Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: UPNP fails when play  (Read 42177 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rsw686

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 520
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • The Reptile File
Re: UPNP fails when play
« Reply #45 on: August 30, 2007, 07:57:57 am »
That fix works perfect...

Now.. do I have to reinstall pfSense to keep it updated or how do I go about making it work ? 

Nope you don't need to reinstall pfSense. You have basically the newest version of UPnP. There are not many changes made to UPnP now as the bugs were worked out months ago. If you do update pfSense down the road or install a new version it will have the xbox fix included.

Offline crosscut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: UPNP fails when play
« Reply #46 on: September 03, 2007, 10:46:23 pm »
Thanks to the pfsense crew for making this product.  I've researched a lot of routers and firewalls and this blows any residential gateway out of the water.  Personally I like pfsense better than the PIX 515 I manage at work.  Understanding the security implications, I never allowed UPNP in my home network until this product which allows me to granularly allow one IP access to UPNP which I can tolerate from just my xbox 360.  This thread has been a big help as there were some issues along the way.  This has allowed me to utilize the features of my xbox 360 without compromising the rest of my network.  Your willingness to work around non compliant functionality is greatly appreciated among your user base and just because we don't always reply, does not mean we do not read and appreciate your efforts.  Thanks guys.  Looking forward to the 1.2 FINAL release.

crosscut

Offline forum

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 84
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: UPNP fails when play
« Reply #47 on: September 08, 2007, 12:53:38 pm »
but it is still one problem when i is going into a private schat with my friend i can,t join this schat. saw i need to refresh the upnp and after that it works he can only join my schat. but i can,t join the he has create. do some one now some thing about this ? this was working good in the other verison of upnp.
« Last Edit: September 08, 2007, 04:36:21 pm by forum »

Offline rsw686

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 520
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • The Reptile File
Re: UPNP fails when play
« Reply #48 on: September 13, 2007, 03:11:14 pm »
This isn't a problem with UPnP. Mostly likely the static-port issue.

http://doc.pfsense.org/index.php/Static_Port
« Last Edit: September 13, 2007, 03:12:53 pm by rsw686 »

Offline forum

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 84
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: UPNP fails when play
« Reply #49 on: October 06, 2007, 02:18:09 am »
ok then hope someone can fix that. was checking the new smoothwall and tested the upnp and it was working very god all the games i tryd to join worked i join the games with no problem. can,t you just ask them for some help ?
« Last Edit: October 06, 2007, 02:22:09 am by forum »

Offline GruensFroeschli

  • Little Green Frog
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5455
  • Karma: +90/-3
  • No i will not fix your computer!
    • View Profile
Re: UPNP fails when play
« Reply #50 on: October 06, 2007, 05:46:38 am »
You just have to follow the instruction in the link rsw686 provided (which i bet you didnt read...).
We do what we must, because we can.

Asking questions the smart way: http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

Offline forum

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 84
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: UPNP fails when play
« Reply #51 on: October 06, 2007, 07:14:28 am »
no i havent sorry sorry

Offline rsw686

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 520
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • The Reptile File
Re: UPNP fails when play
« Reply #52 on: October 06, 2007, 09:21:05 am »
ok then hope someone can fix that. was checking the new smoothwall and tested the upnp and it was working very god all the games i tryd to join worked i join the games with no problem. can,t you just ask them for some help ?

Yep and SmoothWall uses miniupnpd as well. Try the static port option.

Offline forum

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 84
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: UPNP fails when play
« Reply #53 on: October 06, 2007, 11:40:30 am »
does i need to do any thing more after that ?? or should it works fine ?

Offline rsw686

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 520
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • The Reptile File
Re: UPNP fails when play
« Reply #54 on: October 06, 2007, 02:43:03 pm »
I don't see why it wouldn't work after enabling the static port option. What I don't understand is why you keep saying it doesn't work and then name off other distros. You don't even try the solutions posted or give the information I ask so I can resolve the issue. I have talked with Lawrence, the founder of Smoothwall, multiple times as he created IMSpector. They along with other distros use miniupnpd. The difference is pfSense is trying to be more secure by randomizing the ports.

Offline forum

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 84
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: UPNP fails when play
« Reply #55 on: October 06, 2007, 03:50:13 pm »
i have try to do like the page and it working fine now thanks for the god jobb. butt do i need to schange any thing more in pfsenses outbound or can i just lave this page after that ? or do i need to add new rules now when i don,t have auto ?

Offline rsw686

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 520
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • The Reptile File
Re: UPNP fails when play
« Reply #56 on: October 06, 2007, 04:15:54 pm »
When clicking advanced outbound NAT it auto creates the rule it was using for the automatic outbound NAT. All your doing is editing it and checking the static port box.

Offline forum

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 84
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: UPNP fails when play
« Reply #57 on: October 07, 2007, 05:05:57 am »
yes and add to more interfaces right ? to my DMZ and WLAN ??

Offline biatche

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: UPNP fails when play
« Reply #58 on: November 28, 2007, 05:34:39 pm »
UPNP not working well for me either, its fully functional on other routers but not pfsense. well, you guys have the better details.. i guess it needs to be worked on somehow. quite a crucial function for a lot of people.

Offline rsw686

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 520
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • The Reptile File
Re: UPNP fails when play
« Reply #59 on: November 28, 2007, 05:44:03 pm »
UPNP not working well for me either, its fully functional on other routers but not pfsense. well, you guys have the better details.. i guess it needs to be worked on somehow. quite a crucial function for a lot of people.

What isn't fully functional with UPnP on pfSense?