The pfSense Store

Author Topic: pfsense 2.0 R3 - Hyper-V  (Read 11217 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline erojasv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
pfsense 2.0 R3 - Hyper-V
« on: July 26, 2011, 05:55:35 pm »
Hi, i am trying pfsense 2.0 R3 in Hyper-V but it doesnt boot

Stopped at pmap_invalidate_cache_range+0x40 clflushl 0(%ebx)
db>

Offline berniem

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: pfsense 2.0 R3 - Hyper-V
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2011, 01:20:17 pm »
What processor / motherboard are you using?

Offline arjayeff

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: pfsense 2.0 R3 - Hyper-V
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2011, 05:31:53 am »
While I have had problems with using pfSense on Hyper-V (see my thread on "Concerns Running pfSense 2.0 RCx on Hyper-V") I have always found it boots. You have to use Legacy Network Adapters. I then just use the default console settings, Quick/Easy Install, and Uniprocessor Kernel.

Richard

Offline salida

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: pfsense 2.0 R3 - Hyper-V
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2011, 02:42:04 pm »
I am having some troubles booting up in hyper-v too using the latest version of pfsense 2.0 .
The system has:
amd athlon 4800
asus m4a78-em
5gb ram

See the attached screenshot of the error.



I am using legacy network adapters...and i have tried turning off / on all integration settings.
It is weird , that pfsense 1.2.3 release is running fine in hyper-v
  
« Last Edit: September 17, 2011, 02:57:04 pm by salida »

Offline Matty-CT

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: pfsense 2.0 R3 - Hyper-V
« Reply #4 on: October 08, 2011, 08:59:40 am »
Hi guys,

Google took me here because I was getting the exact same error as in your screenshot.  I was trying to install pfsense 2.0 in a Hyper-V VM.  The first server I used was a HP DL385 G2 (AMD quad cores) running Windows 2008 R2 x64 Enterprise. No matter how I adjusted the various VM settings I would get that error.  Next I attempted to do a Hyper-V install of pfsense 2.0 on a HP Proliant DL380 G5 (Intel) running the same OS. The install proceeded without a hitch (had to use legacy network, of course.)

I have two cluster nodes (for this test) in the same cluster, One an AMD based HP Proliant and the other an Intel based HP Proliant.

AMD based Hyper-V: fail as in screen shot.
Intel based Hyper-V: success

So, no idea what the issue is beyond the results of my attempts.  I'm not a Linux guru, just trying out pfsense to see if it can replace my fancy "hardware" based security equipment.  I'll be interested to see if this generates any installer patches.

Good luck,
Matt

Offline mboudro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: pfsense 2.0 R3 - Hyper-V
« Reply #5 on: October 25, 2011, 09:55:44 am »
It is indeed a problem with AMD based processors. I have found a solution to the problem and have Pfsense running without issue on a Hyper-V VM with an AMD processor.

You have to add the following to the boot parameters:

hw.clflush_disable = 1

After the latter is added to the boot parameters, you can boot Pfsense and it will bypass the OP error.

Hope this helps someone with this issue.

Hi guys,

Google took me here because I was getting the exact same error as in your screenshot.  I was trying to install pfsense 2.0 in a Hyper-V VM.  The first server I used was a HP DL385 G2 (AMD quad cores) running Windows 2008 R2 x64 Enterprise. No matter how I adjusted the various VM settings I would get that error.  Next I attempted to do a Hyper-V install of pfsense 2.0 on a HP Proliant DL380 G5 (Intel) running the same OS. The install proceeded without a hitch (had to use legacy network, of course.)

I have two cluster nodes (for this test) in the same cluster, One an AMD based HP Proliant and the other an Intel based HP Proliant.

AMD based Hyper-V: fail as in screen shot.
Intel based Hyper-V: success

So, no idea what the issue is beyond the results of my attempts.  I'm not a Linux guru, just trying out pfsense to see if it can replace my fancy "hardware" based security equipment.  I'll be interested to see if this generates any installer patches.

Good luck,
Matt

Offline mboudro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: pfsense 2.0 R3 - Hyper-V
« Reply #6 on: October 25, 2011, 10:11:55 am »
For further clarification, here is the method in more detail:

--------
At the boot menu choose option 7 "Escape to loader prompt"

set hw.clflush_disable=1
boot

Install pfSense.

After the installation, add the following line to /boot/loader.conf.local by running the following command from the shell prompt.

echo "hw.clflush_disable=1" >> /boot/loader.conf.local

-------

It is indeed a problem with AMD based processors. I have found a solution to the problem and have Pfsense running without issue on a Hyper-V VM with an AMD processor.

You have to add the following to the boot parameters:

hw.clflush_disable = 1

After the latter is added to the boot parameters, you can boot Pfsense and it will bypass the OP error.

Hope this helps someone with this issue.

Hi guys,

Google took me here because I was getting the exact same error as in your screenshot.  I was trying to install pfsense 2.0 in a Hyper-V VM.  The first server I used was a HP DL385 G2 (AMD quad cores) running Windows 2008 R2 x64 Enterprise. No matter how I adjusted the various VM settings I would get that error.  Next I attempted to do a Hyper-V install of pfsense 2.0 on a HP Proliant DL380 G5 (Intel) running the same OS. The install proceeded without a hitch (had to use legacy network, of course.)

I have two cluster nodes (for this test) in the same cluster, One an AMD based HP Proliant and the other an Intel based HP Proliant.

AMD based Hyper-V: fail as in screen shot.
Intel based Hyper-V: success

So, no idea what the issue is beyond the results of my attempts.  I'm not a Linux guru, just trying out pfsense to see if it can replace my fancy "hardware" based security equipment.  I'll be interested to see if this generates any installer patches.

Good luck,
Matt

Offline berniem

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: pfsense 2.0 R3 - Hyper-V
« Reply #7 on: October 27, 2011, 01:26:53 pm »
Thank you for finding and reporting the fix!  This does help!

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14935
    • View Profile
Re: pfsense 2.0 R3 - Hyper-V
« Reply #8 on: November 01, 2011, 08:47:27 am »
I added that tidbit to http://doc.pfsense.org/index.php/Boot_Troubleshooting (and reformatted the page a bit in the process)
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline Matty-CT

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: pfsense 2.0 R3 - Hyper-V
« Reply #9 on: May 02, 2012, 03:35:06 pm »
Well, this is humorous...

I totally abandoned my project (before seeing your posts with the resolution) and just today restarted it. So, I completely forgot about the boot issue. Today I was trying to install pfsense on a Hyper-V R2 server and got the pmap_invalidate_cache_range at boot. So I googled the error bringing me to this thread. I then see a post about someone with a DL385 G2 and say to myself, "what are the odds?" until I see that it is my own post from October of last year. Face in palm...

However, I now have the resolution to my problem. I'm curious to see how the performance is on Hyper-V.

Curiously, or maybe not, pfsense installs without a hitch on the Proliant server as a bare metal install. Even if it's 6 months late, thanks for the info!

Matt

Offline Sup3rior

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
    • View Profile
Re: pfsense 2.0 R3 - Hyper-V
« Reply #10 on: June 21, 2012, 08:48:48 am »
I have two cluster nodes (for this test) in the same cluster, One an AMD based HP Proliant and the other an Intel based HP Proliant.

AMD based Hyper-V: fail as in screen shot.
Intel based Hyper-V: success

On a sidenote, the above config is not supported by Microsoft and I don't think you VM's are going to be that happy when doing live migrations...