pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: Cannot connect to the internet using pfsense.  (Read 4765 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline relik1989

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Cannot connect to the internet using pfsense.
« on: May 22, 2012, 04:24:24 pm »
I hate to ask this question because it probably has been asked before but I cannot find an answer to this question.

My Box is a Intel Celeron 600MHz, with 512MB SDRAM.

I have configured which NIC is WAN and which is LAN, when I connect my PC to the LAN port I can access the webconfig and it all seems to work well. However I have been at this for hours now, and nothing I do seems to allow me to get Internet access. My ISP is Bright house. Im not sure what to do at this point, I thought something that basic would have configured itself like a store bought router would.

Right now I have it setup as follows until I get everything working.

Modem --> PfSense --> PC


My ultimate goal is to use pfsense solely for connecting to a VPN, which my current router does not support. But I do want to use my Dlink router to handle everything else. At that point it would be setup like this.

Modem --> PfSense --> Router WAN (DIR-655) --> (3 wired, 5 wireless)

Any help would be appreciated.

Offline Cry Havok

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2791
  • Backup: n. What you should have done yesterday.
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot connect to the internet using pfsense.
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2012, 05:11:36 pm »
What does the web console show for the WAN IP?

How are you connected to the Internet? Are you using a DSL, cable or dialup modem (or something else)?
If you're planning on PMing me to ask me to look at a thread, or for individual support, don't.

Offline relik1989

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot connect to the internet using pfsense.
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2012, 10:14:31 pm »
The WAN IP is 192.168.1.107 and I connect using a cable modem. The WAN *should* be configured to use DHCP.

Offline wallabybob

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5262
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot connect to the internet using pfsense.
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2012, 10:30:51 pm »
The WAN IP is 192.168.1.107 and I connect using a cable modem. The WAN *should* be configured to use DHCP.
Does this mean the WAN isn't currently configured to use DHCP? DHCP will normally provide a default gateway. Without a default gateway (or static routes) pfSense won't know how to get to the Internet.

Offline relik1989

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot connect to the internet using pfsense.
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2012, 11:01:27 pm »
I set the WAN to use DHCP. It even says the WAN is using DHCP on the main page of the webui. I'm just not sure what the issue is, this seems like something very trivial that maybe I'm just unaware of. I can login to the webui just fine though so at least the LAN end is working properly. Also just to clarify when I put *should* I was implying that I did in fact set the WAN interface to DHCP, I was trying to imply that I'm not 100% sure if its actually working correctly though.

Offline wallabybob

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5262
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot connect to the internet using pfsense.
« Reply #5 on: May 23, 2012, 12:22:30 am »
You should see the DHCP client (dhclient) entries in the system log (Status -> System Logs). Note the DHCP tab in Status -> System Logs is for DHCP server. There will probably be a few lines with a similar timestamp - please post them here.

nothing I do seems to allow me to get Internet access.
What access are you attempting, on what computer are you attempting that access and what is reported when you attempt it?

What is the output from the pfSense shell command
Code: [Select]
netstat -rn; traceroute 8.8.8.8
What version of pfSense are you using?

Offline chpalmer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1066
    • View Profile
    • Home of Cablenut
Re: Cannot connect to the internet using pfsense.
« Reply #6 on: May 23, 2012, 12:50:29 am »
Quote
The WAN IP is 192.168.1.107 and I connect using a cable modem.

What model modem do you have?

By the IP given to your pfsense box by your modem Im gonna take a guess and say that your modem is a gateway device.  That is a modem and router combo.  

(Some modems that are not routers will give 192.168.100.x to clients sometimes when they have no internet connection to the ISP...)  Since yours is 192.168.1.x tells that yours is a gateway.

But then if your pfsense LAN is the default 192.168.1.1 that means the your WAN and LAN are using the same subnets. That can't be routed so your connection wont work.   Change your LAN to something like 192.168.10.1 and see if that doesn't fix things...  Or change your modem to use another subnet in the private range...

Also- Make sure your WAN interface has (twards the bottom) "Block Private Networks" unchecked.


Quote
Modem --> PfSense --> Router WAN (DIR-655) -->

You could very well have all 3 devices on the same subnet... (Although the Dlink is probably 192.168.0.x)   If it were me- Id put the modem in bridge mode...   Let pfSense handle the routing...   then look up how to use the Dlink as an AP and switch only...  


« Last Edit: May 23, 2012, 01:21:17 am by chpalmer »
P.S. statements made by me are not necessarily condoned by the management of this fine organization.

