pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: HW Experts, "kernel: MCA: CPU 0 COR OVER GCACHE LG ERR error" ???  (Read 788 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ptt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1125
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
I get this "error" in Logs:

Quote
May 7 17:47:51    kernel: MCA: Address 0xe58c
May 7 17:47:51    kernel: MCA: CPU 0 COR OVER GCACHE LG ERR error
May 7 17:47:51    kernel: MCA: Vendor "AuthenticAMD", ID 0x100f80, APIC ID 0
May 7 17:47:51    kernel: MCA: Global Cap 0x0000000000000106, Status 0x0000000000000000
May 7 17:47:51    kernel: MCA: Bank 4, Status 0xd42b49c0001c010b

It's a Brand New "Supermicro H8SCM" Mb with "AMD Opteron 4130" and 2 x 2Gb Kingston "KVR1333D3E9S/2GI" memory modules.

Any advice / opinion is wellcome.

TIA.

Offline Roots0

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 84
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Tim Otten
Re: HW Experts, "kernel: MCA: CPU 0 COR OVER GCACHE LG ERR error" ???
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2012, 04:40:07 pm »
Faulty power supply? Test with another if posible. Or perhaps bad cache on the cpu? I would try a cpu test with prime95 (max heat & power consumption setting).
« Last Edit: May 07, 2012, 04:46:29 pm by Roots0 »
Mobile Computer & Network Support Stockport, UK
www.timotten.co.uk

Offline ptt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1125
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: HW Experts, "kernel: MCA: CPU 0 COR OVER GCACHE LG ERR error" ???
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2012, 05:22:55 pm »
It was a BIOS related issue, just updated it and the problem has gone.

In Supermicro's web the latest BIOS Version is 1.B11, but support people sent me the 2.41 version, and that was the good ones ;)

Now my pfSense Rock's..... Thank you Guys for this wonderful FW :D

Edit:

Can't edit the first post to add [Solved] to the title, if any moderator can add this & close the Topic.

Thanks
« Last Edit: May 12, 2012, 06:14:54 pm by ptt »