The pfSense Store

Author Topic: Could not contact pfsense update server  (Read 10034 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline steven6282

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Could not contact pfsense update server
« on: October 12, 2011, 11:58:25 am »
Hello,
I updated to full 2.0-RELEASE i386 yesterday.  Since the if I go to the auto updater page I get this:

Code: [Select]
Downloading new version information...done
Unable to check for updates.
Could not contact pfSense update server http://snapshots.pfsense.org/FreeBSD_RELENG_8_1/i386/pfSense_RELENG_2_0/.updaters/

My updater settings shows pfSense Stable Release Upgrades (i386) set to http://updates.pfsense.org/_updaters

What is wrong to be causing this?  I don't need the auto updater really, but it is convenient.

Offline marcelloc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9995
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Could not contact pfsense update server
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2011, 10:08:49 pm »
Reaply update list to stable server. Snapshots url is offline and seems that your server still looking it.

Offline steven6282

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Could not contact pfsense update server
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2011, 08:50:12 am »
Thanks, apparently that worked.  Just went to update settings selected the (i386) update server and clicked save.

Offline Fmstrat

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Could not contact pfsense update server
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2011, 10:12:55 pm »
Reaply update list to stable server. Snapshots url is offline and seems that your server still looking it.

Could someone clarify what this means? I just did a fresh install of PFSense 2.0 and am having the same exact error as the first post. However, when I go to Updater Settings, there is no "pick list" as mentioned above (and it takes forever to load). I just have a place to type in a URL, but I'm not sure what server to use.

If the snapshot server is offline, is there a reason the 2.0 image from a week ago was still pointing to it?

Thanks!
Ben

Offline marcelloc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9995
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Could not contact pfsense update server
« Reply #4 on: December 21, 2011, 10:43:59 pm »
files.pfsense.org is offline for some reason, try again later.
« Last Edit: December 21, 2011, 10:57:29 pm by marcelloc »

Offline andrew0401

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Could not contact pfsense update server
« Reply #5 on: December 22, 2011, 07:20:58 am »
Is this working yet?  Unable to install squid - unable to connect?

Andrew

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14990
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Could not contact pfsense update server
« Reply #6 on: December 22, 2011, 07:43:57 am »
Is this working yet?  Unable to install squid - unable to connect?

I think you answered your own question. :-)

It's still offline.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline andrew0401

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Could not contact pfsense update server
« Reply #7 on: December 22, 2011, 08:11:23 am »
An ETA would be good

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14990
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Could not contact pfsense update server
« Reply #8 on: December 22, 2011, 08:16:26 am »
Yes, it would. There isn't one, however. Not yet.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline Fmstrat

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Could not contact pfsense update server
« Reply #9 on: December 22, 2011, 08:30:03 am »
files.pfsense.org is offline for some reason, try again later.

I'm still not sure this answers my question.. Should I just change PFSense's default update URL from "snapshot" to "files"?

Thanks,
Ben

Offline jwelter99

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Could not contact pfsense update server
« Reply #10 on: December 22, 2011, 08:58:14 am »
files.pfsense.org is offline for some reason, try again later.

I'm still not sure this answers my question.. Should I just change PFSense's default update URL from "snapshot" to "files"?

Thanks,
Ben

I don't think it will help, they all seem to be down for me (updates, snapshots, and files)

Offline darklogic

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 175
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Could not contact pfsense update server
« Reply #11 on: December 22, 2011, 09:27:58 am »
I am having the same issue as described above.

just be patient everyone. I am sure things will be back in order soon.

Thanks,

Offline nipstech

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • NIPSTech
Re: Could not contact pfsense update server
« Reply #12 on: December 22, 2011, 09:37:39 am »
Chill out guys and let them do their thing. The world's not gonna end anytime soon ;)

I am having the same issue as described above.

just be patient everyone. I am sure things will be back in order soon.

Thanks,

Offline mince69meat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Could not contact pfsense update server
« Reply #13 on: December 22, 2011, 10:12:30 am »
Chill out guys and let them do their thing. The world's not gonna end anytime soon ;)


was having a good day till I read your post, why is it not going to end and time soon Doh!!! is there a ETA on that at least rofl

seriously for a moment least give them a few hours before moaning about the down time, these guys do a lot of work keeping things going and there up time is excellent in my opinion.

keep up the good work pfsense we all love you

Mince

Offline Fmstrat

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Could not contact pfsense update server
« Reply #14 on: December 22, 2011, 11:55:27 am »
I wasn't actually posting to this thread from back in October about it being down, btw :) I'm in no hurry. I was just curious why for the past months my update screen showed "failed." And from responses I'm guessing I need to change from "snapshots" to "files" and it will fix it when things come back up. If someone could give me confirmation on that, that would be great.

Thanks!
B.