pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: Snort Won't Start After Upgrade  (Read 50149 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Cino

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1051
    • View Profile
Re: Snort Won't Start After Upgrade
« Reply #165 on: August 05, 2011, 02:36:25 pm »
What happened to Barnyard?? 

Seems to be totally missing >:(

need users to test it and report back with detailed errors... this will help the dev fix issues

Offline Cino

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1051
    • View Profile
Re: Snort Won't Start After Upgrade
« Reply #166 on: August 05, 2011, 02:37:35 pm »
Thank you for helping in testing Cino.

Anytime! I may just re-install my system this weekend or next week and try amd64

Offline Ibor Daru

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Snort Won't Start After Upgrade
« Reply #167 on: August 05, 2011, 04:49:40 pm »
@ermal

That says the service is started.
Any other logs to claim that snort is not starting Ibor?

Mainly based on the following (see attached images):
  • (dashboard widget system information) memory usage before and after are the same
  • (dashboard widget services status) service status still indicates "stopped"
  • (main snort menu) icon remains as "green play icon", not turned to "red cross button"

BTW if you require additional log file(s), feel free to ask. Please note: I'm not that familiar what log file(s) Snort use(s) exactly within PFSense. Guidance is then appreciated. If wanted I'm available for testing/debugging.
« Last Edit: August 05, 2011, 04:59:23 pm by Ibor Daru »

Offline seattle-it

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
    • Seattle IT Consultant
Re: Snort Won't Start After Upgrade
« Reply #168 on: August 05, 2011, 05:01:24 pm »
What happened to Barnyard?? 

Seems to be totally missing >:(

need users to test it and report back with detailed errors... this will help the dev fix issues

Test what? the barnyard2 binary is missing
My tech blog - seattleit.net/blog

Offline Cino

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1051
    • View Profile
Re: Snort Won't Start After Upgrade
« Reply #169 on: August 05, 2011, 08:00:56 pm »
What happened to Barnyard?? 

Seems to be totally missing >:(

need users to test it and report back with detailed errors... this will help the dev fix issues

Test what? the barnyard2 binary is missing

You just did but saying the binary is missing.


Offline seattle-it

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
    • Seattle IT Consultant
Re: Snort Won't Start After Upgrade
« Reply #170 on: August 05, 2011, 08:42:08 pm »
Quote
You just did but saying the binary is missing.



You make zero sense .. anyways, back to reality:


I've been able to get Snort + Barnyard to a working state with the current Snort package. For others that may be running into similar issues, the quick fixes i had to apply were:

1) pkg_add -r barnyard2
2) ln -s /usr/local/etc/snort/snort_<digits>_interface  /usr/local/etc/snort/snort__<interface>

I've had other front-end issues with my config not being saved properly. Something triggers it to blank out interface and other snort settings, which is a pita. Things seem to work from the UI now, but I'm sticking with using the terminal to control things (and will probably roll out my own 2.9.0.X binary eventually).
My tech blog - seattleit.net/blog

Offline Cino

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1051
    • View Profile
Re: Snort Won't Start After Upgrade
« Reply #171 on: August 05, 2011, 09:26:45 pm »
@Ermal  I'm testing the amd64 platform. Snort starts and seems to be work but when I check Block Offenders, I get this error
Code: [Select]
Aug 5 23:49:30 SnortStartup[62468]: Interface Rule START for 0_39737_em3...
Aug 5 23:49:30 snort[62343]: FATAL ERROR: /usr/local/etc/snort/snort_39737_em3/snort.conf(351) Unknown output plugin: "alert_pf"
Aug 5 23:49:30 snort[62343]: FATAL ERROR: /usr/local/etc/snort/snort_39737_em3/snort.conf(351) Unknown output plugin: "alert_pf"
Aug 5 23:49:30 snort[62343]: Log directory = /var/log/snort

line 351 from my conf

Code: [Select]
output alert_pf: /usr/local/etc/snort/whitelist/defaultwlist,snort2c

snort2c table is defined under tables, whitelist files look to be the same format as i386

I retested i386 and it doesn't have this problem, its able to block offenders... would this happen to do with the amd64 snort binaries?

also noticed if i try to clear the alerts, it goes to a blank page without clearing the alerts (Does this on i386 and amd64)
« Last Edit: August 06, 2011, 11:07:56 am by Cino »

Offline digdug3

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
Re: Snort Won't Start After Upgrade
« Reply #172 on: August 06, 2011, 10:40:26 am »
I can confirm Snort and suppress working again with RC3-build 05-08 i386.
Barnyard is NOT working because it is not installed during the update process, that's why barnyard.conf does not exist.
Reinstalling the package will not bring Barnyard alive also. I think this is the reason for the GUI to break as well.

