Netgate m1n1wall

Author Topic: dns-relay works for resolving 1 server name, not the other  (Read 1078 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ATI

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
dns-relay works for resolving 1 server name, not the other
« on: July 22, 2012, 05:06:03 pm »
Hi
I have 2 servers, using DHCP to acquire their IP.
brooklyn: 10.17.10.30 and fiinas: 10.17.10.34

From my laptop, I can ping the nas using its name.
Code: [Select]
C:\Users\Alex>ping fiinas
Pinging fiinas [10.17.10.34] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 10.17.10.34: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 10.17.10.34: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

But I can't resolve name on the second one:
Code: [Select]
C:\Users\Alex>ping brooklyn
Ping request could not find host brooklyn. Please check the name and try again.

both are using DHCP but if I check on pfSense DHCP lease status, fiinas is offline while brooklyn is online:
Code: [Select]
10.17.10.30  00:0c:06:09:f3:eb  brooklyn  n/a    n/a    online  static
10.17.10.34  00:08:96:0d:09:13  FIINAS  n/a    n/a    offline  static


PS: I can ping the ip address directly of brooklyn though
Code: [Select]
C:\Users\Alex>ping 10.17.10.30
Pinging 10.17.10.30 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 10.17.10.30: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 10.17.10.30: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

Do you have any idea why the DNS-relay doesn't work for brooklyn ?

Thanks

Offline ATI

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: dns-relay works for resolving 1 server name, not the other
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2012, 05:19:44 pm »
Also, in the Diagnostics: DNS Lookup page, I have these results:

Code: [Select]
Hostname or IP : fiinas
= 10.17.10.34
Create alias out of these entries.

Hostname or IP : brooklyn
= 10.17.10.30
Create alias out of these entries.


I clicked on create an alias for both, and got this:
fiinas: an alias already exist
brooklyn: Alias created with name brooklyn

but it did not change resolve issue.


I then checked in /etc/hosts and see that brooklyn in in lowercase, while fiinas is in uppercase.
10.17.10.30   brooklyn.fii brooklyn
10.17.10.34   FIINAS.fii FIINAS

I changed it to uper case, but did not help...

I don't understand why it works for one, and not the other... (during my tests I regularly renew my laptop dhcp lease, and the server ones too, to refresh settings)



Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14934
    • View Profile
Re: dns-relay works for resolving 1 server name, not the other
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2012, 11:03:03 am »
The client you're pinging/resolving from - is it actually using pfSense as its DNS server?

If it resolves from Diag > DNS, then it would from clients using pfSense as their DNS server. If it's using some other DNS server, it may be finding fiinas by NBNS and not DNS.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!