transparent mode or not.


Offline dlawley

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Monitor Squid Status
« Reply #20 on: October 14, 2010, 05:00:11 am »
That did it!, thanks!!

Offline dlawley

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Monitor Squid Status
« Reply #21 on: October 14, 2010, 07:22:49 am »
The proxy filter might impact your access to the cache mgr, if you have ip addresses blocked.  Which I did on my production server. 

But I'm all good now.

Offline serangku

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 474
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Monitor Squid Status
« Reply #22 on: October 17, 2010, 10:30:04 am »
i always use cachemgr to monitoring squid ...
ifen not understand much ...  ;D
i keep this link on my email to help me remember how to it ...

http://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?topic=14609.0


Offline Bai Shen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 220
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Monitor Squid Status
« Reply #23 on: October 19, 2010, 03:45:24 pm »
So I have the cachemgr page working, but one thing concerns me.  On the Store Directory page, it says the following: Accepted object sizes: 0 - (unlimited) bytes

However, on the Cache Mgmt page, I have max object size set to 1024.  So why the difference?

Offline Pistolero

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Monitor Squid Status
« Reply #24 on: October 25, 2010, 01:34:17 am »
No workie for me :(

I get this:

Cache Manager menu for x.x.x.x:

    GIF89a

Generated Mon, 25 Oct 2010 06:32:27 GMT, by cachemgr.cgi/2.7.STABLE9@r

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Offline wagonza

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 361
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • The Packet Hub
Re: Monitor Squid Status
« Reply #25 on: October 28, 2010, 03:04:10 am »
No workie for me :(

I get this:

Cache Manager menu for x.x.x.x:

    GIF89a

Generated Mon, 25 Oct 2010 06:32:27 GMT, by cachemgr.cgi/2.7.STABLE9@r

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

I am not sure what that reference to GIF89a is? But you should see a page with:

Cache server with drop down list of your pfSense's IP address.
Input for a Manager name
Input for a Password

and finally a "Continue" button which will take you to the stats page. What do you see when you click on this button?


Offline Pistolero

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Monitor Squid Status
« Reply #26 on: October 29, 2010, 08:54:55 am »
No workie for me :(

I get this:

Cache Manager menu for x.x.x.x:

    GIF89a

Generated Mon, 25 Oct 2010 06:32:27 GMT, by cachemgr.cgi/2.7.STABLE9@r

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

I am not sure what that reference to GIF89a is? But you should see a page with:

Cache server with drop down list of your pfSense's IP address.
Input for a Manager name
Input for a Password

and finally a "Continue" button which will take you to the stats page. What do you see when you click on this button?



I do see the drop-down list with the input fields. I get that weird screen *after* clicking continue. The weird page with the GIF89a I get only in Firefox. IE only displays <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4. after clicking continue, and Opera doesn't display anything :(

Offline wagonza

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 361
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • The Packet Hub
Re: Monitor Squid Status
« Reply #27 on: November 04, 2010, 01:58:06 am »
Sounds like you dont have your cachemgr.conf file setup correctly and after clicking submit it is timing out.

Offline udupagn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
how to block wbsites in pfsense
« Reply #28 on: November 05, 2010, 03:15:17 am »
Hi pl tel me
i Installed  pfsense

installed proxy server with mod security
'
squid  package
squidguard package   installed
tel me how to block unwanted or porn sites

pl reply
Ganesh


Offline wagonza

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 361
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • The Packet Hub
Re: Monitor Squid Status
« Reply #29 on: November 05, 2010, 08:01:27 am »
Please dont hijack another thread but rather start a new one.

Have a look at http://doc.pfsense.org/index.php/SquidGuard_package for instructions.