Second problem i have is this when I enable the snort_netbios.rules:

snort[26631]: FATAL ERROR: /usr/local/etc/snort/snort_61390_em1/rules/snort_netbios.rules(152) GID 1 SID 3239 in rule duplicates previous rule, with different protocol.

Offline Cino

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1051
    • View Profile
Re: Snort Won't Start After Upgrade
« Reply #173 on: August 06, 2011, 10:48:51 am »
I can confirm Snort and suppress working again with RC3-build 05-08 i386.
Barnyard is NOT working because it is not installed during the update process, that's why barnyard.conf does not exist.
Reinstalling the package will not bring Barnyard alive also. I think this is the reason for the GUI to break as well.

Second problem i have is this when I enable the snort_netbios.rules:

snort[26631]: FATAL ERROR: /usr/local/etc/snort/snort_61390_em1/rules/snort_netbios.rules(152) GID 1 SID 3239 in rule duplicates previous rule, with different protocol.

I noticed that too when I install the amd64 ver, that barnyard wasn't installing. it did try to change some of the files but came back with files not found.

uncheck netbios and it should start... you may get some more errors that are rules related... uncheck the rules until snort starts. These kind of errors I believe are not because of the snort package but because of the rules themselves. Sometimes its a duplication because of the .so rules and/or when you are using 2 different rulesets(emerging and snort together). 

Offline grandrivers

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
    • View Profile
Re: Snort Won't Start After Upgrade
« Reply #174 on: August 06, 2011, 10:38:05 pm »
emerging threats seems to be okay after deleting and installing again .  I have not been able to clear the alerts log after hitting clear then ok just endup on blank page.  

note: now seems to quit adding to log
« Last Edit: August 07, 2011, 07:57:58 am by grandrivers »

Offline digdug3

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
Re: Snort Won't Start After Upgrade
« Reply #175 on: August 07, 2011, 01:24:05 am »
I can confirm Snort and suppress working again with RC3-build 05-08 i386.
Barnyard is NOT working because it is not installed during the update process, that's why barnyard.conf does not exist.
Reinstalling the package will not bring Barnyard alive also. I think this is the reason for the GUI to break as well.

Second problem i have is this when I enable the snort_netbios.rules:

snort[26631]: FATAL ERROR: /usr/local/etc/snort/snort_61390_em1/rules/snort_netbios.rules(152) GID 1 SID 3239 in rule duplicates previous rule, with different protocol.

I noticed that too when I install the amd64 ver, that barnyard wasn't installing. it did try to change some of the files but came back with files not found.

uncheck netbios and it should start... you may get some more errors that are rules related... uncheck the rules until snort starts. These kind of errors I believe are not because of the snort package but because of the rules themselves. Sometimes its a duplication because of the .so rules and/or when you are using 2 different rulesets(emerging and snort together). 

Yes, that's exactly what I did. I disabled the snort_netbios.rules
Strange thing is with my pfSense v1.2.3-i386 box it works(?). Same rules, same settings...

Offline hmishra

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: Snort Won't Start After Upgrade
« Reply #176 on: August 07, 2011, 10:42:58 pm »
Hmmm....The blocked list is not reset after being set once. I know it was working just couple days back since I have verified the cron job to auto update the snort signatures as well as resetting the blocked list was there before. Now it is no longer present.

Offline darklogic

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 175
    • View Profile
Re: Snort Won't Start After Upgrade
« Reply #177 on: August 08, 2011, 10:39:24 pm »
Something I noticed on the SNORT categories tab and rules tab. If you click categories and then click on a ruleset from the category tab it will take you to that rule set under the rules tab and show every rule that you may have enabled or disabled. But, if you click the rules tab and then select the ruleset from the drop down list, it will show the same rules and show things enabled and disabled in a different manner than from clicking the ruleset from the category list?

Anyone else have this or know what this is about?

Thanks,

Offline Cino

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1051
    • View Profile
Re: Snort Won't Start After Upgrade
« Reply #178 on: August 09, 2011, 08:18:31 am »
Something I noticed on the SNORT categories tab and rules tab. If you click categories and then click on a ruleset from the category tab it will take you to that rule set under the rules tab and show every rule that you may have enabled or disabled. But, if you click the rules tab and then select the ruleset from the drop down list, it will show the same rules and show things enabled and disabled in a different manner than from clicking the ruleset from the category list?

Anyone else have this or know what this is about?

Thanks,

I noticed that Ermal put in a bunch of tickets for Snort, http://redmine.pfsense.org/projects/pfsense/issues?set_filter=1&tracker_id=1 I think 2 of them maybe related to what your reporting

Offline Cino

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1051
    • View Profile
Re: Snort Won't Start After Upgrade
« Reply #179 on: August 09, 2011, 11:55:27 am »
I created a ticket for the alerts page not clearing. It did work sometime last week so I'm hoping its a quick fix.

http://redmine.pfsense.org/issues/1765