Offline Cry Havok

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2791
  • Backup: n. What you should have done yesterday.
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot connect to the internet using pfsense.
« Reply #7 on: May 23, 2012, 01:24:21 am »
But then if your LAN is default that means the your WAN and LAN are using the same subnets. That can't be routed so your connection wont work.   Change your LAN to something like 192.168.10.1 and see if that doesn't fix things...  Or change your modem to use another subnet in the private range...

I'd actually suggest using one of the 172.16.x. to 172.31.x.[/t] or 10.a.b ranges. That way you're far less likely to clash with an IP range used by another product.
If you're planning on PMing me to ask me to look at a thread, or for individual support, don't.

Offline johnpoz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2889
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot connect to the internet using pfsense.
« Reply #8 on: May 25, 2012, 10:37:13 am »
Quote
If it were me- Id put the modem in bridge mode...   Let pfSense handle the routing...   then look up how to use the Dlink as an AP and switch only...   

+1

In your current layout with pfsense getting private on wan, the pfsense doing nat by default, then your dlink doing nat again by default --> you would be doing triple nat before a client gets an IP from your dlink -- why would you want that?
- An intelligent man is sometimes forced to be drunk to spend time with his fools.
- Have I helped you, want to say thanks?  Donate to pfsense the cost of a beer http://pfsense.org/donate.html

Offline relik1989

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot connect to the internet using pfsense.
« Reply #9 on: June 15, 2012, 05:15:20 pm »
Sorry its been a while since I replied back. Work came down on me like a ton of bricks, Ive barely been home.

I am still needing some help with this. I like the idea of bridging the modem with the pf sense box and using the dlink as an AP. What exactly would bridging the connections do? and how would I go about setting this up? Are are there any links to any tutorials or the like?

Offline Cry Havok

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2791
  • Backup: n. What you should have done yesterday.
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot connect to the internet using pfsense.
« Reply #10 on: June 15, 2012, 05:44:40 pm »
Bridging is done by your modem and effectively means your pfSense box becomes the ISP connected device. The manual of your modem should tell you how to do that. The same applies to your D-Link device - check the manual to see if it has a dedicated AP mode (if it doesn't just set it to have a LAN IP outside of the DHCP range and connect it to the switch using a LAN port only).
If you're planning on PMing me to ask me to look at a thread, or for individual support, don't.

Offline relik1989

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot connect to the internet using pfsense.
« Reply #11 on: June 15, 2012, 08:01:53 pm »
Im trying to find how to bridge the modem I have, but I'm having a really hard time finding anything useful, it doesn’t seem to be a very known brand. Its a Terayon TJ715X. If I am unable to bridge the modem, than I guess my next question would be; Is it necessary to do so, or is there something else I could do?

Offline johnpoz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2889
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot connect to the internet using pfsense.
« Reply #12 on: June 15, 2012, 08:23:12 pm »
You sure thats your model number?

From this thread
http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,9183491

That model number seems to be just a cable modem, not nat device - but clearly your wan is a private on your pfsense.  So your set to dhcp on your pfsense wan?
- An intelligent man is sometimes forced to be drunk to spend time with his fools.
- Have I helped you, want to say thanks?  Donate to pfsense the cost of a beer http://pfsense.org/donate.html

Online stephenw10

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8086
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot connect to the internet using pfsense.
« Reply #13 on: June 15, 2012, 08:25:28 pm »
The most likely problem you are having is that your WAN and LAN are in the same subnet, 192.168.1.X, and this has broken routing.
To get working just change you LAN IP to some other subnet. 172.16.1.1/24, as Cry Havok suggested, is almost certain not to be in use by anything else. If you do this using the console it will also change your dhcp server settings, which is good!

Once you get working try to bridge your modem. One step at a time.  ;)

Steve

@Johnpoz: He is also using a D-link router which may be doing NAT.
« Last Edit: June 15, 2012, 08:28:03 pm by stephenw10 »

Offline johnpoz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2889
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot connect to the internet using pfsense.
« Reply #14 on: June 15, 2012, 08:49:10 pm »
The router is after pfsense from what he stated.

Maybe he is not connected to the right interface - maybe he has lan connected to modem and wan connected to router?  But if that was the case and connected to the routers wan - he would not be getting a IP.
- An intelligent man is sometimes forced to be drunk to spend time with his fools.
- Have I helped you, want to say thanks?  Donate to pfsense the cost of a beer http://pfsense.org/donate.html