The pfSense Store

Author Topic: Changing name of gateway  (Read 1672 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline krisken

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
    • View Profile
Changing name of gateway
« on: April 18, 2012, 02:56:11 pm »
Dear,

In system > routing, i want to change the name of some gateways to a easy to understand name in stead of "GW_OPTx" (x = number).  When I want to change this name, i get an error "The following input errors were detected: changing name on a gateway is not allowed."

Is there really no option to change the name of the gateway?  And if not, why isn't it possible?


Offline stephenw10

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8120
    • View Profile
Re: Changing name of gateway
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2012, 07:32:00 am »
It would seem not:
http://forum.pfsense.org/index.php/topic,48072.0.html  :(

Unless you go the manual edit route.

Steve

Offline krisken

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
    • View Profile
Re: Changing name of gateway
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2012, 07:38:31 am »
Manual edit route?  How do you mean?

Offline stephenw10

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8120
    • View Profile
Re: Changing name of gateway
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2012, 07:40:40 am »
that's never been permitted. can either very carefully manually edit the config with viconfig and make sure you don't orphan any references, or backup the config and do the same edit and restore it.

I imagine it's easy to miss something and find yourself without a gateway (or worse).  ::)

Steve
« Last Edit: April 19, 2012, 07:42:27 am by stephenw10 »