Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)  (Read 86255 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline wallabybob

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5240
  • Karma: +11/-1
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #15 on: September 29, 2011, 06:22:05 pm »
Sorry, I haven't had a lot of time to look into this.

I have looked at your packet captures. Unfortunately they don't show the PPP control packets. Can you provide another set with the capture interface being the physical device used for the PPP link rather than the PPP link? For example, if pppoe0 uses physical interface vr1 I would like the capture on interface vr1 rather than pppoe0.

capture1 initially shows pings and replies then just pings (no replies). No ppp control packets.

capture2 just looks like "normal" traffic: no PPP control packets shown and no obvious sign of a "down" link. (I expected to see repeated PPP initalisation attempts.) Capture2 timestamps go from 18:57:31.x to 18:57:42.x, about 11 seconds. Your previously posted log of a failed reinitialisation covers a time span of nearly two minutes. Are you sure you provided a capture taken when mpd was reporting repeated initialisation attempts?

Your previous posts have repeated mentioned a modem reset. What is a modem reset and (since it appears to cause so much grief) why do you do it?

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1631
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #16 on: September 30, 2011, 01:41:42 am »
i just ran the command given to me for both pppoe0 and vr1 and when i said mpd going in reconenct loop, that actually i see from the web gui but i also fail to understand y no pppoe control packets r seen on the trace related to vr1, i hope its the right command im running.

the issue is just not modem reset but suppose if its goes down or drops an active connection or it has a firmware update and reboots or even in pfsense i set periodic reset for pppoe, in all these situations it never reconnects untill i reboot pfsense so.

ill again run a trace for vr1 and send it

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1631
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #17 on: September 30, 2011, 01:59:54 am »
here is another capture, its the same, once the isp modem is reset the packet count never goes ahead inspite of mpd retrying to conect, correct me if im wrong, below is the command i run

tcpdump -i vr1 -s 0 -vvvX -w /tmp/pcap.capture

capture can be downloaded from
http://www.mediafire.com/?41s858ze4bri7c9

Offline wallabybob

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5240
  • Karma: +11/-1
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #18 on: September 30, 2011, 10:07:20 pm »
correct me if im wrong, below is the command i run

tcpdump -i vr1 -s 0 -vvvX -w /tmp/pcap.capture
Looks fine to me though -vvvX seems to apply just to decoding and displaying captured data.

here is another capture, its the same, once the isp modem is reset the packet count never goes ahead inspite of mpd retrying to conect
Capture ran from 16:46:56.457199 to 16:47:16.647419 and shows pings and responses for the whole duration (about 20 seconds). Perhaps you ran the capture for much longer than 20 seconds and there was no traffic after the last entry. This doesn't seem consistent with mpd's claim to be making reconnection attempts.

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1631
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #19 on: October 01, 2011, 12:18:53 am »
the capture was running for more than 2-3mins and when i say no traffic after last entry, i meant once i reset the modem, the last captured packet was before that and after that inspite of mpd showing reconenct attempts under logs, no packets control or any other appear in the trace so mayb mpd just keeps saying its reconnecting but no actual attempt is made or mayb the capture doesnt take the ppoe control packets in the trace at all.

anyways ill run the trace again for about 5mins now but im sure the capture wont have any packets in them related to reconnect attempts

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1631
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #20 on: October 01, 2011, 12:33:04 am »
i ran the trace and its the same, it takes about 20secs for me to start the trace and then reset the modem and once done, for the next 10mins also no new packets in the capture

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1631
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #21 on: October 01, 2011, 06:29:26 am »
for al alternative approach, i took the wan wire and plugged it into my windows PC and started wireshark and then first created a pppoe connection and dialed it and all fine and then reset the  modem and windows too wont redial at all till the LAN card is disabled and enabled again and then the same connection redialed, i hope this trace will help as it lists pppoe control packets as well

http://www.mediafire.com/?sp6n1weermra3y8

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1631
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #22 on: October 01, 2011, 07:10:17 am »
what i noticed from the trace was after modem reset the PC sends a PADI and the server replies with PADO then PC sends PADR but then the server for some reason doesnt send the PADS and to only make this work, the LAN card needs to be disabled and reenabled so guess one solution between reconnection request sent by mpd would be to actually disable the port first then enable it and then dialout, no idea how but the older mpd v4 used to and still does work like a charm but for that i would have to revert back to pfsense 1.2.3

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1631
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #23 on: October 04, 2011, 01:21:42 am »
any suggestions?

Offline dhatz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #24 on: October 04, 2011, 10:28:16 am »
Ermal is probably away, since according to this, both he and cmb will be doing a presentation at EuroBSDCon11 on 6-Oct-2011.

Have you contacted mpd's developers at http://sourceforge.net/projects/mpd/ about this?

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1631
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #25 on: October 05, 2011, 12:12:59 am »
no i havent checked with the mpd developers, it would be like repeating a year long story from start :)

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1631
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #26 on: October 10, 2011, 11:27:28 am »
no progress yet

Offline luky37

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #27 on: October 10, 2011, 12:57:37 pm »
Can you please re-upload the last 2 capture files, they have been removed from mediafire.

Offline marcelloc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13398
  • Karma: +589/-7
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #28 on: October 10, 2011, 04:16:47 pm »
you can check pptp connection via icmp and if ping fails x times, restart your pptp connection.
It could be at cron or included in the patch that emal sent in this tread.

I have a similar situation with cisco vpn and this check solved my problem.


Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1631
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #29 on: October 11, 2011, 12:05:32 am »
i would like to mention again, restarting etc doesnt solve it coz even if i manually stop and start it, it wont connect, its something in the pppoe protocol and for some reason the modem doesnt send back PADS which its supposed to

Quote
Insert Quote
what i noticed from the trace was after modem reset the PC sends a PADI and the server replies with PADO then PC sends PADR but then the server for some reason doesnt send the PADS and to only make this work, the LAN card needs to be disabled and reenabled so guess one solution between reconnection request sent by mpd would be to actually disable the port first then enable it and then dialout, no idea how but the older mpd v4 used to and still does work like a charm but for that i would have to revert back to pfsense 1.2.3